Sector Alpha Week of 2026-09-16
Not SEBI Registered !! Not Investment advice !!
20-quarter listed-company comparison

Drug Manufacturers - General Stocks

Drug Manufacturers - General: Johnson & Johnson owns the largest revenue base; Eli Lilly and Company has the fastest current growth.

01 · the industry itself · before any single company

How has Drug Manufacturers - General moved against S&P 500?

The line below covers up to 5.2 years and opens on the 5Y view; the buttons cut it shorter. Over the most recent two of them this industry is 23% behind S&P 500. Earnings across its companies grew 31% on average over the last four reported quarters.

FADING · −1 in 4w~Fundamentals up, price down8 of 17 companies ahead of S&P 500 by 5% or more over three months1 is 20% or more behind over a year while earnings grew 20% or more

RS ↑1w · 10/17 >200d (−3) · 8/17 lead (−1) · EPS 9/17↑

20030020262025202420232022 283347 TRAILING 12-MONTH EPS · 100 AT THE START0100123Jun 22Dec 22Jun 23Dec 23Jun 24Dec 24Jun 25Dec 25Jun 26Mar 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 13 reportingJun 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 14 reportingSep 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 108, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 13 reportingDec 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 116, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 14 reportingMar 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 123, against 100 at the start · up 22.8% on a year ago · 12 reportingJun 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 119, against 100 at the start · up 25.6% on a year ago · 14 reportingSep 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 94, against 100 at the start · down 21.8% on a year ago · 14 reportingDec 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 81, against 100 at the start · down 35.4% on a year ago · 16 reportingMar 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 69, against 100 at the start · down 49.0% on a year ago · 15 reportingJun 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 73, against 100 at the start · down 38.4% on a year ago · 15 reportingSep 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 77, against 100 at the start · down 21.4% on a year ago · 15 reportingDec 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 74, against 100 at the start · down 4.6% on a year ago · 15 reportingMar 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 99, against 100 at the start · up 26.5% on a year ago · 14 reportingJun 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 112, against 100 at the start · up 28.8% on a year ago · 14 reportingSep 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 120, against 100 at the start · up 62.1% on a year ago · 14 reportingDec 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 121, against 100 at the start · up 32.7% on a year ago · 14 reportingMar 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 115, against 100 at the start · up 22.9% on a year ago · 14 reportingJun 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 62, against 100 at the start · up 5.0% on a year ago · 12 reportingNot reported yet — earnings trail price by a quarter or two62 · Jun 26No earnings on file this far back — the price series reaches further than the filings do
20030020262025202420232022 283347 TRAILING 12-MONTH EPS · 100 AT THE START0100123Jun 22Jun 23Jun 24Jun 25Jun 26Mar 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 13 reportingJun 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 14 reportingSep 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 108, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 13 reportingDec 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 116, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 14 reportingMar 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 123, against 100 at the start · up 22.8% on a year ago · 12 reportingJun 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 119, against 100 at the start · up 25.6% on a year ago · 14 reportingSep 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 94, against 100 at the start · down 21.8% on a year ago · 14 reportingDec 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 81, against 100 at the start · down 35.4% on a year ago · 16 reportingMar 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 69, against 100 at the start · down 49.0% on a year ago · 15 reportingJun 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 73, against 100 at the start · down 38.4% on a year ago · 15 reportingSep 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 77, against 100 at the start · down 21.4% on a year ago · 15 reportingDec 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 74, against 100 at the start · down 4.6% on a year ago · 15 reportingMar 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 99, against 100 at the start · up 26.5% on a year ago · 14 reportingJun 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 112, against 100 at the start · up 28.8% on a year ago · 14 reportingSep 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 120, against 100 at the start · up 62.1% on a year ago · 14 reportingDec 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 121, against 100 at the start · up 32.7% on a year ago · 14 reportingMar 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 115, against 100 at the start · up 22.9% on a year ago · 14 reportingJun 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 62, against 100 at the start · up 5.0% on a year ago · 12 reportingNot reported yet — earnings trail price by a quarter or two62No earnings on file this far back — the price series reaches further than the filings do
Drug Manufacturers - General, equal-weighted, based at 200 S&P 500, same base, same start trailing 12-month earnings per share rising falling

Both lines start at 200 in the same week, so the distance between them is the whole story: the industry line is an equal-weighted index of its 17 companies. The bars underneath are trailing 12-month earnings per share, one bar per reported quarter, each member rebased to 100 at the start and the industry taking the median — so a price line pulling away from flat bars is a re-rating, not earnings. A bar turns red when that figure is lower than the quarter before. Rules are fixed and applied identically everywhere on this site: ahead by 5% or more over three months, or behind by 20% or more over a year while earnings grew 20% or more. Hover any point to read both values and the gap. This is a description of what the numbers did, not advice.

02 · sector relative strength, before individual stocks

Is Drug Manufacturers - General outperforming S&P 500?

Drug Manufacturers - General has outperformed S&P 500 by 8% over the last 52 weeks. Over 13 weeks the gap is a lead of 5.4%. 9 of 16 covered companies currently beat the S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength, so leadership inside the sector is selective. Organon & Co. is the strongest against the sector itself at +25.7%.

+5.4%Sector vs S&P 500 · 13 weeks
+8.0%Sector vs S&P 500 · 52 weeks
9/16Stocks leading S&P 500
9/16Stocks leading sector

Sector metric: — as of latest available · unclassified · direction unavailable.

The central tension: the companies with the most scale are not necessarily the companies creating the most change.

Start with scale. Then earnings trajectory. Then business quality. Only after those three agree should price leadership carry much weight.

Bottom line

Drug Manufacturers - General has outperformed S&P 500 by 8% over 52 weeks and 5.4% over 13 weeks. 9 of 16 covered companies beat the S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength, while 9 of 16 beat the sector itself. Johnson & Johnson leads with revenue of $97,929 million, based on 15 of 16 comparable companies through Jun 2026.

Companies
16
complete canonical membership
Combined market value
$3.9T
Eli Lilly and Company
Revenue growing
13/15
positive TTM year-on-year growth
Beating S&P 500
9/16
positive Mansfield relative strength
Comparing 5 of 16
03 · research priority, made explicit

4-Factor Sector Score

An additive sector-relative research score. The four displayed point contributions always equal the total: Growth & earnings (35), Capital efficiency (25), Valuation (20), and Relative strength (20). Missing or stale evidence is absorbed inside the affected factor, never applied as a hidden adjustment.

Growth & earnings · 35%Capital efficiency · 25%Valuation · 20%Relative strength · 20%
AbbVie Inc. has the strongest current balance of earnings trajectory, business quality, valuation and price confirmation, with 75.3% evidence confidence.
Organon & Co. looks inexpensive relative to peers or its own history, but its earnings trajectory has not yet earned the valuation signal.
Gilead Sciences, Inc. has stronger price confirmation than earnings confirmation; that is a research prompt, not permission to chase.
How this score is built, and what the marks mean

Missing observations are not scored as bad. Their missing weight lowers confidence and pulls the final score toward neutral. PEG is not shown when the ratio cannot mean anything: the company must be making a profit, its price-to-earnings must be positive, and its three-year earnings growth must fall between 5% and 60%. Dividing a price multiple by a loss, or by growth measured off a tiny base, produces a number that looks precise and tells you nothing. Under relative strength, one mark per week shows the last 12 weeks: a mark is filled where the company led S&P 500 by 5% or more over the 13 weeks ending that week, which is the same test used everywhere on this site. Price stage places the company on the same six-step curve the sector itself is placed on — basing, turning, breaking out, leader, fading, asleep — read from how many weeks running it has led S&P 500 and whether that lead is widening or shrinking. It describes where the PRICE stands, not the earnings trajectory and not a recommendation, and it is left blank for a company whose weekly history is too short or too stale to read.

