Sector Alpha Week of 2026-09-16
Not SEBI Registered !! Not Investment advice !!
20-quarter listed-company comparison

Scientific & Technical Instruments Stocks

Scientific & Technical Instruments: Garmin Ltd. owns the largest revenue base; ESCO Technologies Inc. has the fastest current growth.

01 · the industry itself · before any single company

How has Scientific & Technical Instruments moved against S&P 500?

The line below covers up to 5.2 years and opens on the 5Y view; the buttons cut it shorter. Over the most recent two of them this industry is 16% ahead of S&P 500. Earnings across its companies grew 10% on average over the last four reported quarters.

ASLEEP · 1y +20.4%Price and the fundamentals both up4 of the 17 companies with a long enough price record ahead of S&P 500 by 5% or more over three months

RS — · 7/17 >200d (−5) · 4/17 lead (+0) · EPS 12/17↑

20020262025202420232022 310347 TRAILING 12-MONTH EPS · 100 AT THE START0100139Jun 22Dec 22Jun 23Dec 23Jun 24Dec 24Jun 25Dec 25Jun 26Mar 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 7 reporting · thin coverageJun 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 15 reportingSep 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 106, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 19 reportingDec 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 108, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 17 reportingMar 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 116, against 100 at the start · up 16.1% on a year ago · 12 reportingJun 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 122, against 100 at the start · up 20.1% on a year ago · 15 reportingSep 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 114, against 100 at the start · up 3.4% on a year ago · 17 reportingDec 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 119, against 100 at the start · down 2.0% on a year ago · 17 reportingMar 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 115, against 100 at the start · down 5.9% on a year ago · 15 reportingJun 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 107, against 100 at the start · up 10.7% on a year ago · 15 reportingSep 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 103, against 100 at the start · up 15.3% on a year ago · 15 reportingDec 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 96, against 100 at the start · down 6.9% on a year ago · 14 reportingMar 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 109, against 100 at the start · up 7.2% on a year ago · 15 reportingJun 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 105, against 100 at the start · up 13.4% on a year ago · 15 reportingSep 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 81, against 100 at the start · up 3.8% on a year ago · 15 reportingDec 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 88, against 100 at the start · up 9.8% on a year ago · 15 reportingMar 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 139, against 100 at the start · up 11.0% on a year ago · 10 reportingJun 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 102, against 100 at the start · up 15.0% on a year ago · 10 reportingNot reported yet — earnings trail price by a quarter or two102No earnings on file this far back — the price series reaches further than the filings do
20020262025202420232022 310347 TRAILING 12-MONTH EPS · 100 AT THE START0100139Jun 22Jun 23Jun 24Jun 25Jun 26Mar 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 7 reporting · thin coverageJun 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 15 reportingSep 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 106, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 19 reportingDec 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 108, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 17 reportingMar 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 116, against 100 at the start · up 16.1% on a year ago · 12 reportingJun 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 122, against 100 at the start · up 20.1% on a year ago · 15 reportingSep 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 114, against 100 at the start · up 3.4% on a year ago · 17 reportingDec 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 119, against 100 at the start · down 2.0% on a year ago · 17 reportingMar 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 115, against 100 at the start · down 5.9% on a year ago · 15 reportingJun 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 107, against 100 at the start · up 10.7% on a year ago · 15 reportingSep 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 103, against 100 at the start · up 15.3% on a year ago · 15 reportingDec 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 96, against 100 at the start · down 6.9% on a year ago · 14 reportingMar 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 109, against 100 at the start · up 7.2% on a year ago · 15 reportingJun 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 105, against 100 at the start · up 13.4% on a year ago · 15 reportingSep 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 81, against 100 at the start · up 3.8% on a year ago · 15 reportingDec 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 88, against 100 at the start · up 9.8% on a year ago · 15 reportingMar 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 139, against 100 at the start · up 11.0% on a year ago · 10 reportingJun 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 102, against 100 at the start · up 15.0% on a year ago · 10 reportingNot reported yet — earnings trail price by a quarter or two102No earnings on file this far back — the price series reaches further than the filings do
Scientific & Technical Instruments, equal-weighted, based at 200 S&P 500, same base, same start trailing 12-month earnings per share rising falling

Both lines start at 200 in the same week, so the distance between them is the whole story: the industry line is an equal-weighted index of 17 of its 19 companies — the 2 with too short a price record are ranked in the scorecard but cannot sit in this line. The bars underneath are trailing 12-month earnings per share, one bar per reported quarter, each member rebased to 100 at the start and the industry taking the median — so a price line pulling away from flat bars is a re-rating, not earnings. A bar turns red when that figure is lower than the quarter before. Rules are fixed and applied identically everywhere on this site: ahead by 5% or more over three months, or behind by 20% or more over a year while earnings grew 20% or more. Hover any point to read both values and the gap. This is a description of what the numbers did, not advice.

02 · sector relative strength, before individual stocks

Is Scientific & Technical Instruments outperforming S&P 500?

Scientific & Technical Instruments has outperformed S&P 500 by 6% over the last 52 weeks. Over 13 weeks the gap is a shortfall of 9.8%. 6 of 19 covered companies currently beat the S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength, so leadership inside the sector is selective. Mesa Laboratories, Inc. is the strongest against the sector itself at +29.3%.

-9.8%Sector vs S&P 500 · 13 weeks
+6.0%Sector vs S&P 500 · 52 weeks
6/19Stocks leading S&P 500
6/19Stocks leading sector

Sector metric: — as of latest available · unclassified · direction unavailable.

The central tension: the companies with the most scale are not necessarily the companies creating the most change.

Start with scale. Then earnings trajectory. Then business quality. Only after those three agree should price leadership carry much weight.

Bottom line

Scientific & Technical Instruments has outperformed S&P 500 by 6% over 52 weeks and 9.8% over 13 weeks. 6 of 19 covered companies beat the S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength, while 6 of 19 beat the sector itself. Garmin Ltd. leads with revenue of $7,671 million, based on 10 of 19 comparable companies through Jun 2026.

Companies
19
complete canonical membership
Combined market value
$281.6B
Coherent Corp.
Revenue growing
8/9
positive TTM year-on-year growth
Beating S&P 500
6/19
positive Mansfield relative strength
Comparing 5 of 19
03 · research priority, made explicit

4-Factor Sector Score

An additive sector-relative research score. The four displayed point contributions always equal the total: Growth & earnings (35), Capital efficiency (25), Valuation (20), and Relative strength (20). Missing or stale evidence is absorbed inside the affected factor, never applied as a hidden adjustment.

Growth & earnings · 35%Capital efficiency · 25%Valuation · 20%Relative strength · 20%
Garmin Ltd. has the strongest current balance of earnings trajectory, business quality, valuation and price confirmation, with 81.1% evidence confidence.
Mesa Laboratories, Inc. has stronger price confirmation than earnings confirmation; that is a research prompt, not permission to chase.
How this score is built, and what the marks mean

Missing observations are not scored as bad. Their missing weight lowers confidence and pulls the final score toward neutral. PEG is not shown when the ratio cannot mean anything: the company must be making a profit, its price-to-earnings must be positive, and its three-year earnings growth must fall between 5% and 60%. Dividing a price multiple by a loss, or by growth measured off a tiny base, produces a number that looks precise and tells you nothing. Under relative strength, one mark per week shows the last 12 weeks: a mark is filled where the company led S&P 500 by 5% or more over the 13 weeks ending that week, which is the same test used everywhere on this site. Price stage places the company on the same six-step curve the sector itself is placed on — basing, turning, breaking out, leader, fading, asleep — read from how many weeks running it has led S&P 500 and whether that lead is widening or shrinking. It describes where the PRICE stands, not the earnings trajectory and not a recommendation, and it is left blank for a company whose weekly history is too short or too stale to read.

