Sector Alpha Week of 2026-09-16
Not SEBI Registered !! Not Investment advice !!
20-quarter listed-company comparison

Building Materials Stocks

Building Materials: CRH plc owns the largest revenue base; James Hardie Industries plc has the fastest current growth.

01 · the industry itself · before any single company

How has Building Materials moved against S&P 500?

The line below covers up to 5.2 years and opens on the 5Y view; the buttons cut it shorter. Over the most recent two of them this industry is 29% behind S&P 500. Earnings across its companies fell 1% on average over the last four reported quarters.

ASLEEP · 1y −14.4%~Price down, no fundamental support1 of 14 companies ahead of S&P 500 by 5% or more over three months1 is 20% or more behind over a year while earnings grew 20% or more

RS — · 2/14 >200d (−2) · 1/14 lead (−3) · EPS 6/14↑

20050020262025202420232022 455347 TRAILING 12-MONTH EPS · 100 AT THE START0100162Jun 22Dec 22Jun 23Dec 23Jun 24Dec 24Jun 25Dec 25Jun 26Mar 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 9 reportingJun 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 110, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 9 reportingSep 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 119, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 9 reportingDec 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 122, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 9 reportingMar 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 139, against 100 at the start · up 39.0% on a year ago · 9 reportingJun 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 146, against 100 at the start · up 22.9% on a year ago · 9 reportingSep 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 152, against 100 at the start · up 27.6% on a year ago · 9 reportingDec 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 156, against 100 at the start · up 21.1% on a year ago · 9 reportingMar 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 149, against 100 at the start · up 23.5% on a year ago · 9 reportingJun 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 153, against 100 at the start · up 22.0% on a year ago · 9 reportingSep 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 130, against 100 at the start · up 7.3% on a year ago · 10 reportingDec 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 153, against 100 at the start · up 12.8% on a year ago · 10 reportingMar 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 137, against 100 at the start · up 2.9% on a year ago · 12 reportingJun 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 149, against 100 at the start · down 2.6% on a year ago · 11 reportingSep 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 148, against 100 at the start · down 1.0% on a year ago · 11 reportingDec 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 132, against 100 at the start · down 13.8% on a year ago · 11 reportingMar 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 120, against 100 at the start · down 8.1% on a year ago · 12 reportingJun 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 162, against 100 at the start · up 18.4% on a year ago · 4 reporting · thin coverageNot reported yet — earnings trail price by a quarter or two162No earnings on file this far back — the price series reaches further than the filings do
20050020262025202420232022 455347 TRAILING 12-MONTH EPS · 100 AT THE START0100162Jun 22Jun 23Jun 24Jun 25Jun 26Mar 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 9 reportingJun 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 110, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 9 reportingSep 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 119, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 9 reportingDec 2022 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 122, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 9 reportingMar 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 139, against 100 at the start · up 39.0% on a year ago · 9 reportingJun 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 146, against 100 at the start · up 22.9% on a year ago · 9 reportingSep 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 152, against 100 at the start · up 27.6% on a year ago · 9 reportingDec 2023 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 156, against 100 at the start · up 21.1% on a year ago · 9 reportingMar 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 149, against 100 at the start · up 23.5% on a year ago · 9 reportingJun 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 153, against 100 at the start · up 22.0% on a year ago · 9 reportingSep 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 130, against 100 at the start · up 7.3% on a year ago · 10 reportingDec 2024 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 153, against 100 at the start · up 12.8% on a year ago · 10 reportingMar 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 137, against 100 at the start · up 2.9% on a year ago · 12 reportingJun 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 149, against 100 at the start · down 2.6% on a year ago · 11 reportingSep 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 148, against 100 at the start · down 1.0% on a year ago · 11 reportingDec 2025 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 132, against 100 at the start · down 13.8% on a year ago · 11 reportingMar 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 120, against 100 at the start · down 8.1% on a year ago · 12 reportingJun 2026 · trailing 12-month earnings per share at 162, against 100 at the start · up 18.4% on a year ago · 4 reporting · thin coverageNot reported yet — earnings trail price by a quarter or two162No earnings on file this far back — the price series reaches further than the filings do
Building Materials, equal-weighted, based at 200 S&P 500, same base, same start trailing 12-month earnings per share rising falling