CompanyScorePrice stageGrowth & earnings/35Capital efficiency/25Valuation/20Relative strength/20
1AbbVie Inc.ABBV 75.2/100Favorable setup75% evidence LEADER 28.8/35 Revenue 10.4% · PAT 68.4% · OPM change 2.5 pp 95% evidence 20.1/25 ROCE 24.5% · OPM 40% 76% evidence 8.7/20 P/E 70.9× · PEG — 15% evidence 17.6/20 RS sector 6.6% · RS bench 7.2% · 1Y 18%12 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 28.8 + 20.1 + 8.7 + 17.6 = 75.2 · Decision use: Confirmed research leader: earnings, capital efficiency and relative strength agree. Move to management, catalyst and risk diligence.
2Bristol-Myers Squibb CompanyBMY 69.4/100Favorable setup85% evidence BREAKING OUT 26.0/35 Revenue 3.1% · PAT 83.1% · OPM change 12.5 pp 95% evidence 12.5/25 ROCE 5.9% · OPM 31% 76% evidence 14.8/20 P/E 12.7× · PEG 0.51 65% evidence 16.1/20 RS sector 5.4% · RS bench 5.7% · 1Y 41.3%8 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 26 + 12.5 + 14.8 + 16.1 = 69.4 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
3Eli Lilly and CompanyLLY 67.1/100Favorable setup85% evidence FADING 32.3/35 Revenue 49.6% · PAT 93.6% · OPM change 9.1 pp 95% evidence 21.3/25 ROCE 41.7% · OPM 54.2% 76% evidence 3.9/20 P/E 40× · PEG 8.59 65% evidence 9.6/20 RS sector 2.7% · RS bench 3.2% · 1Y 51.3%8 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 32.3 + 21.3 + 3.9 + 9.6 = 67.1 · Decision use: Strong business, demanding price: keep it on the quality list, but require either earnings upgrades or valuation compression.
4Amgen Inc.AMGN 67.0/100Favorable setup85% evidence BREAKING OUT 26.5/35 Revenue 9.1% · PAT 32.1% · OPM change 2.9 pp 95% evidence 16.9/25 ROCE 18.2% · OPM 35.5% 76% evidence 13.1/20 P/E 22.4× · PEG 0.71 65% evidence 10.5/20 RS sector 0.3% · RS bench 0.7% · 1Y 31.9%8 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 26.5 + 16.9 + 13.1 + 10.5 = 67 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
5Johnson & JohnsonJNJ 65.5/100Favorable setup75% evidence BREAKING OUT 22.1/35 Revenue 8.1% · PAT -7.2% · OPM change 0.9 pp 95% evidence 16.8/25 ROCE 18.6% · OPM 29.2% 76% evidence 9.5/20 P/E 29.1× · PEG — 15% evidence 17.1/20 RS sector 8.7% · RS bench 9.1% · 1Y 51.7%9 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 22.1 + 16.8 + 9.5 + 17.1 = 65.5 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
6Gilead Sciences, Inc.GILD 59.9/100Mixed-positive evidence75% evidence BREAKING OUT 14.9/35 Revenue 5.5% · PAT -151.3% · OPM change -5.5 pp 95% evidence 19.1/25 ROCE 30.9% · OPM 33.7% 76% evidence 10.5/20 P/E 18.8× · PEG — 15% evidence 15.4/20 RS sector 4.1% · RS bench 4.4% · 1Y 29.4%5 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 14.9 + 19.1 + 10.5 + 15.4 = 59.9 · Decision use: Price leads the evidence: RS versus the benchmark is 4.4%, but earnings trajectory is weak. Wait for revenue and profit confirmation.
7Organon & Co.OGN 54.0/100Mixed-positive evidence81% evidence TURNING 12.1/35 Revenue -2.1% · PAT -67.2% · OPM change 0.7 pp 83% evidence 10.8/25 ROCE 2.2% · OPM 16.1% 76% evidence 16.5/20 P/E 6.4× · PEG 0.17 65% evidence 14.6/20 RS sector 25.7% · RS bench 26.7% · 1Y 30.8%4 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 12.1 + 10.8 + 16.5 + 14.6 = 54 · Decision use: Price leads the evidence: RS versus the benchmark is 26.7%, but earnings trajectory is weak. Wait for revenue and profit confirmation.
8Merck & Co., Inc.MRK 45.5/100Mixed-negative evidence85% evidence BREAKING OUT 4.5/35 Revenue 4.6% · PAT -80.7% · OPM change -37.7 pp 95% evidence 12.3/25 ROCE 18.3% · OPM -0.2% 76% evidence 9.6/20 P/E 14.3× · PEG 1.75 65% evidence 19.1/20 RS sector 18.2% · RS bench 18.5% · 1Y 77.8%9 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 4.5 + 12.3 + 9.6 + 19.1 = 45.5 · Decision use: Price leads the evidence: RS versus the benchmark is 18.5%, but earnings trajectory is weak. Wait for revenue and profit confirmation.
9AstraZeneca PLCAZN 44.7/100Mixed-negative evidence85% evidence BASING 18.5/35 Revenue 8.6% · PAT 25.9% · OPM change -0.8 pp 95% evidence 14.4/25 ROCE 17.7% · OPM 23.5% 76% evidence 10.9/20 P/E 27.8× · PEG 1.08 65% evidence 0.9/20 RS sector -16% · RS bench -15.6% · 1Y 5.5%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 18.5 + 14.4 + 10.9 + 0.9 = 44.7 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
10GSK plcGSK 43.6/100Mixed-negative evidence85% evidence ASLEEP 15.3/35 Revenue 5% · PAT 32.1% · OPM change -19.6 pp 95% evidence 9.4/25 ROCE 1.2% · OPM 5.7% 76% evidence 14.8/20 P/E 16.8× · PEG 0.4 65% evidence 4.1/20 RS sector -8% · RS bench -7.7% · 1Y 23.7%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 15.3 + 9.4 + 14.8 + 4.1 = 43.6 · Decision use: Cheap but unconfirmed: require improving earnings before treating the valuation as an opportunity.
11Novartis AGNVS 41.2/100Mixed-negative evidence85% evidence ASLEEP 12.5/35 Revenue 2.7% · PAT -6.5% · OPM change 0.8 pp 95% evidence 19.3/25 ROCE 19.6% · OPM 34.6% 76% evidence 7.0/20 P/E 22.5× · PEG 2.3 65% evidence 2.4/20 RS sector -11.4% · RS bench -11.1% · 1Y 12.8%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 12.5 + 19.3 + 7 + 2.4 = 41.2 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
12Biogen Inc.BIIB 40.2/100Mixed-negative evidence85% evidence LEADER 6.3/35 Revenue 0.3% · PAT -45.4% · OPM change -24.9 pp 95% evidence 6.1/25 ROCE 0.6% · OPM 5.6% 76% evidence 13.7/20 P/E 38.2× · PEG 0.38 65% evidence 14.1/20 RS sector 8.4% · RS bench 8.9% · 1Y 51.6%8 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 6.3 + 6.1 + 13.7 + 14.1 = 40.2 · Decision use: Price leads the evidence: RS versus the benchmark is 8.9%, but earnings trajectory is weak. Wait for revenue and profit confirmation.
13Grifols, S.A.GRFS 40.1/100Thin evidence · provisional58% evidence BASING 16.1/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change -0.3 pp 45% evidence 8.1/25 ROCE 1.8% · OPM 14.8% 76% evidence 11.3/20 P/E 7.5× · PEG — 15% evidence 4.6/20 RS sector -18.5% · RS bench -18% · 1Y -24%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 16.1 + 8.1 + 11.3 + 4.6 = 40.1 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
14SanofiSNY 38.3/100Mixed-negative evidence85% evidence ASLEEP 12.5/35 Revenue 7% · PAT -32.6% · OPM change -5.2 pp 95% evidence 7.7/25 ROCE 1.1% · OPM 8.5% 76% evidence 13.1/20 P/E 22.9× · PEG 0.58 65% evidence 5.0/20 RS sector -14.8% · RS bench -14.3% · 1Y -10.6%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 12.5 + 7.7 + 13.1 + 5 = 38.3 · Decision use: Cheap but unconfirmed: require improving earnings before treating the valuation as an opportunity.
15Amarin Corporation plcAMRN 33.6/100Thin evidence · provisional58% evidence ASLEEP 17.9/35 Revenue 1.9% · PAT — · OPM change 14.8 pp 62% evidence 3.0/25 ROCE -2.4% · OPM -25.1% 76% evidence 8.5/20 P/E 168.5× · PEG — 15% evidence 4.2/20 RS sector -15.4% · RS bench -14.8% · 1Y -9.8%0 of 12 weeks ahead 70% evidence
Exact sum: 17.9 + 3 + 8.5 + 4.2 = 33.6 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
16Pfizer Inc.PFE 30.0/100Adverse evidence75% evidence BREAKING OUT 5.6/35 Revenue -0.2% · PAT -59.4% · OPM change -25.1 pp 95% evidence 5.0/25 ROCE -0.4% · OPM -4.3% 76% evidence 9.3/20 P/E 32× · PEG — 15% evidence 10.1/20 RS sector -1.9% · RS bench -1.4% · 1Y 14.3%3 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 5.6 + 5 + 9.3 + 10.1 = 30 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
Showing 10 of 16 companies
04 · what price has already done

Market action

Merck & Co., Inc. has the strongest one-year price move in Drug Manufacturers - General at +77.8%. Organon & Co. leads on Mansfield relative strength against the S&P 500 at +26.7%. 9 of 16 covered companies are above zero on that measure. Every line covers 314 weekly closes through 2026-09-16.