CompanyScorePrice stageGrowth & earnings/35Capital efficiency/25Valuation/20Relative strength/20
1Garmin Ltd.GRMN 71.5/100Favorable setup81% evidence BREAKING OUT 23.3/35 Revenue 13.5% · PAT 19.7% · OPM change 4.4 pp 83% evidence 17.0/25 ROCE 6.9% · OPM 30.4% 76% evidence 13.4/20 P/E 24× · PEG 1.22 65% evidence 17.8/20 RS sector 9.9% · RS bench 8.9% · 1Y 17.8%8 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 23.3 + 17 + 13.4 + 17.8 = 71.5 · Decision use: Confirmed research leader: earnings, capital efficiency and relative strength agree. Move to management, catalyst and risk diligence.
2Keysight Technologies, Inc.KEYS 68.7/100Favorable setup81% evidence ASLEEP 28.2/35 Revenue 19.2% · PAT 44.6% · OPM change 7.9 pp 83% evidence 15.0/25 ROCE 4.5% · OPM 23.7% 76% evidence 11.0/20 P/E 57.6× · PEG 1.35 65% evidence 14.5/20 RS sector 14.3% · RS bench 12.2% · 1Y 80.8%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 28.2 + 15 + 11 + 14.5 = 68.7 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
3Cognex CorporationCGNX 60.3/100Thin evidence · provisional56% evidence ASLEEP 22.1/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change 4.9 pp 39% evidence 14.9/25 ROCE 3.4% · OPM 22.3% 76% evidence 9.4/20 P/E 58.5× · PEG — 15% evidence 13.9/20 RS sector 10.1% · RS bench 8.3% · 1Y 29.3%5 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 22.1 + 14.9 + 9.4 + 13.9 = 60.3 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
4Coherent Corp.COHR 57.4/100Mixed-positive evidence71% evidence ASLEEP 28.5/35 Revenue 22.5% · PAT 100% · OPM change 12 pp 83% evidence 6.9/25 ROCE 1.8% · OPM 12.4% 76% evidence 8.7/20 P/E 95.7× · PEG — 15% evidence 13.3/20 RS sector 11.3% · RS bench 8.7% · 1Y 165.7%2 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 28.5 + 6.9 + 8.7 + 13.3 = 57.4 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
5Ituran Location and Control Ltd.ITRN 53.1/100Thin evidence · provisional60% evidence ASLEEP 15.9/35 Revenue 11.3% · PAT 6.9% · OPM change -0.1 pp 53% evidence 15.9/25 ROCE 8.6% · OPM 21.5% 57% evidence 10.3/20 P/E 16.2× · PEG 1.8 65% evidence 11.0/20 RS sector -0.5% · RS bench -1.9% · 1Y 44.5%0 of 12 weeks ahead 70% evidence
Exact sum: 15.9 + 15.9 + 10.3 + 11 = 53.1 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
6Mesa Laboratories, Inc.MLAB 51.6/100Thin evidence · provisional51% evidence BREAKING OUT 16.1/35 Revenue 3.7% · PAT — · OPM change 1.9 pp 40% evidence 6.3/25 ROCE 0.9% · OPM 4.3% 57% evidence 9.2/20 P/E 73.1× · PEG — 15% evidence 20.0/20 RS sector 29.3% · RS bench 27.8% · 1Y 71.3%5 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 16.1 + 6.3 + 9.2 + 20 = 51.6 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
7Sensata Technologies Holding plcST 49.7/100Thin evidence · provisional56% evidence ASLEEP 18.2/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change 1.7 pp 39% evidence 11.0/25 ROCE 2.7% · OPM 15.1% 76% evidence 9.0/20 P/E 79.6× · PEG — 15% evidence 11.5/20 RS sector 2.8% · RS bench 1.5% · 1Y 34%5 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 18.2 + 11 + 9 + 11.5 = 49.7 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
8Vontier CorporationVNT 49.1/100Thin evidence · provisional56% evidence FADING 16.1/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change 0.4 pp 39% evidence 14.7/25 ROCE 3.6% · OPM 18% 76% evidence 11.3/20 P/E 12.5× · PEG — 15% evidence 7.0/20 RS sector -16.8% · RS bench -16.9% · 1Y -27.1%6 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 16.1 + 14.7 + 11.3 + 7 = 49.1 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
9MKS Inc.MKSI 48.2/100Mixed-negative evidence66% evidence ASLEEP 20.1/35 Revenue 11.5% · PAT 43.4% · OPM change 1.9 pp 53% evidence 10.2/25 ROCE 2.1% · OPM 13.8% 57% evidence 13.6/20 P/E 48.1× · PEG 1.13 65% evidence 4.3/20 RS sector -6% · RS bench -8% · 1Y 82.9%4 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 20.1 + 10.2 + 13.6 + 4.3 = 48.2 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
10Trimble Inc.TRMB 47.7/100Thin evidence · provisional56% evidence BREAKING OUT 20.1/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change 3.7 pp 39% evidence 10.5/25 ROCE 1.9% · OPM 15.3% 76% evidence 10.4/20 P/E 33.1× · PEG — 15% evidence 6.7/20 RS sector -20.4% · RS bench -20.2% · 1Y -30.8%4 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 20.1 + 10.5 + 10.4 + 6.7 = 47.7 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
11Novanta Inc.NOVT 47.2/100Thin evidence · provisional56% evidence ASLEEP 21.4/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change 4.5 pp 39% evidence 9.8/25 ROCE 2% · OPM 10.7% 76% evidence 8.9/20 P/E 84.8× · PEG — 15% evidence 7.1/20 RS sector -5.3% · RS bench -6.4% · 1Y 15.8%5 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 21.4 + 9.8 + 8.9 + 7.1 = 47.2 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
12Teledyne Technologies IncorporatedTDY 45.7/100Mixed-negative evidence81% evidence ASLEEP 15.2/35 Revenue 7.9% · PAT 13.5% · OPM change 1.6 pp 83% evidence 13.1/25 ROCE 2.5% · OPM 20% 76% evidence 8.2/20 P/E 30.1× · PEG 2.15 65% evidence 9.2/20 RS sector -5.5% · RS bench -6.4% · 1Y 6.3%2 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 15.2 + 13.1 + 8.2 + 9.2 = 45.7 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
13Badger Meter, Inc.BMI 44.7/100Thin evidence · provisional56% evidence ASLEEP 13.7/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change -4.8 pp 39% evidence 15.4/25 ROCE 4.8% · OPM 17.4% 76% evidence 10.1/20 P/E 34.7× · PEG — 15% evidence 5.5/20 RS sector -22% · RS bench -21.8% · 1Y -28%5 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 13.7 + 15.4 + 10.1 + 5.5 = 44.7 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
14Itron, Inc.ITRI 43.6/100Thin evidence · provisional56% evidence BREAKING OUT 14.6/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change -1.1 pp 39% evidence 9.6/25 ROCE 2.5% · OPM 11.5% 76% evidence 11.1/20 P/E 14.4× · PEG — 15% evidence 8.3/20 RS sector -10.5% · RS bench -10.6% · 1Y -23.6%8 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 14.6 + 9.6 + 11.1 + 8.3 = 43.6 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
15Fortive CorporationFTV 40.7/100Thin evidence · provisional53% evidence ASLEEP 15.8/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change -5.6 pp 32% evidence 8.2/25 ROCE 1.7% · OPM 9% 76% evidence 10.3/20 P/E 33.3× · PEG — 15% evidence 6.4/20 RS sector -7.7% · RS bench -8.5% · 1Y 13.7%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 15.8 + 8.2 + 10.3 + 6.4 = 40.7 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
16ESCO Technologies Inc.ESE 40.1/100Mixed-negative evidence66% evidence ASLEEP 18.0/35 Revenue 30.7% · PAT 16.7% · OPM change -0.5 pp 53% evidence 13.1/25 ROCE 2.8% · OPM 15.5% 57% evidence 4.7/20 P/E 54.2× · PEG 6 65% evidence 4.3/20 RS sector -6.9% · RS bench -8.2% · 1Y 21.9%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 18 + 13.1 + 4.7 + 4.3 = 40.1 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
17Vishay Precision Group, Inc.VPG 31.6/100Thin evidence · provisional56% evidence ASLEEP 13.3/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change -3.2 pp 39% evidence 4.5/25 ROCE 0.1% · OPM 0.4% 76% evidence 8.5/20 P/E 99.5× · PEG — 15% evidence 5.3/20 RS sector -4.6% · RS bench -7.2% · 1Y 85.4%5 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 13.3 + 4.5 + 8.5 + 5.3 = 31.6 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
18USBC, Inc.USBC 43.6/100Thin evidence · provisional20% evidence BREAKING OUT 17.3/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change — 2% evidence 11.1/25 ROCE — · OPM — 11% evidence 11.5/20 P/E 0.9× · PEG — 15% evidence 3.7/20 RS sector -22.6% · RS bench -21.4% · 1Y -50.5%4 of 12 weeks ahead 70% evidence
Exact sum: 17.3 + 11.1 + 11.5 + 3.7 = 43.6 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
19MicroVision, Inc.MVIS 30.4/100Thin evidence · provisional39% evidence 10.6/35 Revenue -80% · PAT — · OPM change -129 pp 40% evidence 6.8/25 ROCE -35.2% · OPM — 46% evidence 10.0/20 P/E — · PEG — 0% evidence 3.0/20 RS sector -68.3% · RS bench -66.3% · 1Y -76.9%0 of 4 weeks ahead to 2026-07-24 70% evidence
Exact sum: 10.6 + 6.8 + 10 + 3 = 30.4 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
Showing 10 of 19 companies
04 · what price has already done