Both lines start at 200 in the same week, so the distance between them is the whole story: the industry line is an equal-weighted index of its 14 companies. The bars underneath are trailing 12-month earnings per share, one bar per reported quarter, each member rebased to 100 at the start and the industry taking the median — so a price line pulling away from flat bars is a re-rating, not earnings. A bar turns red when that figure is lower than the quarter before. Rules are fixed and applied identically everywhere on this site: ahead by 5% or more over three months, or behind by 20% or more over a year while earnings grew 20% or more. Hover any point to read both values and the gap. This is a description of what the numbers did, not advice.

02 · sector relative strength, before individual stocks

Is Building Materials outperforming S&P 500?

Building Materials has underperformed S&P 500 by 14.5% over the last 52 weeks. Over 13 weeks the gap is a shortfall of 20.3%. 2 of 14 covered companies currently beat the S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength, so leadership inside the sector is selective. Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. is the strongest against the sector itself at +38.2%.

-20.3%Sector vs S&P 500 · 13 weeks
-14.5%Sector vs S&P 500 · 52 weeks
2/14Stocks leading S&P 500
4/14Stocks leading sector

Sector metric: — as of latest available · unclassified · direction unavailable.

The central tension: the companies with the most scale are not necessarily the companies creating the most change.

Start with scale. Then earnings trajectory. Then business quality. Only after those three agree should price leadership carry much weight.

Bottom line

Building Materials has underperformed S&P 500 by 14.5% over 52 weeks and 20.3% over 13 weeks. 2 of 14 covered companies beat the S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength, while 4 of 14 beat the sector itself. CRH plc leads with revenue of $38,632 million, based on 8 of 14 comparable companies through Jun 2026.

Companies
14
complete canonical membership
Combined market value
$194.8B
CRH plc
Revenue growing
8/8
positive TTM year-on-year growth
Beating S&P 500
2/14
positive Mansfield relative strength
Comparing 5 of 14
03 · research priority, made explicit

4-Factor Sector Score

An additive sector-relative research score. The four displayed point contributions always equal the total: Growth & earnings (35), Capital efficiency (25), Valuation (20), and Relative strength (20). Missing or stale evidence is absorbed inside the affected factor, never applied as a hidden adjustment.

Growth & earnings · 35%Capital efficiency · 25%Valuation · 20%Relative strength · 20%
Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. has the strongest current balance of earnings trajectory, business quality, valuation and price confirmation, with 51.8% evidence confidence.
Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. looks inexpensive relative to peers or its own history, but its earnings trajectory has not yet earned the valuation signal.
United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. has stronger price confirmation than earnings confirmation; that is a research prompt, not permission to chase.
How this score is built, and what the marks mean

Missing observations are not scored as bad. Their missing weight lowers confidence and pulls the final score toward neutral. PEG is not shown when the ratio cannot mean anything: the company must be making a profit, its price-to-earnings must be positive, and its three-year earnings growth must fall between 5% and 60%. Dividing a price multiple by a loss, or by growth measured off a tiny base, produces a number that looks precise and tells you nothing. Under relative strength, one mark per week shows the last 12 weeks: a mark is filled where the company led S&P 500 by 5% or more over the 13 weeks ending that week, which is the same test used everywhere on this site. Price stage places the company on the same six-step curve the sector itself is placed on — basing, turning, breaking out, leader, fading, asleep — read from how many weeks running it has led S&P 500 and whether that lead is widening or shrinking. It describes where the PRICE stands, not the earnings trajectory and not a recommendation, and it is left blank for a company whose weekly history is too short or too stale to read.