Price and relative strength

Every company, the sector's own index and S&P 500 all start level on the left edge of the window, so only the distance between the lines counts — the highest line has risen the most since then, and the chart at the top of this page is drawn the same way. It opens on one year; the buttons beside it stretch that to three or five.

05 · compare level, then change

Revenue Scale & Growth Durability

Johnson & Johnson has the highest Revenue among the 16 Drug Manufacturers - General companies compared here, at $97,929 million. Eli Lilly and Company is next at $79,666 million. Eli Lilly and Company has the highest Revenue growth at 49.6%, so level and change sit with different companies. Its Revenue series carries 18 reported observations across the 20-quarter window.

What the numbers say: Johnson & Johnson is the scale leader at $97,929 million, 22.9% ahead of Eli Lilly and Company. Eli Lilly and Company's growth is 49.6% from a $79,666 million base, with 20 reported observations in the 20-quarter window. Treat the growth leader as an acceleration candidate, not as equally proven scale.

LeaderJohnson & Johnson · $97,929 million
Gap22.9% versus #2 · Eli Lilly and Company
Persistence8/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage15/16 companies · 312 observations

Investor read: Johnson & Johnson is the scale benchmark; Eli Lilly and Company is the acceleration watch. Promote the challenger only if growth persists and converts into margin and returns.

This conclusion weakens if: Johnson & Johnson's growth falls below Eli Lilly and Company's for two consecutive comparable reports while operating margin also compresses.

Revenue is compared on a common reported-currency basis. Growth is year-on-year, so seasonality does not masquerade as progress.
Revenuelargest
4AbbVie Inc. ABBV$64.4B
5Pfizer Inc. PFE$63.7B
Revenue growthfastest growers
2AbbVie Inc. ABBV10%
3Amgen Inc. AMGN9.1%
Revenue · company comparison
15/16 level · 15/16 change

On every company-comparison chart on this page: solid lines show level, dotted lines show change when “Both” is selected, and a missing report breaks the line rather than being invented.

All-company data · latest reported quarter

In every all-company table on this page, each figure is the company’s latest single reported quarter. The rankings above them use trailing-twelve-month or current-market values, so a company can legitimately show a different number in each.

CompanyRevenueRevenue growthReported
Johnson & Johnson JNJ$25.3B6.6%Jun 2026
Eli Lilly and Company LLY$23.0B48%Jun 2026
AbbVie Inc. ABBV$17.0B10%Jun 2026
Merck & Co., Inc. MRK$16.6B5.1%Jun 2026
AstraZeneca PLC AZN$15.4B6.4%Jun 2026
Pfizer Inc. PFE$15.0B2.6%Jun 2026
Novartis AG NVS$15.0B0.8%Jun 2026
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company BMY$13.0B5.7%Jun 2026
Sanofi SNY$12.3B15%Jun 2026
Amgen Inc. AMGN$10.1B9.5%Jun 2026
GSK plc GSK$8.4B5.3%Jun 2026
Gilead Sciences, Inc. GILD$7.8B10%Jun 2026
Biogen Inc. BIIB$2.7B3.4%Jun 2026
Grifols, S.A. GRFS$1.7B-4.8%Jun 2026
Organon & Co. OGN$1.5B-3.5%Mar 2026
Amarin Corporation plc AMRN$45M7.1%Mar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

Revenue · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 16 companies with a series here. The remaining 4 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

AbbVie Inc. · ABBV

$14.3B
$14.9B
$13.5B
$14.6B
$14.8B
$15.1B
$12.2B
$13.9B
$13.9B
$14.3B
$12.3B
$14.5B
$14.5B
$15.1B
$13.3B
$15.4B
$15.8B
$16.6B
$15.0B
$17.0B

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

$6.7B
$6.8B
$6.2B
$6.6B
$6.7B
$6.8B
$6.1B
$7.0B
$6.9B
$8.2B
$7.4B
$8.4B
$8.5B
$9.1B
$8.1B
$9.2B
$9.6B
$9.9B
$8.6B
$10.1B

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

$9.9B
$12.0B
$11.4B
$10.8B
$11.0B
$11.2B
$10.9B
$11.4B
$11.5B
$12.0B
$12.7B
$12.9B
$13.6B
$14.9B
$13.6B
$14.5B
$15.2B
$15.5B
$15.3B
$15.4B

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

$11.6B
$12.0B
$11.6B
$11.9B
$11.2B
$11.4B
$11.3B
$11.2B
$11.0B
$11.5B
$11.9B
$12.2B
$11.9B
$12.3B
$11.2B
$12.3B
$12.2B
$12.5B
$11.5B
$13.0B

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

$6.8B
$8.0B
$7.8B
$6.5B
$6.9B
$7.3B
$7.0B
$8.3B
$9.5B
$9.4B
$8.8B
$11.3B
$11.4B
$13.5B
$12.7B
$15.6B
$17.6B
$19.3B
$19.8B
$23.0B

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

$7.4B
$7.2B
$6.6B
$6.3B
$7.0B
$7.4B
$6.4B
$6.6B
$7.1B
$7.1B
$6.7B
$7.0B
$7.5B
$7.6B
$6.7B
$7.1B
$7.8B
$7.9B
$7.0B
$7.8B

GSK plc · GSK

$6.6B
$7.1B
$7.2B
$6.9B
$7.8B
$7.4B
$7.0B
$7.2B
$8.1B
$8.1B
$7.4B
$7.9B
$8.0B
$8.1B
$7.5B
$8.0B
$8.5B
$8.6B
$7.6B
$8.4B

Johnson & Johnson · JNJ

$23.3B
$23.3B
$24.8B
$23.4B
$20.0B
$20.9B
$21.5B
$21.4B
$21.4B
$22.4B
$22.5B
$22.5B
$21.9B
$23.7B
$24.0B
$24.6B
$24.1B
$25.3B

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

$13.2B
$13.5B
$15.9B
$14.6B
$15.0B
$13.8B
$14.5B
$15.0B
$16.0B
$14.6B
$15.8B
$16.1B
$16.7B
$15.6B
$15.5B
$15.8B
$17.3B
$16.4B
$16.3B
$16.6B

Novartis AG · NVS

$13.4B
$13.5B
$12.8B
$10.8B
$11.0B
$11.0B
$11.7B
$12.1B
$11.8B
$12.1B
$12.9B
$13.2B
$13.6B
$13.6B
$14.8B
$14.4B
$13.9B
$13.5B
$15.0B

Pfizer Inc. · PFE

$18.9B
$24.0B
$25.7B
$27.7B
$22.6B
$18.5B
$13.0B
$13.5B
$14.9B
$13.3B
$17.7B
$17.8B
$13.7B
$14.7B
$16.7B
$17.6B
$14.5B
$15.0B

Sanofi · SNY

$10.8B
$10.4B
$10.1B
$10.7B
$13.1B
$11.5B
$9.5B
$10.7B
$11.5B
$12.2B
$9.7B
$11.4B
$13.0B
$11.4B
$10.6B
$10.7B
$13.2B
$12.2B
$11.2B
$12.3B

Revenue growth · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 16 companies with a series here. The remaining 4 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