Market action

Coherent Corp. has the strongest one-year price move in Scientific & Technical Instruments at +165.7%. Mesa Laboratories, Inc. leads on Mansfield relative strength against the S&P 500 at +27.8%. 6 of 19 covered companies are above zero on that measure. Every line covers 314 weekly closes through 2026-09-16.

Price and relative strength

Every company, the sector's own index and S&P 500 all start level on the left edge of the window, so only the distance between the lines counts — the highest line has risen the most since then, and the chart at the top of this page is drawn the same way. It opens on one year; the buttons beside it stretch that to three or five.

05 · compare level, then change

Revenue Scale & Growth Durability

Garmin Ltd. has the highest Revenue among the 19 Scientific & Technical Instruments companies compared here, at $7,671 million. Coherent Corp. is next at $7,119 million. ESCO Technologies Inc. has the highest Revenue growth at 30.7%, so level and change sit with different companies. 10 of 19 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Jun 2026.

What the numbers say: Garmin Ltd. is the scale leader at $7,671 million, 7.8% ahead of Coherent Corp.. ESCO Technologies Inc.'s growth is 30.7% from a $1,248 million base, with 18 reported observations in the 20-quarter window. Treat the growth leader as an acceleration candidate, not as equally proven scale.

LeaderGarmin Ltd. · $7,671 million
Gap7.8% versus #2 · Coherent Corp.
Persistence8/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage10/19 companies · 330 observations

Investor read: Garmin Ltd. is the scale benchmark; ESCO Technologies Inc. is the acceleration watch. Promote the challenger only if growth persists and converts into margin and returns.

This conclusion weakens if: Garmin Ltd.'s growth falls below ESCO Technologies Inc.'s for two consecutive comparable reports while operating margin also compresses.

Revenue is compared on a common reported-currency basis. Growth is year-on-year, so seasonality does not masquerade as progress.
Revenuelargest
1Garmin Ltd. GRMN$7.7B
2Coherent Corp. COHR$7.1B
5MKS Inc. MKSI · older report$4.1B
Revenue growthfastest growers
1ESCO Technologies Inc. ESE · older report31%
4Garmin Ltd. GRMN14%
5MKS Inc. MKSI · older report12%
Revenue · company comparison
10/19 level · 9/19 change

On every company-comparison chart on this page: solid lines show level, dotted lines show change when “Both” is selected, and a missing report breaks the line rather than being invented.

All-company data · latest reported quarter

In every all-company table on this page, each figure is the company’s latest single reported quarter. The rankings above them use trailing-twelve-month or current-market values, so a company can legitimately show a different number in each.

CompanyRevenueRevenue growthReported
Fortive Corporation FTV$2.1B41%Sep 2026
Coherent Corp. COHR$2.0B34%Jun 2026
Garmin Ltd. GRMN$2.0B11%Jun 2026
Keysight Technologies, Inc. KEYS$1.7B31%Jun 2026
Teledyne Technologies Incorporated TDY$1.7B9.8%Jun 2026
MKS Inc. MKSI$1.1B15%Mar 2026
Trimble Inc. TRMB$940M12%Jun 2026
Sensata Technologies Holding plc ST$935M2.6%Jun 2026
Vontier Corporation VNT$751M-3.0%Jun 2026
Itron, Inc. ITRI$587M-3.3%Jun 2026
ESCO Technologies Inc. ESE$309M33%Mar 2026
Cognex Corporation CGNX$268M7.6%Jun 2026
Novanta Inc. NOVT$258M7.1%Jun 2026
Badger Meter, Inc. BMI$202M-9.0%Jun 2026
Ituran Location and Control Ltd. ITRN$103M20%Mar 2026
Vishay Precision Group, Inc. VPG$84M12%Jun 2026
Mesa Laboratories, Inc. MLAB$64M3.2%Mar 2026
USBC, Inc. USBC$1M-100%Dec 2025
MicroVision, Inc. MVIS$1M0.0%Mar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

Revenue · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 19 companies with a series here. The remaining 7 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

$285M
$282M
$275M
$210M
$201M
$243M
$197M
$211M
$239M
$235M
$230M
$216M
$249M
$277M
$252M
$268M

Coherent Corp. · COHR

$807M
$828M
$887M
$1.3B
$1.4B
$1.2B
$1.2B
$1.1B
$1.1B
$1.2B
$1.3B
$1.3B
$1.4B
$1.5B
$1.5B
$1.6B
$1.7B
$1.8B
$2.0B

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

$177M
$205M
$219M
$256M
$206M
$229M
$249M
$273M
$218M
$249M
$234M
$274M
$215M
$232M
$296M
$353M
$290M
$309M

Fortive Corporation · FTV

$1.3B
$1.4B
$1.5B
$1.5B
$1.5B
$1.5B
$1.5B
$1.5B
$1.6B
$1.0B
$1.6B
$2.0B
$1.5B
$1.0B
$2.1B

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

$1.4B
$1.2B
$1.2B
$1.1B
$1.3B
$1.1B
$1.3B
$1.5B
$1.4B
$1.5B
$1.6B
$1.8B
$1.5B
$1.8B
$1.8B
$2.1B
$1.8B
$2.0B

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

$1.3B
$1.3B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.3B
$1.3B
$1.2B
$1.2B
$1.3B
$1.3B
$1.3B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.6B
$1.7B

MKS Inc. · MKSI

$764M
$742M
$765M
$954M
$1.1B
$794M
$1.0B
$932M
$892M
$868M
$887M
$896M
$934M
$936M
$973M
$988M
$1.0B
$1.1B

Novanta Inc. · NOVT

$178M
$204M
$215M
$218M
$219M
$229M
$222M
$212M
$231M
$236M
$244M
$238M
$233M
$241M
$248M
$258M
$258M

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

$935M
$976M
$1.0B
$1.0B
$1.0B
$998M
$1.1B
$1.0B
$992M
$1.0B
$1.0B
$983M
$908M
$911M
$943M
$932M
$918M
$935M

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

$1.3B
$1.4B
$1.3B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.5B
$1.5B
$1.5B
$1.5B
$1.6B
$1.6B
$1.7B

Trimble Inc. · TRMB

$901M
$994M
$941M
$857M
$915M
$994M
$957M
$932M
$953M
$871M
$876M
$983M
$841M
$876M
$901M
$970M
$940M

Vontier Corporation · VNT

$769M
$748M
$776M
$872M
$776M
$764M
$765M
$789M
$756M
$696M
$750M
$777M
$741M
$774M
$753M
$809M
$751M

Revenue growth · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 19 companies with a series here. The remaining 7 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

2.2%
-26%
-29%
-12%
-6.2%
19%
-3.3%
17%
2.4%
4.2%
18%
9.6%
7.6%

Coherent Corp. · COHR

9.8%
69%
70%
50%
36%
-22%
-17%
-2.5%
9.1%
28%
27%
24%
16%
17%
17%
21%
34%

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

21%
25%
16%
12%
14%
6.6%
5.8%
8.7%
-6.0%
0.4%
-1.4%
-6.8%
27%
29%
35%
33%

Fortive Corporation · FTV

11%
18%
11%
2.2%
4.4%
1.7%
-33%
30%
-2.1%
2.3%
41%

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

-6.5%
-4.4%
-6.2%
-7.6%
16%
14%
31%
20%
23%
11%
20%
12%
17%
14%
11%

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

10%
12%
10%
2.9%
0.4%
-9.2%
-8.8%
-13%
-12%
-1.8%
3.1%
7.4%
11%
10%
23%
31%

MKS Inc. · MKSI

2.0%
29%
42%
7.0%
31%
-2.3%
-18%
9.3%
-12%
-3.9%
4.7%
7.8%
9.7%
10%
11%
15%

Novanta Inc. · NOVT

28%
22%
12%
3.3%
-2.8%
5.5%
3.1%
9.9%
12%
0.9%
2.1%
1.6%
8.4%
7.1%

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

2.8%
7.1%
8.6%
2.3%
4.0%
-1.7%
-2.3%
0.9%
-2.5%
-1.8%
-8.5%
-9.5%
-9.0%
-5.2%
1.1%
2.6%

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

21%
4.0%
3.1%
4.7%
5.1%
2.9%
-4.8%
-0.7%
1.3%
7.1%
7.4%
10%
6.7%
7.3%
7.6%
9.8%

Trimble Inc. · TRMB

-0.4%
-4.9%
0.0%
1.7%
8.8%
4.2%
-12%
-8.5%
3.2%
-3.4%
0.0%
-1.3%
12%

Vontier Corporation · VNT

7.0%
13%
2.1%
-1.4%
-9.5%
-2.6%
-8.9%
-2.0%
-1.5%
-2.0%
11%
0.4%
4.1%
-3.0%
06 · compare level, then change

Operating Economics & Margin Trend

Garmin Ltd. has the highest OPM among the 19 Scientific & Technical Instruments companies compared here, at 30.4%. Keysight Technologies, Inc. is next at 23.7%. Coherent Corp. has the highest Margin change at +12 percentage points, so level and change sit with different companies. 17 of 19 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Jun 2026.

What the numbers say: Garmin Ltd. leads opm at 30.4%; Coherent Corp. leads margin change at +12 percentage points.

LeaderGarmin Ltd. · 30.4%
Gap28.3% versus #2 · Keysight Technologies, Inc.
Persistence7/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage17/19 companies · 300 observations

Investor read: Garmin Ltd. sets the level benchmark; use the change leader as an inflection watch only after another comparable report confirms it.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current margin change signal.

Operating margin compares operating profit with revenue. Improvement is measured in percentage points, not percentage growth.
Margin changefastest expanders
1Coherent Corp. COHR+12.0 pp
3Cognex Corporation CGNX+4.9 pp
4Novanta Inc. NOVT+4.5 pp
5Garmin Ltd. GRMN+4.4 pp
Operating margin · company comparison
17/19 level · 18/19 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyOPMMargin changeReported
Garmin Ltd. GRMN30%+4.4 ppJun 2026
Keysight Technologies, Inc. KEYS24%+7.9 ppJun 2026
Cognex Corporation CGNX22%+4.9 ppJun 2026
Ituran Location and Control Ltd. ITRN22%−0.1 ppMar 2026
Teledyne Technologies Incorporated TDY20%+1.6 ppJun 2026
Vontier Corporation VNT18%+0.4 ppJun 2026
Badger Meter, Inc. BMI17%−4.8 ppJun 2026
ESCO Technologies Inc. ESE16%−0.5 ppMar 2026
Trimble Inc. TRMB15%+3.7 ppJun 2026
Sensata Technologies Holding plc ST15%+1.7 ppJun 2026
MKS Inc. MKSI14%+1.9 ppMar 2026
Coherent Corp. COHR12%+12.0 ppJun 2026
Itron, Inc. ITRI12%−1.1 ppJun 2026
Novanta Inc. NOVT11%+4.5 ppJun 2026
Fortive Corporation FTV9.0%−5.6 ppSep 2026
Mesa Laboratories, Inc. MLAB4.3%+1.9 ppMar 2026
Vishay Precision Group, Inc. VPG0.4%−3.2 ppJun 2026
MicroVision, Inc. MVIS-390%−129.0 ppMar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

OPM · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 18 companies with a series here. The remaining 6 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

31%
31%
24%
19%
11%
27%
16%
6.7%
16%
13%
13%
12%
17%
21%
14%
22%

Coherent Corp. · COHR

12%
13%
13%
3.2%
0.6%
5.4%
-13%
-2.0%
2.8%
1.8%
4.8%
5.6%
9.5%
4.8%
0.4%
16%
11%
11%
12%

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

8.8%
11%
14%
17%
10%
11%
16%
16%
10%
13%
17%
21%
13%
16%
15%
19%
13%
16%

Fortive Corporation · FTV

16%
15%
16%
19%
17%
19%
20%
20%
19%
17%
19%
8.3%
15%
16%
9.0%

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

23%
20%
24%
21%
21%
17%
22%
23%
22%
23%
28%
28%
22%
26%
26%
29%
25%
30%

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

27%
22%
24%
26%
26%
23%
26%
26%
24%
18%
15%
17%
18%
17%
16%
17%
15%
16%
24%

MKS Inc. · MKSI

24%
23%
21%
12%
15%
0.1%
-169%
13%
2.7%
12%
14%
14%
15%
12%
14%
14%
14%
14%

Novanta Inc. · NOVT

8.6%
12%
11%
12%
12%
14%
14%
10%
11%
11%
13%
11%
14%
6.2%
8.8%
9.6%
11%

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

16%
13%
14%
25%
15%
15%
11%
12%
-20%
14%
13%
-20%
8.1%
13%
15%
-13%
11%
15%

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

15%
14%
17%
17%
18%
19%
18%
18%
19%
17%
18%
19%
16%
18%
18%
18%
20%
19%
20%

Trimble Inc. · TRMB

16%
16%
14%
11%
15%
9.4%
13%
10%
12%
7.1%
13%
18%
12%
15%
17%
22%
15%

Vontier Corporation · VNT

22%
18%
18%
18%
17%
16%
19%
19%
19%
16%
18%
19%
18%
18%
19%
19%
18%

Margin change · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 18 companies with a series here. The remaining 6 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

−10.7 pp
−11.6 pp
−19.7 pp
+3.2 pp
−3.6 pp
+5.1 pp
−13.5 pp
−2.1 pp
+5.4 pp
+1.3 pp
+7.5 pp
+0.6 pp
+4.9 pp

Coherent Corp. · COHR

+5.7 pp
−8.8 pp
−11.6 pp
−7.5 pp
−25.8 pp
−5.2 pp
+2.2 pp
−3.6 pp
+17.7 pp
+7.6 pp
+6.7 pp
+3.0 pp
−4.4 pp
+10.8 pp
+1.4 pp
+6.3 pp
+12.0 pp

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

+3.0 pp
+3.8 pp
+1.4 pp
+0.5 pp
+1.7 pp
−0.6 pp
0.0 pp
+2.0 pp
+1.0 pp
+5.0 pp
+2.6 pp
+2.7 pp
−2.1 pp
−2.4 pp
+0.5 pp
−0.5 pp

Fortive Corporation · FTV

−0.1 pp
+3.5 pp
+3.7 pp
+3.6 pp
+3.3 pp
+0.3 pp
−2.4 pp
−11.5 pp
−4.8 pp
−1.6 pp
−5.6 pp

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

−4.4 pp
−2.7 pp
−2.1 pp
−6.4 pp
+0.5 pp
+2.5 pp
+5.5 pp
+6.1 pp
+5.3 pp
+0.1 pp
+3.3 pp
−1.8 pp
+0.6 pp
+2.9 pp
+4.4 pp