AbbVie Inc. · ABBV

4.5%
3.3%
1.6%
-9.7%
-4.9%
-6.0%
-5.4%
0.7%
4.3%
3.8%
5.6%
8.4%
6.7%
9.1%
10%
12%
10%

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

1.0%
-0.8%
-0.1%
-2.1%
5.9%
3.8%
20%
22%
20%
23%
11%
9.4%
9.4%
12%
8.6%
5.8%
9.5%

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

31%
11%
-6.7%
-4.5%
6.0%
4.6%
7.3%
17%
13%
18%
24%
7.2%
12%
12%
4.1%
13%
6.4%

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

1.6%
-3.5%
-4.8%
-2.7%
-5.6%
-2.3%
0.6%
4.7%
8.7%
8.4%
7.5%
-5.6%
0.6%
2.8%
1.3%
2.6%
5.7%

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

-3.7%
2.5%
-8.7%
-11%
28%
37%
28%
26%
36%
20%
45%
45%
38%
54%
43%
56%
48%

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

0.7%
-5.1%
2.0%
-3.6%
5.4%
0.1%
-3.7%
5.3%
5.4%
7.0%
6.4%
-0.3%
1.8%
3.0%
4.7%
4.4%
10%

GSK plc · GSK

19%
18%
4.2%
-3.3%
3.6%
4.1%
9.2%
5.9%
9.8%
-1.7%
0.8%
2.1%
1.3%
6.7%
6.2%
1.5%
5.3%

Johnson & Johnson · JNJ

-14%
-11%
6.8%
7.4%
4.4%
5.5%
2.4%
5.8%
6.8%
9.1%
9.9%
6.6%

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

28%
14%
2.3%
-8.9%
3.0%
6.7%
5.8%
8.9%
7.2%
4.4%
6.8%
-1.6%
-1.9%
3.7%
5.0%
4.9%
5.1%

Novartis AG · NVS

-19%
-19%
-14%
12%
7.4%
9.7%
9.6%
8.9%
15%
12%
15%
9.0%
2.2%
-0.7%
0.8%

Pfizer Inc. · PFE

47%
-5.8%
-28%
-53%
-40%
-28%
36%
32%
-7.8%
10%
-5.9%
-1.2%
5.4%
2.6%

Sanofi · SNY

19%
21%
10%
-5.8%
-0.6%
-12%
6.5%
2.7%
6.5%
12%
-6.4%
9.1%
-5.7%
1.5%
6.9%
6.0%
15%
06 · compare level, then change

Operating Economics & Margin Trend

Eli Lilly and Company has the highest OPM among the 16 Drug Manufacturers - General companies compared here, at 54.2%. AbbVie Inc. is next at 40%. Amarin Corporation plc has the highest Margin change at +14.8 percentage points, so level and change sit with different companies. 16 of 16 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Jun 2026.

What the numbers say: Eli Lilly and Company leads opm at 54.2%; Amarin Corporation plc leads margin change at +14.8 percentage points.

LeaderEli Lilly and Company · 54.2%
Gap35.5% versus #2 · AbbVie Inc.
Persistence8/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage16/16 companies · 312 observations

Investor read: Eli Lilly and Company sets the level benchmark; use the change leader as an inflection watch only after another comparable report confirms it.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current margin change signal.

Operating margin compares operating profit with revenue. Improvement is measured in percentage points, not percentage growth.
OPMhighest
2AbbVie Inc. ABBV40%
3Amgen Inc. AMGN36%
4Novartis AG NVS35%
Margin changefastest expanders
4Amgen Inc. AMGN+2.9 pp
5AbbVie Inc. ABBV+2.5 pp
Operating margin · company comparison
16/16 level · 16/16 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyOPMMargin changeReported
Eli Lilly and Company LLY54%+9.1 ppJun 2026
AbbVie Inc. ABBV40%+2.5 ppJun 2026
Amgen Inc. AMGN36%+2.9 ppJun 2026
Novartis AG NVS35%+0.8 ppJun 2026
Gilead Sciences, Inc. GILD34%−5.5 ppJun 2026
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company BMY31%+12.5 ppJun 2026
Johnson & Johnson JNJ29%+0.9 ppJun 2026
AstraZeneca PLC AZN24%−0.8 ppJun 2026
Organon & Co. OGN16%+0.7 ppMar 2026
Grifols, S.A. GRFS15%−0.3 ppJun 2026
Sanofi SNY8.5%−5.2 ppJun 2026
GSK plc GSK5.7%−19.6 ppJun 2026
Biogen Inc. BIIB5.6%−24.9 ppJun 2026
Merck & Co., Inc. MRK-0.2%−37.7 ppJun 2026
Pfizer Inc. PFE-4.3%−25.1 ppJun 2026
Amarin Corporation plc AMRN-25%+14.8 ppMar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

OPM · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 16 companies with a series here. The remaining 4 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

AbbVie Inc. · ABBV

34%
46%
39%
39%
34%
40%
30%
36%
33%
31%
27%
35%
29%
33%
30%
38%
36%
34%
32%
40%

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

35%
34%
40%
33%
40%
31%
34%
38%
27%
39%
24%
31%
32%
29%
29%
33%
34%
31%
34%
36%

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

-5.1%
31%
13%
5.0%
11%
51%
23%
22%
17%
28%
25%
21%
16%
33%
27%
24%
24%
22%
28%
24%

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

15%
19%
20%
19%
18%
14%
21%
16%
17%
11%
-96%
13%
16%
3.9%
30%
19%
25%
11%
29%
31%

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

32%
31%
34%
27%
29%
30%
25%
28%
37%
34%
31%
39%
40%
39%
42%
45%
48%
45%
49%
54%

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

50%
40%
44%
38%
47%
32%
34%
29%
39%
36%
34%
39%
42%
33%
39%
39%
45%
37%
39%
34%

GSK plc · GSK

21%
7.0%
32%
16%
15%
25%
30%
30%
24%
7.1%
20%
21%
2.4%
8.6%
30%
25%
30%
13%
30%
5.7%

Johnson & Johnson · JNJ

27%
29%
20%
29%
28%
31%
29%
30%
30%
29%
25%
18%
29%
28%
30%
24%
27%
29%

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

38%
27%
37%
36%
34%
31%
36%
39%
38%
-4.5%
43%
40%
26%
52%
40%
38%
41%
33%
39%
-0.2%

Novartis AG · NVS

24%
33%
23%
18%
44%
19%
25%
14%
52%
28%
31%
28%
39%
35%
34%
32%
28%
31%
35%

Pfizer Inc. · PFE

37%
33%
35%
41%
40%
34%
17%
-25%
23%
-0.8%
27%
-0.1%
20%
21%
20%
-9.4%
22%
-4.3%

Sanofi · SNY

28%
14%
24%
13%
21%
36%
22%
17%
26%
2.8%
13%
14%
27%
8.3%
22%
14%
28%
-8.5%
19%
8.5%

Margin change · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 16 companies with a series here. The remaining 4 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

AbbVie Inc. · ABBV

+7.5 pp
−0.2 pp
−5.2 pp
−8.5 pp
−3.7 pp
−1.2 pp
−9.1 pp
−2.6 pp
−1.0 pp
−4.2 pp
+1.2 pp
+3.0 pp
+2.9 pp
+6.9 pp
+1.6 pp
+1.8 pp
+2.5 pp

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

+20.3 pp
+4.6 pp
−3.1 pp
−6.0 pp
+5.1 pp
−12.8 pp
+7.7 pp
−10.4 pp
−7.5 pp
+4.7 pp
−10.4 pp
+5.2 pp
+2.0 pp
+2.4 pp
+1.9 pp
+5.1 pp
+2.9 pp

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

−8.7 pp
+16.4 pp
+20.2 pp
+10.0 pp
+16.5 pp
+5.7 pp
−23.0 pp
+1.2 pp
−0.3 pp
−1.5 pp
+5.5 pp
+2.0 pp
+3.1 pp
+8.6 pp
−11.7 pp
+1.3 pp
−0.8 pp

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

+5.6 pp
+3.4 pp
−4.4 pp
+0.7 pp
−3.4 pp
−1.3 pp
−3.0 pp
−117.2 pp
−2.7 pp
−1.0 pp
−7.5 pp
+125.9 pp
+5.7 pp
+8.5 pp
+7.5 pp
−1.0 pp
+12.5 pp

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

+6.1 pp
−2.1 pp
−0.3 pp
−9.5 pp
+1.2 pp
+7.9 pp
+3.9 pp
+6.6 pp
+11.0 pp
+2.5 pp
+5.3 pp
+10.5 pp
+6.0 pp
+8.5 pp
+5.5 pp
+7.7 pp
+9.1 pp

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

+1.6 pp
−3.2 pp
−7.2 pp
−9.8 pp
−8.8 pp
−8.6 pp
+3.2 pp
0.0 pp
+9.8 pp
+3.6 pp
−2.3 pp
+4.1 pp
+0.5 pp
+3.1 pp
+4.2 pp
+0.8 pp
−5.5 pp

GSK plc · GSK

−6.2 pp
−5.6 pp
+18.3 pp
−1.9 pp
+14.2 pp
+8.7 pp
−18.2 pp
−9.8 pp
−8.9 pp
−21.5 pp
+1.5 pp
+9.3 pp
+4.4 pp
+27.9 pp
+4.2 pp
+0.6 pp
−19.6 pp

Johnson & Johnson · JNJ

−1.0 pp
+1.9 pp
+1.6 pp
−1.6 pp
−4.9 pp
−11.7 pp
−0.6 pp
−0.7 pp
+5.7 pp
+5.8 pp
−1.5 pp
+0.9 pp

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

+21.5 pp
−4.0 pp
+4.7 pp
−1.1 pp
+3.4 pp
+3.8 pp
−35.8 pp
+7.0 pp
+0.5 pp
−11.9 pp
+56.3 pp
−2.4 pp
−2.1 pp
+14.6 pp
−19.0 pp
−1.5 pp
−37.7 pp

Novartis AG · NVS

−5.9 pp
+11.8 pp
−3.7 pp
−4.1 pp
+7.1 pp
+9.1 pp
+6.2 pp
+13.8 pp
−12.4 pp
+6.5 pp
+2.8 pp
+4.3 pp
−11.3 pp
−4.0 pp
+0.8 pp

Pfizer Inc. · PFE

+4.5 pp
+7.2 pp
−1.4 pp
−23.9 pp
−64.6 pp
−34.7 pp
+9.2 pp
+24.7 pp
−2.7 pp
+21.6 pp
−6.6 pp
−9.3 pp
+1.6 pp
−25.1 pp

Sanofi · SNY

−3.9 pp
−7.4 pp
+21.6 pp
−1.9 pp
+4.1 pp
+5.6 pp
−33.0 pp
−9.2 pp
−3.4 pp
+1.0 pp
+5.5 pp
+8.8 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.2 pp
−16.8 pp
−2.6 pp
−5.2 pp
07 · compare level, then change

Profit Scale & Acceleration

Eli Lilly and Company has the highest Net profit among the 16 Drug Manufacturers - General companies compared here, at $26,712 million. Johnson & Johnson is next at $21,037 million. The same company also holds the highest Profit growth, at 93.6%. 15 of 16 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Jun 2026.

What the numbers say: Eli Lilly and Company leads with $26,712 million of TTM profit, 27% above Johnson & Johnson. Eli Lilly and Company shows 93.6% growth from a $26,712 million profit base. Compare the size of the base and persistence before ranking acceleration above profit scale.

LeaderEli Lilly and Company · $26,712 million
Gap27% versus #2 · Johnson & Johnson
Persistence8/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage15/16 companies · 312 observations

Investor read: Eli Lilly and Company sets the level benchmark; use the change leader as an inflection watch only after another comparable report confirms it.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current profit growth signal.

Net profit is the residual after operating costs, interest and tax. Growth off a loss or near-zero base is excluded from the fastest-grower rank.
Net profitlargest
3Novartis AG NVS$12.7B
4AstraZeneca PLC AZN$10.4B
Profit growthfastest growers
3AbbVie Inc. ABBV68%
4Amgen Inc. AMGN32%
5GSK plc GSK32%
Net profit · company comparison
15/16 level · 14/16 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyNet profitProfit growthReported
Eli Lilly and Company LLY$7.1B25%Jun 2026
Johnson & Johnson JNJ$5.5B-0.1%Jun 2026
AbbVie Inc. ABBV$3.6B288%Jun 2026
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company BMY$3.3B153%Jun 2026
Novartis AG NVS$3.3B-19%Jun 2026
AstraZeneca PLC AZN$2.5B2.3%Jun 2026
Amgen Inc. AMGN$2.4B66%Jun 2026
GSK plc GSK$553M-66%Jun 2026
Sanofi SNY$386M-68%Jun 2026
Organon & Co. OGN$146M68%Mar 2026
Biogen Inc. BIIB$98M-85%Jun 2026
Grifols, S.A. GRFS$88M-4.4%Jun 2026
Amarin Corporation plc AMRN$-11M-800%Mar 2026
Pfizer Inc. PFE$-246M-108%Jun 2026
Merck & Co., Inc. MRK$-1.3B-130%Jun 2026
Gilead Sciences, Inc. GILD$-10.5B-636%Jun 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

Net profit · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 16 companies with a series here. The remaining 4 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

AbbVie Inc. · ABBV

$3.2B
$4.0B
$4.5B
$913M
$3.9B
$2.5B
$228M
$2.0B
$1.8B
$811M
$1.4B
$1.4B
$1.6B
$-32M
$1.3B
$928M
$176M
$1.8B
$687M
$3.6B

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

$1.9B
$1.9B
$1.5B
$1.3B
$2.1B
$1.6B
$2.8B
$1.4B
$1.7B
$767M
$-113M
$746M
$2.8B
$627M
$1.7B
$1.4B
$3.2B
$1.3B
$1.8B
$2.4B

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

$-1.7B
$-347M
$386M
$360M
$1.6B
$901M
$1.8B
$1.8B
$1.4B
$960M
$2.2B
$1.9B
$1.4B
$1.5B
$2.9B
$2.5B
$2.5B
$2.3B
$3.1B
$2.5B

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

$1.6B
$2.4B
$1.3B
$1.4B
$1.6B
$2.0B
$2.3B
$2.1B
$1.9B
$1.8B
$-11.9B
$1.7B
$1.2B
$76M
$2.5B
$1.3B
$2.2B
$1.1B
$2.7B
$3.3B

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

$1.1B
$1.7B
$1.9B
$953M
$1.5B
$1.9B
$1.3B
$1.8B
$-57M
$2.2B
$2.2B
$3.0B
$970M
$4.4B
$2.8B
$5.7B
$5.6B
$6.6B
$7.4B
$7.1B

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

$2.6B
$382M
$19M
$1.1B
$1.8B
$1.6B
$1.0B
$1.0B
$2.2B
$1.4B
$-4.2B
$1.6B
$1.3B
$1.8B
$1.3B
$2.0B
$3.1B
$2.2B
$2.0B
$-10.5B

GSK plc · GSK

$946M
$420M
$1.8B
$746M
$779M
$1.6B
$1.6B
$1.7B
$1.5B
$398M
$1.1B
$1.3B
$65M
$501M
$1.8B
$1.6B
$2.1B
$727M
$1.8B
$553M

Johnson & Johnson · JNJ

$6.3B
$3.7B
$4.7B
$5.1B
$4.5B
$-68M
$5.1B
$26.0B
$3.3B
$4.7B
$2.7B
$3.4B
$11.0B
$5.5B
$5.2B
$5.1B
$5.2B
$5.5B

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

$4.6B
$3.8B
$4.3B
$3.9B
$3.3B
$3.0B
$2.8B
$-6.0B
$4.8B
$-1.2B
$4.8B
$5.5B
$3.2B
$3.7B
$5.1B
$4.4B
$5.8B
$3.0B
$-4.2B
$-1.3B