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

+3.1 pp
−0.7 pp
+1.6 pp
+1.3 pp
+0.5 pp
−2.1 pp
−5.7 pp
−10.9 pp
−9.6 pp
−6.3 pp
−0.8 pp
+1.2 pp
+0.5 pp
−2.6 pp
−1.3 pp
+7.9 pp

MKS Inc. · MKSI

−3.4 pp
−11.2 pp
−8.8 pp
−23.1 pp
−190.5 pp
+0.3 pp
−12.3 pp
+12.1 pp
+183.4 pp
+1.6 pp
+11.9 pp
−0.3 pp
−0.4 pp
−0.3 pp
−0.8 pp
+1.9 pp

Novanta Inc. · NOVT

+1.3 pp
+3.7 pp
+2.1 pp
+2.9 pp
−2.1 pp
−0.9 pp
−3.1 pp
−0.4 pp
+1.0 pp
+2.8 pp
−4.7 pp
−4.5 pp
−1.6 pp
+4.5 pp

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

−3.0 pp
+7.8 pp
−1.0 pp
+2.0 pp
−2.5 pp
−13.2 pp
−35.3 pp
−0.5 pp
+1.4 pp
−31.9 pp
+28.4 pp
−1.0 pp
+2.1 pp
+7.1 pp
+2.8 pp
+1.7 pp

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

+7.6 pp
+3.5 pp
+5.1 pp
+0.6 pp
+1.1 pp
+0.8 pp
−1.9 pp
+0.5 pp
+0.8 pp
−3.0 pp
+0.5 pp
+0.4 pp
−0.4 pp
+4.6 pp
+1.0 pp
+1.6 pp

Trimble Inc. · TRMB

−1.0 pp
−5.1 pp
−6.4 pp
−1.6 pp
−0.9 pp
−3.5 pp
−2.3 pp
+0.6 pp
+6.1 pp
+4.5 pp
+1.3 pp
+4.7 pp
+3.7 pp

Vontier Corporation · VNT

+0.9 pp
−3.9 pp
−2.2 pp
+1.0 pp
+0.7 pp
+1.6 pp
+0.6 pp
−1.1 pp
+0.6 pp
−1.2 pp
+1.2 pp
+1.4 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.4 pp
07 · compare level, then change

Profit Scale & Acceleration

Garmin Ltd. has the highest Net profit among the 19 Scientific & Technical Instruments companies compared here, at $1,878 million. Keysight Technologies, Inc. is next at $1,073 million. Coherent Corp. has the highest Profit growth at the 100% top of the scoring scale, so level and change sit with different companies.

What the numbers say: Garmin Ltd. leads with $1,878 million of TTM profit, 75% above Keysight Technologies, Inc.. Coherent Corp. shows ≥100% on the scoring scale (395% uncapped) growth from a $787 million profit base. Compare the size of the base and persistence before ranking acceleration above profit scale.

LeaderGarmin Ltd. · $1,878 million
Gap75% versus #2 · Keysight Technologies, Inc.
Persistence7/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage10/19 companies · 333 observations

Investor read: Garmin Ltd. sets the level benchmark; use the change leader as an inflection watch only after another comparable report confirms it.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current profit growth signal.

Net profit is the residual after operating costs, interest and tax. Growth off a loss or near-zero base is excluded from the fastest-grower rank.
Net profitlargest
1Garmin Ltd. GRMN$1.9B
4Coherent Corp. COHR$787M
5Trimble Inc. TRMB$457M
Profit growthfastest growers
1Coherent Corp. COHR100%
3MKS Inc. MKSI · older report43%
4Garmin Ltd. GRMN20%
5ESCO Technologies Inc. ESE · older report17%
Net profit · company comparison
10/19 level · 7/19 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyNet profitProfit growthReported
Garmin Ltd. GRMN$542M35%Jun 2026
Keysight Technologies, Inc. KEYS$349M36%Jun 2026
Teledyne Technologies Incorporated TDY$252M20%Jun 2026
Coherent Corp. COHR$236M687%Jun 2026
Fortive Corporation FTV$136M-19%Sep 2026
Trimble Inc. TRMB$99M48%Jun 2026
Vontier Corporation VNT$94M2.2%Jun 2026
Sensata Technologies Holding plc ST$87M24%Jun 2026
MKS Inc. MKSI$84M62%Mar 2026
Itron, Inc. ITRI$54M-17%Jun 2026
Cognex Corporation CGNX$52M27%Jun 2026
ESCO Technologies Inc. ESE$34M31%Mar 2026
Badger Meter, Inc. BMI$27M-29%Jun 2026
Novanta Inc. NOVT$21M425%Jun 2026
Ituran Location and Control Ltd. ITRN$17M13%Mar 2026
Vishay Precision Group, Inc. VPG$0M-300%Jun 2026
Mesa Laboratories, Inc. MLAB$-4M-33%Mar 2026
MicroVision, Inc. MVIS$-25MMar 2026
USBC, Inc. USBC$-27MDec 2025
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

Net profit · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 19 companies with a series here. The remaining 7 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

$79M
$67M
$59M
$34M
$26M
$57M
$19M
$12M
$36M
$30M
$28M
$24M
$41M
$18M
$33M
$52M

Coherent Corp. · COHR

$68M
$49M
$44M
$-39M
$-45M
$3M
$-262M
$-68M
$-28M
$-16M
$-143M
$25M
$102M
$2M
$30M
$225M
$144M
$182M
$236M

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

$12M
$17M
$23M
$31M
$15M
$18M
$28M
$32M
$15M
$23M
$28M
$40M
$20M
$26M
$25M
$45M
$29M
$34M

Fortive Corporation · FTV

$153M
$165M
$173M
$227M
$174M
$209M
$218M
$265M
$207M
$195M
$112M
$193M
$113M
$167M
$117M
$192M
$136M

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

$286M
$212M
$258M
$211M
$293M
$202M
$288M
$542M
$276M
$301M
$399M
$436M
$333M
$401M
$402M
$529M
$405M
$542M

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

$282M
$229M
$258M
$338M
$299M
$260M
$283M
$288M
$226M
$172M
$126M
$389M
$-73M
$169M
$257M
$191M
$252M
$281M
$349M

MKS Inc. · MKSI

$150M
$143M
$130M
$6M
$54M
$-42M
$-1.8B
$39M
$-69M
$15M
$23M
$62M
$91M
$52M
$62M
$74M
$107M
$84M

Novanta Inc. · NOVT

$14M
$19M
$17M
$15M
$18M
$21M
$21M
$13M
$15M
$14M
$19M
$16M
$21M
$4M
$11M
$17M
$21M

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

$112M
$22M
$35M
$140M
$113M
$86M
$49M
$63M
$-202M
$76M
$72M
$-25M
$6M
$70M
$61M
$-163M
$63M
$87M

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

$134M
$162M
$213M
$171M
$178M
$227M
$179M
$186M
$199M
$179M
$180M
$262M
$199M
$189M
$210M
$221M
$276M
$227M
$252M

Trimble Inc. · TRMB

$124M
$110M
$168M
$86M
$129M
$45M
$75M
$63M
$57M
$1.3B
$41M
$90M
$67M
$89M
$112M
$157M
$99M

Vontier Corporation · VNT

$127M
$250M
$33M
$68M
$83M
$97M
$91M
$106M
$137M
$70M
$92M
$124M
$88M
$92M
$103M
$124M
$94M

Profit growth · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 17 companies with a series here. The remaining 5 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

-24%
-57%
-61%
-3.4%
-44%
38%
-47%
47%
100%
14%
-40%
18%
27%

Coherent Corp. · COHR

0.0%
-153%
-166%
-94%
-695%
-633%
800%
41%
9,000%
687%

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

53%
48%
25%
5.9%
22%
3.2%
0.0%
28%
0.0%
25%
33%
13%
-11%
13%
45%
31%

Fortive Corporation · FTV

-5.0%
48%
27%
26%
17%
19%
-6.7%
-49%
-27%
-45%
-14%
4.5%
-0.5%
-19%

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

-19%
-19%
2.5%
-22%
36%
85%
49%
39%
-20%
21%
33%
0.8%
21%
22%
35%

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

33%
6.0%
14%
9.7%
-15%
-24%
-34%
-55%
35%
-132%
-1.7%
104%
-51%
66%
36%

MKS Inc. · MKSI

-11%
-95%
-64%
-129%
-1,461%
550%
-228%
59%
247%
170%
19%
18%
62%

Novanta Inc. · NOVT

42%
7.1%
11%
24%
-13%
-17%
-33%
-9.5%
23%
40%
-71%
-42%
6.3%
425%

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

-69%
65%
0.9%
291%
40%
-55%
-279%
-12%
47%
-140%
-7.9%
-15%
950%
24%

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

163%
33%
40%
-16%
8.8%
12%
-21%
0.6%
41%
0.0%
5.6%
17%
-16%
39%
20%
20%

Trimble Inc. · TRMB

21%
-31%
-59%
-55%
-27%
-56%
2,824%
-45%
58%
-95%
117%
74%
48%

Vontier Corporation · VNT

-60%
-46%
-61%
176%
56%
65%
-28%
1.1%
17%
-36%
31%
12%
0.0%
2.2%
08 · compare level, then change

Return On Capital Employed

Ituran Location and Control Ltd. has the highest ROCE among the 19 Scientific & Technical Instruments companies compared here, at 8.6%. Garmin Ltd. is next at 6.9%. Keysight Technologies, Inc. has the highest ROCE change at +1.9 percentage points, so level and change sit with different companies. 18 of 19 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Mar 2026.

What the numbers say: Ituran Location and Control Ltd. leads ROCE at 8.6%, 1.7 percentage points above Garmin Ltd.. Keysight Technologies, Inc. has the strongest latest improvement at +1.9 percentage points. Read the leader beside the density of its reported history: a sparse high return is a candidate; a repeated high return is evidence of durability.

LeaderIturan Location and Control Ltd. · 8.6%
Gap24.6% versus #2 · Garmin Ltd.
Persistence1/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage18/19 companies · 323 observations

Investor read: Ituran Location and Control Ltd. sets the level benchmark; use the change leader as an inflection watch only after another comparable report confirms it.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current roce change signal.

ROCE asks how much operating return the business earns on the capital employed. Direction matters, but a single exceptional year should not be mistaken for durability.
ROCEhighest
1Ituran Location and Control Ltd. ITRN · older report8.6%
2Garmin Ltd. GRMN6.9%
ROCE changefastest improvers
2Coherent Corp. COHR+1.8 pp
3Cognex Corporation CGNX+1.0 pp
4Garmin Ltd. GRMN+0.9 pp
5Novanta Inc. NOVT+0.8 pp
Return on capital · company comparison
18/19 level · 18/19 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyROCEROCE changeReported
Ituran Location and Control Ltd. ITRN8.6%+0.7 ppMar 2026
Garmin Ltd. GRMN6.9%+0.9 ppJun 2026
Badger Meter, Inc. BMI4.8%−1.4 ppJun 2026
Keysight Technologies, Inc. KEYS4.5%+1.9 ppJun 2026
Vontier Corporation VNT3.6%−0.6 ppJun 2026
Cognex Corporation CGNX3.4%+1.0 ppJun 2026
ESCO Technologies Inc. ESE2.8%+0.3 ppMar 2026
Sensata Technologies Holding plc ST2.7%+0.6 ppJun 2026
Teledyne Technologies Incorporated TDY2.5%+0.4 ppJun 2026
Itron, Inc. ITRI2.5%−0.3 ppJun 2026
MKS Inc. MKSI2.1%+0.7 ppMar 2026
Novanta Inc. NOVT2.0%+0.8 ppJun 2026
Trimble Inc. TRMB1.9%+0.6 ppJun 2026
Coherent Corp. COHR1.8%+1.8 ppJun 2026
Fortive Corporation FTV1.7%+0.4 ppSep 2026
Mesa Laboratories, Inc. MLAB0.9%+0.5 ppMar 2026
Vishay Precision Group, Inc. VPG0.1%−0.6 ppJun 2026
MicroVision, Inc. MVIS-35%−19.7 ppMar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

ROCE · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 18 companies with a series here. The remaining 6 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

4.6%
5.0%
3.6%
2.2%
1.3%
3.7%
1.7%
0.8%
2.1%
1.7%
1.7%
1.5%
2.4%
3.1%
1.9%
3.4%

Coherent Corp. · COHR

1.9%
1.9%
1.8%
0.5%
0.1%
0.7%
-1.6%
-0.2%
0.2%
0.2%
0.5%
0.6%
1.0%
0.5%
0.0%
2.0%
1.4%
1.4%
1.8%

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

1.3%
1.8%
2.4%
3.2%
1.6%
1.9%
2.8%
3.2%
1.6%
2.3%
2.7%
4.0%
1.9%
2.5%
2.4%
3.9%
2.3%
2.8%

Fortive Corporation · FTV

1.5%
1.7%
1.8%
2.2%
1.8%
2.2%
2.2%
2.2%
2.1%
2.1%
1.2%
2.1%
1.1%
1.1%
1.3%
1.9%
1.6%
1.7%

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

5.1%
3.6%
4.8%
3.9%
4.1%
3.0%
4.5%
4.9%
4.2%
5.0%
6.1%
6.7%
4.2%
6.0%
5.5%
7.1%
4.8%
6.9%

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

5.5%
4.2%
5.1%
5.4%
5.8%
4.8%
5.2%
5.2%
4.8%
3.2%
2.5%
2.8%
3.2%
2.9%
2.6%
2.8%
2.5%
2.8%
4.5%

MKS Inc. · MKSI

4.8%
4.4%
4.1%
1.7%
2.2%
0.0%
-27%
1.3%
0.3%
1.1%
1.5%
1.5%
1.7%
1.4%
1.7%
1.7%
1.8%
2.1%

Novanta Inc. · NOVT

1.7%
2.8%
2.6%
2.5%
2.5%
3.1%
2.9%
2.0%
2.2%
2.2%
2.8%
2.3%
2.6%
1.2%
1.7%
1.8%
2.0%

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

2.1%
1.7%
1.8%
3.3%
2.0%
2.0%
1.5%
1.5%
-2.8%
2.0%
1.8%
-2.8%
1.1%
1.9%
2.1%
-1.9%
1.6%
2.3%
2.7%

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

2.2%
2.3%
2.3%
1.8%
1.9%
2.1%
1.9%
2.0%
2.1%
1.8%
1.9%
2.1%
1.8%
2.0%
2.1%
2.1%
2.5%
2.2%
2.5%

Trimble Inc. · TRMB

2.6%
2.7%
2.4%
1.7%
2.2%
1.4%
1.8%
1.4%
1.6%
0.8%
1.5%
2.3%
1.3%
1.7%
1.9%
2.8%
1.9%

Vontier Corporation · VNT

6.4%
4.5%
4.6%
4.6%
3.9%
3.6%
4.2%
4.3%
4.2%
3.3%
3.8%
3.9%
3.8%
4.2%
4.3%
3.5%
3.6%

ROCE change · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 18 companies with a series here. The remaining 6 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

−2.4 pp
−3.7 pp
+0.1 pp
−0.5 pp
+0.8 pp
−2.0 pp
0.0 pp
+0.7 pp
+0.3 pp
+1.4 pp
+0.2 pp
+1.0 pp

Coherent Corp. · COHR

−1.8 pp
−1.2 pp
−3.4 pp
−0.7 pp
+0.1 pp
−0.5 pp
+2.1 pp
+0.8 pp
+0.8 pp
+0.3 pp
−0.5 pp
+1.4 pp
+0.4 pp
+0.9 pp
+1.8 pp

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

+0.3 pp
+0.1 pp
+0.4 pp
0.0 pp
0.0 pp
+0.4 pp
−0.1 pp
+0.8 pp
+0.3 pp
+0.2 pp
−0.3 pp
−0.1 pp
+0.4 pp
+0.3 pp

Fortive Corporation · FTV

+0.7 pp
+0.5 pp
+0.4 pp
0.0 pp
+0.3 pp
−0.1 pp
−1.0 pp
−0.1 pp
−1.0 pp
−1.0 pp
+0.1 pp
−0.2 pp
+0.5 pp
+0.4 pp