Novartis AG · NVS

$2.8B
$16.3B
$2.2B
$1.6B
$1.5B
$2.3B
$2.3B
$1.8B
$8.5B
$2.7B
$3.2B
$3.2B
$2.8B
$3.6B
$4.0B
$3.9B
$2.4B
$3.2B
$3.3B

Pfizer Inc. · PFE

$5.8B
$8.2B
$7.9B
$9.9B
$8.6B
$5.6B
$2.3B
$-2.4B
$3.1B
$31M
$4.5B
$411M
$3.0B
$2.9B
$3.6B
$-1.6B
$2.7B
$-246M

Sanofi · SNY

$2.3B
$1.1B
$2.0B
$1.2B
$2.1B
$3.2B
$1.8B
$1.5B
$2.3B
$-430M
$1.0B
$1.1B
$2.7B
$680M
$1.7B
$1.2B
$2.8B
$-569M
$1.6B
$386M

Profit growth · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 16 companies with a series here. The remaining 4 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

AbbVie Inc. · ABBV

19%
24%
-39%
-95%
120%
-55%
-67%
496%
-32%
-12%
-104%
-6.1%
-32%
-89%
-46%
288%

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

184%
14%
-15%
92%
4.7%
-19%
-53%
-104%
-46%
64%
-18%
92%
14%
113%
5.1%
66%

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

-35%
367%
405%
-16%
6.6%
21%
6.0%
4.0%
56%
34%
27%
77%
55%
5.6%
2.3%

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

35%
3.6%
-15%
77%
45%
20%
-13%
-625%
-19%
-37%
-96%
-22%
81%
1,328%
8.8%
153%

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

-31%
31%
12%
-29%
85%
-104%
13%
67%
68%
101%
23%
91%
476%
51%
168%
25%

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

-25%
-31%
329%
5,216%
-8.7%
22%
-13%
-513%
54%
-43%
25%
21%
144%
22%
54%
-636%

GSK plc · GSK

-41%
-18%
287%
-7.9%
134%
97%
-76%
-34%
-25%
-96%
26%
64%
26%
3,198%
45%
3.8%
-66%

Johnson & Johnson · JNJ

22%
-101%
484%
-48%
-87%
238%
18%
91%
49%
-52%
-0.1%

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

225%
-29%
-20%
-34%
-251%
46%
-141%
69%
-33%
6.7%
-19%
83%
-21%
-183%
-130%

Novartis AG · NVS

-43%
-91%
3.4%
12%
478%
17%
40%
81%
-67%
34%
24%
23%
-15%
-13%
-19%

Pfizer Inc. · PFE

70%
5.8%
-29%
-76%
-128%
-99%
92%
-5.0%
9,265%
-21%
-499%
-8.9%
-108%

Sanofi · SNY

-0.8%
-12%
182%
-11%
27%
10%
-114%
-41%
-28%
20%
63%
9.2%
3.6%
-184%
-5.6%
-68%
08 · compare level, then change

Return On Capital Employed

Eli Lilly and Company has the highest ROCE among the 16 Drug Manufacturers - General companies compared here, at 41.7%. Gilead Sciences, Inc. is next at 30.9%. Johnson & Johnson has the highest ROCE change at +13.6 percentage points, so level and change sit with different companies. 16 of 16 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Jun 2026.

What the numbers say: Eli Lilly and Company leads ROCE at 41.7%, 10.8 percentage points above Gilead Sciences, Inc.. Johnson & Johnson has the strongest latest improvement at +13.6 percentage points. Read the leader beside the density of its reported history: a sparse high return is a candidate; a repeated high return is evidence of durability.

LeaderEli Lilly and Company · 41.7%
Gap35% versus #2 · Gilead Sciences, Inc.
Persistence8/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage16/16 companies · 311 observations

Investor read: Eli Lilly and Company sets the level benchmark; use the change leader as an inflection watch only after another comparable report confirms it.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current roce change signal.

ROCE asks how much operating return the business earns on the capital employed. Direction matters, but a single exceptional year should not be mistaken for durability.
ROCE changefastest improvers
1Johnson & Johnson JNJ+13.6 pp
4AbbVie Inc. ABBV+5.1 pp
Return on capital · company comparison
16/16 level · 16/16 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyROCEROCE changeReported
Eli Lilly and Company LLY42%+5.8 ppJun 2026
Gilead Sciences, Inc. GILD31%+6.1 ppJun 2026
AbbVie Inc. ABBV25%+5.1 ppJun 2026
Novartis AG NVS20%−6.1 ppJun 2026
Johnson & Johnson JNJ19%+13.6 ppJun 2026
Merck & Co., Inc. MRK18%−8.6 ppJun 2026
Amgen Inc. AMGN18%+2.4 ppJun 2026
AstraZeneca PLC AZN18%−0.3 ppJun 2026
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company BMY5.9%+2.6 ppJun 2026
Organon & Co. OGN2.2%−0.1 ppMar 2026
Grifols, S.A. GRFS1.8%−0.1 ppJun 2026
GSK plc GSK1.2%−4.1 ppJun 2026
Sanofi SNY1.1%−0.4 ppJun 2026
Biogen Inc. BIIB0.6%−2.7 ppJun 2026
Pfizer Inc. PFE-0.4%−2.2 ppJun 2026
Amarin Corporation plc AMRN-2.4%+0.8 ppMar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

ROCE · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 16 companies with a series here. The remaining 4 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

AbbVie Inc. · ABBV

17%
19%
20%
21%
21%
20%
19%
19%
19%
18%
16%
17%
17%
18%
18%
19%
22%
23%
23%
25%

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

18%
19%
21%
20%
20%
19%
12%
13%
12%
12%
13%
14%
15%
14%
15%
16%
16%
18%
18%
18%

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

2.7%
6.5%
7.5%
7.0%
10%
13%
14%
17%
19%
15%
15%
15%
14%
17%
17%
18%
20%
17%
18%
18%

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

1.8%
2.4%
2.7%
2.6%
2.5%
2.0%
3.0%
2.3%
2.6%
1.8%
-15%
2.2%
2.8%
0.7%
4.7%
3.3%
4.3%
2.1%
4.8%
5.9%

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

24%
25%
27%
29%
28%
27%
21%
23%
27%
29%
26%
31%
29%
34%
33%
36%
35%
38%
43%
42%

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

23%
21%
22%
22%
22%
21%
20%
20%
18%
18%
22%
24%
25%
23%
25%
25%
25%
25%
26%
31%

GSK plc · GSK

2.4%
0.9%
3.7%
2.0%
2.5%
4.0%
4.0%
4.8%
5.0%
1.5%
3.9%
4.4%
0.5%
1.8%
5.6%
5.3%
6.8%
2.8%
5.7%
1.2%

Johnson & Johnson · JNJ

18%
18%
19%
14%
8.9%
13%
16%
19%
19%
18%
17%
16%
5.0%
17%
18%
19%
19%

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

20%
19%
22%
23%
24%
24%
23%
25%
26%
20%
22%
21%
19%
29%
28%
27%
27%
23%
24%
18%

Novartis AG · NVS

15%
13%
14%
10%
11%
11%
15%
18%
17%
22%
22%
23%
22%
26%
26%
26%
22%
20%
20%

Pfizer Inc. · PFE

5.6%
6.5%
8.1%
6.2%
4.1%
1.4%
-2.0%
2.0%
-0.1%
2.6%
0.0%
1.6%
1.8%
1.9%
-1.0%
1.8%
-0.4%

Sanofi · SNY

3.1%
1.5%
2.5%
1.5%
2.7%
4.1%
2.1%
1.9%
3.0%
0.3%
1.2%
1.6%
3.4%
0.9%
2.3%
1.5%
3.6%
-1.0%
2.1%
1.1%

ROCE change · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 16 companies with a series here. The remaining 4 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

AbbVie Inc. · ABBV

+4.0 pp
+1.4 pp
−0.4 pp
−1.7 pp
−2.0 pp
−2.0 pp
−3.0 pp
−1.7 pp
−2.1 pp
−0.1 pp
+1.9 pp
+2.0 pp
+4.6 pp
+5.2 pp
+5.1 pp
+5.1 pp

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

+1.6 pp
0.0 pp
−8.7 pp
−7.1 pp
−7.7 pp
−6.7 pp
+0.8 pp
+0.5 pp
+2.6 pp
+1.6 pp
+2.5 pp
+2.3 pp
+1.9 pp
+3.8 pp
+2.6 pp
+2.4 pp