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

−1.0 pp
−1.8 pp
+0.6 pp
+0.8 pp
+2.0 pp
+1.6 pp
+1.8 pp
0.0 pp
+1.0 pp
−0.6 pp
+0.4 pp
+0.6 pp
+0.9 pp

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

+0.3 pp
+0.6 pp
+0.1 pp
−0.2 pp
−1.0 pp
−1.6 pp
−2.7 pp
−2.4 pp
−1.6 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.1 pp
0.0 pp
−0.7 pp
−0.1 pp
+1.9 pp

MKS Inc. · MKSI

−2.6 pp
−4.4 pp
−30.8 pp
−0.4 pp
−1.9 pp
+1.1 pp
+28.2 pp
+0.2 pp
+1.4 pp
+0.3 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.1 pp
+0.7 pp

Novanta Inc. · NOVT

+0.8 pp
+0.3 pp
+0.3 pp
−0.5 pp
−0.3 pp
−0.9 pp
−0.1 pp
+0.3 pp
+0.4 pp
−1.0 pp
−1.1 pp
−0.5 pp
+0.8 pp

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

−0.1 pp
+0.3 pp
−0.3 pp
−1.8 pp
−4.8 pp
0.0 pp
+0.3 pp
−4.3 pp
+3.9 pp
−0.1 pp
+0.3 pp
+0.9 pp
+0.5 pp
+0.4 pp
+0.6 pp

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

−0.3 pp
−0.2 pp
−0.4 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.2 pp
−0.3 pp
0.0 pp
+0.1 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.2 pp
0.0 pp
+0.7 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.4 pp

Trimble Inc. · TRMB

−0.9 pp
−1.3 pp
−0.6 pp
−0.3 pp
−0.6 pp
−0.6 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.7 pp
+0.5 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.5 pp
+0.6 pp

Vontier Corporation · VNT

−1.8 pp
−0.9 pp
−0.4 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.3 pp
−0.3 pp
−0.4 pp
−0.4 pp
−0.4 pp
+0.9 pp
+0.5 pp
−0.4 pp
−0.6 pp
09 · compare level, then change

Valuation Against Growth & Quality

MKS Inc. has the lowest PEG among the 19 Scientific & Technical Instruments companies compared here, at 1.13×. Garmin Ltd. is next at 1.22×. USBC, Inc. has the lowest P/E at 0.95×, so level and change sit with different companies. 6 of 19 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Mar 2026.

What the numbers say: MKS Inc. has the lowest comparable PEG at 1.13×, 7.4% below Garmin Ltd.. Only 6 of 19 companies have earnings and growth steady enough for the ratio to mean anything, so no broad “cheapest stock” conclusion is defensible unless the current multiple, own-history position and growth durability agree.

LeaderMKS Inc. · 1.13×
Gap7.4% versus #2 · Garmin Ltd.
Persistence0/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage6/19 companies · 72 observations

Investor read: Treat valuation as permission to investigate, never as a standalone reason to buy.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current p/e signal.

PEG is shown only when earnings are positive and three-year EPS growth is between 5% and 60%. It is recomputed consistently as the trailing P/E divided by that growth rate — reported earnings, never an expected-earnings multiple. On Indian companies it is shown only where the two data feeds agreed. Where any of that fails the ratio is left out rather than printed: a P/E divided by a loss, or by growth measured off a tiny base, is a number that looks precise and means nothing.
PEGlowest PEG
1MKS Inc. MKSI · older report1.1
2Garmin Ltd. GRMN1.2
4Ituran Location and Control Ltd. ITRN · older report1.8
P/Elowest P/E
1USBC, Inc. USBC · older report1.0
3Itron, Inc. ITRI14.4
4Ituran Location and Control Ltd. ITRN · older report16.2
5Garmin Ltd. GRMN24.0
Valuation · company comparison
6/19 level · 18/19 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyPEGP/EReported
ESCO Technologies Inc. ESE6.054.2Mar 2026
Cognex Corporation CGNX5.458.5Jun 2026
Badger Meter, Inc. BMI2.734.7Jun 2026
Teledyne Technologies Incorporated TDY2.230.1Jun 2026
Ituran Location and Control Ltd. ITRN1.816.2Mar 2026
Fortive Corporation FTV1.733.3Sep 2026
Keysight Technologies, Inc. KEYS1.457.6Jun 2026
Garmin Ltd. GRMN1.224.0Jun 2026
MKS Inc. MKSI1.148.1Mar 2026
Itron, Inc. ITRI1.014.5Jun 2026
Vontier Corporation VNT0.912.5Jun 2026
Sensata Technologies Holding plc ST0.379.6Jun 2026
Coherent Corp. COHR95.8Jun 2026
Trimble Inc. TRMB33.1Jun 2026
Novanta Inc. NOVT84.8Jun 2026
Vishay Precision Group, Inc. VPG99.5Jun 2026
Mesa Laboratories, Inc. MLAB73.1Mar 2026
USBC, Inc. USBC1.0Dec 2025
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

PEG · reported quarter history

Badger Meter, Inc. · BMI

3.1
2.8
1.8
1.3
1.1
1.1
1.4
1.5
1.4
2.7
2.3
2.7

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

5.0
5.4

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

0.8
1.0
2.2
3.5
2.0
2.9
2.1
1.3
1.3
2.1
1.1
2.9
6.0

Fortive Corporation · FTV

1.1
1.7

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

2.4
2.4
1.4
1.4
1.2

Itron, Inc. · ITRI

0.3
0.5
1.6
0.6
1.0

Ituran Location and Control Ltd. · ITRN

0.7
0.4
0.5
0.4
0.4
0.5
0.7
0.9
1.2
1.5
1.4
2.0
1.8

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

1.2
0.9
0.7
1.4

MKS Inc. · MKSI

0.7
1.1

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

1.2
0.3

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

0.9
2.0
2.9
3.2
2.2
1.6
2.8
2.3
2.2

Vontier Corporation · VNT

0.3
0.6
0.9

P/E · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 18 companies with a series here. The remaining 6 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Cognex Corporation · CGNX

49.3
50.4
29.8
34.3
49.6
56.6
46.6
73.1
101.7
77.4
57.8
44.1
44.3
71.6
52.9
58.5

Coherent Corp. · COHR

31.2
40.1
35.1
89.4
156.1
182.7
114.0
95.8

ESCO Technologies Inc. · ESE

37.8
28.8
24.9
23.2
26.6
28.6
29.4
29.2
32.5
28.1
27.2
32.7
29.9
33.4
41.4
18.3
38.7
54.2

Fortive Corporation · FTV

11.8
25.4
23.0
55.0
24.0
25.0
24.0
22.8
25.6
22.4
27.1
23.9
27.8
28.2
25.0
31.9
30.2
33.3

Garmin Ltd. · GRMN

24.0
21.0
19.1
16.6
18.3
20.2
20.2
19.2
21.0
22.8
22.1
28.7
28.1
25.7
29.6
23.9
25.7
24.0

Keysight Technologies, Inc. · KEYS

37.7
33.0
25.4
26.9
28.2
28.1
22.1
25.6
20.7
28.1
32.2
26.8
42.5
51.1
34.1
52.2
37.3
39.0
57.6

MKS Inc. · MKSI

17.6
14.6
10.3
10.8
15.2
34.4
1,187.1
241.6
37.2
23.9
25.2
30.0
36.6
48.1

Novanta Inc. · NOVT

111.1
87.2
67.2
66.0
77.6
86.0
68.3
83.4
90.6
94.3
105.7
86.3
65.9
76.5
68.7
81.0
84.8

Sensata Technologies Holding plc · ST

27.1
24.5
26.0
18.9
20.3
20.6
17.8
18.6
934.8
33.4
30.0
40.2
72.4
113.6
79.6

Teledyne Technologies Incorporated · TDY

43.7
43.5
39.1
26.6
22.9
24.2
28.3
25.6
24.8
23.2
21.1
22.0
27.4
28.3
28.1
33.4
27.4
30.0
30.1

Trimble Inc. · TRMB

38.1
37.7
28.3
27.8
27.7
38.1
40.1
42.3
66.4
9.1
10.3
11.6
8.9
68.0
53.7
43.6
33.1

Vontier Corporation · VNT

13.2
7.4
7.4
7.8
18.4
17.0
14.3
14.3
16.4
14.8
13.0
13.3
13.3
14.1
15.4
13.5
12.5
10 · before the conclusion, check the blind spots

What can make this comparison misleading?