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

+7.4 pp
+6.3 pp
+6.5 pp
+10.0 pp
+8.6 pp
+1.8 pp
+0.8 pp
−2.3 pp
−4.4 pp
+2.4 pp
+2.6 pp
+3.3 pp
+5.3 pp
−0.1 pp
+0.8 pp
−0.3 pp

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

+0.7 pp
−0.4 pp
+0.3 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.1 pp
−0.2 pp
−18.4 pp
−0.1 pp
+0.2 pp
−1.1 pp
+20.1 pp
+1.1 pp
+1.5 pp
+1.4 pp
+0.1 pp
+2.6 pp

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

+4.1 pp
+2.2 pp
−6.7 pp
−5.4 pp
−0.6 pp
+2.7 pp
+5.3 pp
+7.9 pp
+1.9 pp
+4.5 pp
+7.1 pp
+4.9 pp
+5.8 pp
+4.3 pp
+9.4 pp
+5.8 pp

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

−1.0 pp
−0.1 pp
−1.9 pp
−1.9 pp
−3.8 pp
−2.8 pp
+1.9 pp
+3.7 pp
+6.8 pp
+4.4 pp
+3.0 pp
+0.9 pp
−0.4 pp
+2.3 pp
+0.8 pp
+6.1 pp

GSK plc · GSK

+0.1 pp
+3.1 pp
+0.3 pp
+2.8 pp
+2.5 pp
−2.5 pp
−0.1 pp
−0.4 pp
−4.5 pp
+0.3 pp
+1.7 pp
+0.9 pp
+6.3 pp
+1.0 pp
+0.1 pp
−4.1 pp

Johnson & Johnson · JNJ

−4.6 pp
−9.6 pp
+2.2 pp
+10.0 pp
+4.9 pp
+1.6 pp
−2.9 pp
−13.9 pp
−1.0 pp
+0.9 pp
+2.2 pp
+13.6 pp

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

+3.7 pp
+5.0 pp
+1.7 pp
+1.9 pp
+2.1 pp
−3.8 pp
−1.1 pp
−3.9 pp
−6.5 pp
+8.5 pp
+5.6 pp
+5.5 pp
+7.9 pp
−6.2 pp
−3.7 pp
−8.6 pp

Novartis AG · NVS

−4.7 pp
−1.8 pp
−3.2 pp
+7.7 pp
+6.4 pp
+10.7 pp
+6.7 pp
+4.7 pp
+4.9 pp
+4.2 pp
+4.1 pp
+3.4 pp
−0.5 pp
−5.6 pp
−6.1 pp

Pfizer Inc. · PFE

+0.6 pp
−2.4 pp
−6.7 pp
−8.2 pp
−4.2 pp
+1.2 pp
+2.0 pp
−0.4 pp
+1.9 pp
−0.7 pp
−1.0 pp
+0.2 pp
−2.2 pp

Sanofi · SNY

−0.4 pp
+2.6 pp
−0.4 pp
+0.4 pp
+0.3 pp
−3.8 pp
−0.9 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.4 pp
+0.6 pp
+1.1 pp
−0.1 pp
+0.2 pp
−1.9 pp
−0.2 pp
−0.4 pp
09 · compare level, then change

Valuation Against Growth & Quality

Organon & Co. has the lowest PEG among the 16 Drug Manufacturers - General companies compared here, at 0.17×. Biogen Inc. is next at 0.38×. The same company also holds the lowest P/E, at 6.44×. 10 of 16 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Mar 2026.

What the numbers say: Organon & Co. has the lowest comparable PEG at 0.17×, 55.3% below Biogen Inc.. Only 10 of 16 companies have earnings and growth steady enough for the ratio to mean anything, so no broad “cheapest stock” conclusion is defensible unless the current multiple, own-history position and growth durability agree.

LeaderOrganon & Co. · 0.17×
Gap55.3% versus #2 · Biogen Inc.
Persistence0/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage10/16 companies · 47 observations

Investor read: Treat valuation as permission to investigate, never as a standalone reason to buy.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current p/e signal.

PEG is shown only when earnings are positive and three-year EPS growth is between 5% and 60%. It is recomputed consistently as the trailing P/E divided by that growth rate — reported earnings, never an expected-earnings multiple. On Indian companies it is shown only where the two data feeds agreed. Where any of that fails the ratio is left out rather than printed: a P/E divided by a loss, or by growth measured off a tiny base, is a number that looks precise and means nothing.
PEGlowest PEG
2Biogen Inc. BIIB0.4
3GSK plc GSK0.4
5Sanofi SNY0.6
P/Elowest P/E
2Grifols, S.A. GRFS7.5
5GSK plc GSK16.8
Valuation · company comparison
10/16 level · 16/16 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyPEGP/EReported
Eli Lilly and Company LLY8.640.0Jun 2026
Novartis AG NVS2.322.5Jun 2026
Merck & Co., Inc. MRK1.814.3Jun 2026
AstraZeneca PLC AZN1.127.8Jun 2026
Amgen Inc. AMGN0.722.4Jun 2026
Grifols, S.A. GRFS0.77.5Jun 2026
Sanofi SNY0.622.9Jun 2026
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company BMY0.512.7Jun 2026
GSK plc GSK0.416.8Jun 2026
Biogen Inc. BIIB0.438.2Jun 2026
Gilead Sciences, Inc. GILD0.318.8Jun 2026
Organon & Co. OGN0.26.4Mar 2026
Johnson & Johnson JNJ29.1Jun 2026
AbbVie Inc. ABBV70.9Jun 2026
Pfizer Inc. PFE32.0Jun 2026
Amarin Corporation plc AMRN168.5Mar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

PEG · reported quarter history

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

0.4
0.6
1.5
0.5
0.8
0.7

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

1.0
3.9
1.6
1.3
0.9
0.6
0.6
0.9
1.1

Biogen Inc. · BIIB

0.5
1.7
0.3
0.5
0.4

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

0.9
0.7
0.5
0.4
0.5

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

4.6
14.4
8.6

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

0.8
0.5
0.8
0.3

Grifols, S.A. · GRFS

0.7

GSK plc · GSK

0.4

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

0.6
0.2
1.8

Novartis AG · NVS

0.9
2.3

Organon & Co. · OGN

0.3
0.1
0.2

Sanofi · SNY

0.6
0.5
0.3
0.5
0.6

P/E · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 16 companies with a series here. The remaining 4 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

AbbVie Inc. · ABBV

25.5
20.9
23.1
21.5
17.8
24.3
37.3
27.5
40.7
56.8
54.2
57.2
68.7
89.2
88.1
174.2
96.5
107.0
70.9

Amgen Inc. · AMGN

21.5
21.5
23.5
19.8
17.6
21.4
16.3
14.9
19.0
23.0
53.6
40.9
34.3
28.2
22.7
21.7
22.9
24.3
22.4

AstraZeneca PLC · AZN

-194.1
-162.3
84.2
63.7
45.8
36.0
35.6
35.1
33.0
37.6
37.1
28.9
29.0
25.9
24.8
28.2
29.0
27.8

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company · BMY

20.0
25.9
25.6
23.2
24.4
20.2
17.0
14.7
13.3
22.8
18.7
15.2
15.6
17.0
12.7

Eli Lilly and Company · LLY

35.1
44.9
42.2
51.3
50.9
55.7
54.5
68.5
100.0
114.2
111.0
95.3
65.6
66.8
50.7
37.2
46.6
32.6
40.0

Gilead Sciences, Inc. · GILD

11.9
14.6
16.5
18.7
23.2
23.5
18.6
17.5
15.9
17.8
81.2
828.4
239.8
23.4
21.9
17.0
17.9
18.8

GSK plc · GSK

13.3
15.1
13.1
15.9
3.9
4.0
4.2
3.9
10.0
12.1
15.6
15.5
25.1
21.7
19.6
16.9
12.0
13.1
14.6
16.8

Johnson & Johnson · JNJ

23.6
21.6
23.6
30.0
45.1
13.0
9.9
9.3
26.5
24.8
18.1
16.2
17.2
18.7
27.5
29.1

Merck & Co., Inc. · MRK

26.4
14.8
14.6
13.9
14.3
19.4
20.7
56.7
144.9
22.8
23.7
14.7
13.0
12.1
11.0
14.3

Novartis AG · NVS

18.8
8.2
8.2
8.4
37.0
39.2
27.6
27.1
14.0
13.9
13.5
13.2
16.4
16.3
17.4
16.9
19.0
21.2
22.5

Pfizer Inc. · PFE

12.4
11.7
10.2
8.4
8.0
9.8
18.1
39.3
18.8
18.3
12.9
13.8
18.3
20.6
32.0

Sanofi · SNY

16.9
17.8
17.4
18.0
15.2
13.6
15.0
14.3
14.0
20.9
24.8
26.9
28.7
20.9
20.3
11.1
10.8
13.0
13.4
22.9
10 · before the conclusion, check the blind spots

What can make this comparison misleading?