This Scientific & Technical Instruments comparison names 5 specific ways its own evidence can mislead, all listed below. 6 of the 19 companies report on an older date than the sector's freshest reporters, so their ranks are marked stale. A high growth rate can still be a low-base artefact.

Keep these limits visible

  • A high growth rate can be a low-base artefact. The page keeps level and change separate for that reason.
  • A high ROCE can be temporary or flattered by a small capital base. Read it beside margin, cash conversion and reinvestment.
  • The 4-Factor Sector Score ranks research priority, not portfolio action. Management quality, catalysts and risks need equally fresh evidence before capital is deployed.
  • An “all companies” line chart preserves completeness, but rank changes should be checked against reporting dates before drawing a conclusion.
  • 6 companies have older fundamental reporting dates than the sector’s freshest reporters; their ranks carry a stale marker.
11 · evidence and freshness

How was this comparison built?

This comparison is built from the reported filings of 19 Scientific & Technical Instruments companies, normalized to a common $ scale and a shared quarter axis of up to 20 quarters each. Fundamentals run through Sep 2026 and market data through 2026-09-16. A second data feed fills gaps only after identity and scale reconciliation, and missing observations are never interpolated.

FundamentalsThrough Sep 2026 · up to 20 quarters per company
Market dataThrough 2026-09-16 · weekly price and relative-strength history
Derived metricsGrowth, changes and PEG are calculated only when their inputs are comparable.
Score confidenceMissing and stale evidence reduces confidence and pulls the 0–100 research-priority score toward neutral.
12 · questions investors ask, short speakable answers

Scientific & Technical Instruments company comparison FAQs

These 22 answers restate the Scientific & Technical Instruments comparison above in question form. Every one is computed from the same 19 companies and the same reported filings as the rankings and charts, current through Sep 2026. Price and relative-strength answers run through 2026-09-16. Nothing here is estimated, and none of it is a recommendation.

Is the Scientific & Technical Instruments sector outperforming S&P 500?

Scientific & Technical Instruments has outperformed S&P 500 by 6% over 52 weeks and 9.8% over 13 weeks. 6 of 19 covered companies beat the S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength, while 6 of 19 beat the sector itself.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments company is largest by revenue?

Garmin Ltd. leads with revenue of $7,671 million, based on 10 of 19 comparable companies through Jun 2026.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments company is growing fastest?

ESCO Technologies Inc. has the fastest current revenue growth at 30.7%, across 9 of 19 comparable companies.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments company has the strongest 4-Factor Sector Score?

Garmin Ltd. ranks first at 71.5/100 with 81.1% evidence confidence. The score prioritizes research; it is not a buy recommendation.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments company has the lowest comparable PEG?

MKS Inc. has the lowest comparable PEG at 1.13, among 6 of 19 companies whose earnings and growth are steady enough for the ratio to mean anything.

How much history does this Scientific & Technical Instruments comparison include?

The page compares up to 20 reported quarters per company for fundamentals, returns and valuation, ending Sep 2026. Missing observations remain blank rather than being estimated.

How is the 4-Factor Sector Score calculated?

The four visible contributions add directly: growth and earnings up to 35 points, capital efficiency up to 25, valuation up to 20, and relative strength up to 20. Missing or stale evidence moves only the affected contribution toward neutral.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments company is the biggest?

Garmin Ltd. is the largest, with trailing-twelve-month revenue of $7,671 million, ahead of Coherent Corp. at $7,119 million. That covers 10 of 19 companies with comparable reporting through Jun 2026.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments company has the best profit margins?

Garmin Ltd. has the highest operating margin at 30.4%, from 17 of 19 comparable companies. Coherent Corp. shows the biggest recent improvement, at +12 percentage points. A high margin matters most when it is holding or rising, not when it is peaking.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments company makes the most profit?

Garmin Ltd. earns the most, at $1,878 million of trailing-twelve-month net profit, from 10 of 19 comparable companies. Coherent Corp. has the fastest profit growth at the ≥100% scoring cap, though growth off a small or recovering profit base overstates how much has actually changed.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments company earns the highest return on capital?

Ituran Location and Control Ltd. leads on return on capital employed at 8.6%, across 18 of 19 companies. Read it beside the length of its reported history: a high return that repeats for years is evidence of a durable business, while a single high reading can be a small capital base or one good year.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments stock is the cheapest?

On PEG — where a LOWER number is cheaper — MKS Inc. screens cheapest at 1.13×. Only 6 of 19 companies have earnings and growth steady enough for the ratio to mean anything, so this is not a sector-wide "cheapest stock" verdict. Cheap on a multiple is a reason to investigate, never a reason to buy on its own.

Is the Scientific & Technical Instruments sector beating the market?

Scientific & Technical Instruments has outperformed S&P 500 by 6% over the last 52 weeks and 9.8% over 13 weeks, measured on an equal-weight index of its current members. Inside the sector, 6 of 19 covered companies are beating the market on their own. Sector strength does not transfer evenly to every stock in it.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments stock has the strongest price momentum?

Mesa Laboratories, Inc. has the strongest relative strength against S&P 500. Relative strength answers last, after growth, quality and valuation: price can move well before the fundamentals confirm it, and sometimes without them confirming at all.

Which Scientific & Technical Instruments company scores highest for research priority?

Garmin Ltd. scores 71.5 out of 100 with 81.1% evidence confidence, from 23.3 points on growth and earnings, 17 on capital efficiency, 13.4 on valuation and 17.8 on relative strength. This ranks what deserves work next. It is not a buy recommendation, and management quality, catalysts and risk still need separate research.

How many Scientific & Technical Instruments companies does this comparison cover, and over what period?

It compares 19 listed companies over up to 20 reported quarters of fundamentals, ending Sep 2026, plus weekly price and relative-strength history. Membership is the full sector list — nothing is dropped for having thin data.

What is the total market cap of the Scientific & Technical Instruments sector?

The 19 Scientific & Technical Instruments companies on this page carry $281,591 million of combined market value. Coherent Corp. is the largest at $56,778 million, about 20% of the sector's total on its own. Market value moves with price, so this reading is dated 2026-09-16.

What is the Scientific & Technical Instruments sector's P/E ratio?

The median price-to-earnings ratio across the 19 Scientific & Technical Instruments companies on this page is 48.1×, measured on the 18 that report a comparable figure. A sector-level history for this multiple is not held here, so this is a cross-section of today, not a comparison with the sector’s own past. Figures are as of 2026-09-16.

How is the Scientific & Technical Instruments sector performing?

6 of the 19 covered Scientific & Technical Instruments companies are beating S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength. The sector itself is 6% ahead of S&P 500 over 52 weeks on an equal-weight index of its current members. Readings are as of 2026-09-16.

How many Scientific & Technical Instruments stocks are listed in the US?

This comparison covers 19 listed Scientific & Technical Instruments companies in the US, each above the size floor the site applies. The full ranked list is on this page, with reported fundamentals through Sep 2026. Membership is the full industry list — nothing is dropped for having thin data.

Why are some values on this page blank?

A blank means that company did not report a comparable figure for that period, so nothing is shown. Missing observations are never interpolated, carried forward, or replaced with a similar-looking accounting line, and a company with missing evidence has its research score pulled toward neutral rather than being scored as bad.

Is this investment advice?

No. Every figure here is a deterministic calculation from reported company filings and market data, published for research. It contains no recommendation to buy or sell any security, does not account for your circumstances, and is not a substitute for advice from a licensed adviser.

Not SEBI Registered !! Not Investment advice !!

Chat with this pageChat with pageChatChatGPTClaudePerplexityGoogle AI