This Drug Manufacturers - General comparison names 4 specific ways its own evidence can mislead, all listed below. All 16 companies here report on comparable dates, so no rank carries a stale marker. A high growth rate can still be a low-base artefact.

Keep these limits visible

  • A high growth rate can be a low-base artefact. The page keeps level and change separate for that reason.
  • A high ROCE can be temporary or flattered by a small capital base. Read it beside margin, cash conversion and reinvestment.
  • The 4-Factor Sector Score ranks research priority, not portfolio action. Management quality, catalysts and risks need equally fresh evidence before capital is deployed.
  • An “all companies” line chart preserves completeness, but rank changes should be checked against reporting dates before drawing a conclusion.
11 · evidence and freshness

How was this comparison built?

This comparison is built from the reported filings of 16 Drug Manufacturers - General companies, normalized to a common $ scale and a shared quarter axis of up to 20 quarters each. Fundamentals run through Jun 2026 and market data through 2026-09-16. A second data feed fills gaps only after identity and scale reconciliation, and missing observations are never interpolated.

FundamentalsThrough Jun 2026 · up to 20 quarters per company
Market dataThrough 2026-09-16 · weekly price and relative-strength history
Derived metricsGrowth, changes and PEG are calculated only when their inputs are comparable.
Score confidenceMissing and stale evidence reduces confidence and pulls the 0–100 research-priority score toward neutral.
12 · questions investors ask, short speakable answers

Drug Manufacturers - General company comparison FAQs

These 22 answers restate the Drug Manufacturers - General comparison above in question form. Every one is computed from the same 16 companies and the same reported filings as the rankings and charts, current through Jun 2026. Price and relative-strength answers run through 2026-09-16. Nothing here is estimated, and none of it is a recommendation.

Is the Drug Manufacturers - General sector outperforming S&P 500?

Drug Manufacturers - General has outperformed S&P 500 by 8% over 52 weeks and 5.4% over 13 weeks. 9 of 16 covered companies beat the S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength, while 9 of 16 beat the sector itself.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General company is largest by revenue?

Johnson & Johnson leads with revenue of $97,929 million, based on 15 of 16 comparable companies through Jun 2026.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General company is growing fastest?

Eli Lilly and Company has the fastest current revenue growth at 49.6%, across 15 of 16 comparable companies.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General company has the strongest 4-Factor Sector Score?

AbbVie Inc. ranks first at 75.2/100 with 75.3% evidence confidence. The score prioritizes research; it is not a buy recommendation.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General company has the lowest comparable PEG?

Organon & Co. has the lowest comparable PEG at 0.17, among 10 of 16 companies whose earnings and growth are steady enough for the ratio to mean anything.

How much history does this Drug Manufacturers - General comparison include?

The page compares up to 20 reported quarters per company for fundamentals, returns and valuation, ending Jun 2026. Missing observations remain blank rather than being estimated.

How is the 4-Factor Sector Score calculated?

The four visible contributions add directly: growth and earnings up to 35 points, capital efficiency up to 25, valuation up to 20, and relative strength up to 20. Missing or stale evidence moves only the affected contribution toward neutral.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General company is the biggest?

Johnson & Johnson is the largest, with trailing-twelve-month revenue of $97,929 million, ahead of Eli Lilly and Company at $79,666 million. That covers 15 of 16 companies with comparable reporting through Jun 2026.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General company has the best profit margins?

Eli Lilly and Company has the highest operating margin at 54.2%, from 16 of 16 comparable companies. Amarin Corporation plc shows the biggest recent improvement, at +14.8 percentage points. A high margin matters most when it is holding or rising, not when it is peaking.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General company makes the most profit?

Eli Lilly and Company earns the most, at $26,712 million of trailing-twelve-month net profit, from 15 of 16 comparable companies. Eli Lilly and Company has the fastest profit growth at 93.6%, though growth off a small or recovering profit base overstates how much has actually changed.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General company earns the highest return on capital?

Eli Lilly and Company leads on return on capital employed at 41.7%, across 16 of 16 companies. Read it beside the length of its reported history: a high return that repeats for years is evidence of a durable business, while a single high reading can be a small capital base or one good year.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General stock is the cheapest?

On PEG — where a LOWER number is cheaper — Organon & Co. screens cheapest at 0.17×. Only 10 of 16 companies have earnings and growth steady enough for the ratio to mean anything, so this is not a sector-wide "cheapest stock" verdict. Cheap on a multiple is a reason to investigate, never a reason to buy on its own.

Is the Drug Manufacturers - General sector beating the market?

Drug Manufacturers - General has outperformed S&P 500 by 8% over the last 52 weeks and 5.4% over 13 weeks, measured on an equal-weight index of its current members. Inside the sector, 9 of 16 covered companies are beating the market on their own. Sector strength does not transfer evenly to every stock in it.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General stock has the strongest price momentum?

Organon & Co. has the strongest relative strength against S&P 500. Relative strength answers last, after growth, quality and valuation: price can move well before the fundamentals confirm it, and sometimes without them confirming at all.

Which Drug Manufacturers - General company scores highest for research priority?

AbbVie Inc. scores 75.2 out of 100 with 75.3% evidence confidence, from 28.8 points on growth and earnings, 20.1 on capital efficiency, 8.7 on valuation and 17.6 on relative strength. This ranks what deserves work next. It is not a buy recommendation, and management quality, catalysts and risk still need separate research.

How many Drug Manufacturers - General companies does this comparison cover, and over what period?

It compares 16 listed companies over up to 20 reported quarters of fundamentals, ending Jun 2026, plus weekly price and relative-strength history. Membership is the full sector list — nothing is dropped for having thin data.

What is the total market cap of the Drug Manufacturers - General sector?

The 16 Drug Manufacturers - General companies on this page carry $3,916,762 million of combined market value. Eli Lilly and Company is the largest at $1,014,204 million, about 26% of the sector's total on its own. Market value moves with price, so this reading is dated 2026-09-16.

What is the Drug Manufacturers - General sector's P/E ratio?

The median price-to-earnings ratio across the 16 Drug Manufacturers - General companies on this page is 22.9×, measured on the 16 that report a comparable figure. A sector-level history for this multiple is not held here, so this is a cross-section of today, not a comparison with the sector’s own past. Figures are as of 2026-09-16.

How is the Drug Manufacturers - General sector performing?

9 of the 16 covered Drug Manufacturers - General companies are beating S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength. The sector itself is 8% ahead of S&P 500 over 52 weeks on an equal-weight index of its current members. Readings are as of 2026-09-16.

How many Drug Manufacturers - General stocks are listed in the US?

This comparison covers 16 listed Drug Manufacturers - General companies in the US, each above the size floor the site applies. The full ranked list is on this page, with reported fundamentals through Jun 2026. Membership is the full industry list — nothing is dropped for having thin data.

Why are some values on this page blank?

A blank means that company did not report a comparable figure for that period, so nothing is shown. Missing observations are never interpolated, carried forward, or replaced with a similar-looking accounting line, and a company with missing evidence has its research score pulled toward neutral rather than being scored as bad.

Is this investment advice?

No. Every figure here is a deterministic calculation from reported company filings and market data, published for research. It contains no recommendation to buy or sell any security, does not account for your circumstances, and is not a substitute for advice from a licensed adviser.

Not SEBI Registered !! Not Investment advice !!

Chat with this pageChat with pageChatChatGPTClaudePerplexityGoogle AI