CompanyScorePrice stageGrowth & earnings/35Capital efficiency/25Valuation/20Relative strength/20
1Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A.CPAC 66.1/100Thin evidence · provisional52% evidence FADING 23.8/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change 5.9 pp 45% evidence 14.3/25 ROCE 5.8% · OPM 25.1% 76% evidence 11.0/20 P/E 16.3× · PEG — 15% evidence 17.0/20 RS sector 38.2% · RS bench 16.9% · 1Y 75.4%8 of 12 weeks ahead 70% evidence
Exact sum: 23.8 + 14.3 + 11 + 17 = 66.1 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
2United States Lime & Minerals, Inc.USLM 59.3/100Thin evidence · provisional58% evidence ASLEEP 16.4/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change -3 pp 45% evidence 16.1/25 ROCE 6.2% · OPM 40.7% 76% evidence 9.9/20 P/E 22.4× · PEG — 15% evidence 16.9/20 RS sector 6.1% · RS bench -10.4% · 1Y -10.6%4 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 16.4 + 16.1 + 9.9 + 16.9 = 59.3 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
3James Hardie Industries plcJHX 57.0/100Mixed-positive evidence75% evidence LEADER 18.8/35 Revenue 24.7% · PAT 34.5% · OPM change -9.8 pp 83% evidence 18.0/25 ROCE 9.7% · OPM 58.6% 76% evidence 3.9/20 P/E 99.7× · PEG 2.9 65% evidence 16.3/20 RS sector 29.6% · RS bench 9.9% · 1Y 39.3%12 of 12 weeks ahead 70% evidence
Exact sum: 18.8 + 18 + 3.9 + 16.3 = 57 · Decision use: Strong business, demanding price: keep it on the quality list, but require either earnings upgrades or valuation compression.
4CRH plcCRH 50.2/100Mixed-positive evidence85% evidence ASLEEP 19.4/35 Revenue 6.3% · PAT 22% · OPM change 0.3 pp 95% evidence 11.9/25 ROCE 4.4% · OPM 19.3% 76% evidence 13.1/20 P/E 18.9× · PEG 1.01 65% evidence 5.8/20 RS sector -13.8% · RS bench -27.5% · 1Y -23.3%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 19.4 + 11.9 + 13.1 + 5.8 = 50.2 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
5Martin Marietta Materials, Inc.MLM 48.5/100Mixed-negative evidence85% evidence ASLEEP 14.1/35 Revenue 14.8% · PAT -1.2% · OPM change -6.6 pp 95% evidence 9.4/25 ROCE 2% · OPM 19.1% 76% evidence 16.3/20 P/E 14.2× · PEG 0.65 65% evidence 8.7/20 RS sector -8.5% · RS bench -22.9% · 1Y -19.7%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 14.1 + 9.4 + 16.3 + 8.7 = 48.5 · Decision use: Cheap but unconfirmed: require improving earnings before treating the valuation as an opportunity.
6Eagle Materials Inc.EXP 47.9/100Thin evidence · provisional58% evidence ASLEEP 16.6/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change -0.7 pp 45% evidence 12.0/25 ROCE 4.2% · OPM 17.7% 76% evidence 10.6/20 P/E 17.8× · PEG — 15% evidence 8.7/20 RS sector -6.3% · RS bench -21% · 1Y -22.4%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 16.6 + 12 + 10.6 + 8.7 = 47.9 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
7Vulcan Materials CompanyVMC 47.5/100Mixed-negative evidence85% evidence ASLEEP 18.3/35 Revenue 6.9% · PAT 16.7% · OPM change -1.3 pp 95% evidence 12.0/25 ROCE 3% · OPM 21.1% 76% evidence 8.4/20 P/E 34.8× · PEG 1.9 65% evidence 8.8/20 RS sector -6.2% · RS bench -20.9% · 1Y -18%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 18.3 + 12 + 8.4 + 8.8 = 47.5 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
8CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V.CX 46.8/100Thin evidence · provisional58% evidence ASLEEP 22.1/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change 3.4 pp 45% evidence 7.3/25 ROCE 2.9% · OPM 10.2% 76% evidence 8.5/20 P/E 779.2× · PEG — 15% evidence 8.9/20 RS sector -1.6% · RS bench -17.1% · 1Y 12%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 22.1 + 7.3 + 8.5 + 8.9 = 46.8 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
9Tecnoglass Inc.TGLS 46.0/100Mixed-negative evidence81% evidence ASLEEP 10.3/35 Revenue 9.8% · PAT -14.4% · OPM change -8.7 pp 83% evidence 12.6/25 ROCE 5.1% · OPM 18% 76% evidence 15.4/20 P/E 13.2× · PEG 0.86 65% evidence 7.7/20 RS sector -14.4% · RS bench -27.9% · 1Y -47.4%1 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 10.3 + 12.6 + 15.4 + 7.7 = 46 · Decision use: Cheap but unconfirmed: require improving earnings before treating the valuation as an opportunity.
10Titan America SATTAM 42.8/100Thin evidence · provisional58% evidence ASLEEP 15.2/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change -0.7 pp 45% evidence 10.7/25 ROCE 3.6% · OPM 12.5% 76% evidence 10.1/20 P/E 19.4× · PEG — 15% evidence 6.8/20 RS sector -5.6% · RS bench -20.5% · 1Y -8.8%1 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 15.2 + 10.7 + 10.1 + 6.8 = 42.8 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
11Amrize AGAMRZ 37.7/100Mixed-negative evidence75% evidence ASLEEP 12.9/35 Revenue 5.1% · PAT 4.2% · OPM change -0.4 pp 95% evidence 14.3/25 ROCE 9.4% · OPM 20.5% 76% evidence 9.7/20 P/E 24.1× · PEG — 15% evidence 0.8/20 RS sector -18.5% · RS bench -31.5% · 1Y -23.8%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 12.9 + 14.3 + 9.7 + 0.8 = 37.7 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
12Knife River CorporationKNF 31.1/100Adverse evidence74% evidence ASLEEP 20.8/35 Revenue 9.6% · PAT -18.3% · OPM change 2.4 pp 62% evidence 3.9/25 ROCE -2.5% · OPM -21% 76% evidence 5.3/20 P/E 31.8× · PEG 2.79 65% evidence 1.1/20 RS sector -18.4% · RS bench -31.4% · 1Y -26.4%0 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 20.8 + 3.9 + 5.3 + 1.1 = 31.1 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
13Smith-Midland CorporationSMID 28.0/100Adverse evidence75% evidence ASLEEP 9.4/35 Revenue 7% · PAT 11.1% · OPM change -11.3 pp 83% evidence 5.3/25 ROCE 2.6% · OPM 8% 76% evidence 8.9/20 P/E 16.4× · PEG 2.16 65% evidence 4.4/20 RS sector -15.8% · RS bench -29.1% · 1Y -36.3%0 of 12 weeks ahead 70% evidence
Exact sum: 9.4 + 5.3 + 8.9 + 4.4 = 28 · Decision use: Balanced evidence: keep at normal research priority and require another comparable period before raising conviction.
14Suncrete, Inc.RMIX 47.3/100Thin evidence · provisional28% evidence FADING 17.1/35 Revenue — · PAT — · OPM change — 2% evidence 10.6/25 ROCE — · OPM — 15% evidence 9.4/20 P/E 28.3× · PEG — 15% evidence 10.2/20 RS sector 5.2% · RS bench -10.7% · 1Y 19.8%6 of 12 weeks ahead 100% evidence
Exact sum: 17.1 + 10.6 + 9.4 + 10.2 = 47.3 · Decision use: Fill the missing evidence before acting; the ranking is deliberately pulled toward neutral.
Showing 10 of 14 companies
04 · what price has already done

Market action

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. has the strongest one-year price move in Building Materials at +75.4%. It also leads on Mansfield relative strength against the S&P 500 at +16.9%. 2 of 14 covered companies are above zero on that measure. Every line covers 314 weekly closes through 2026-09-16.

Price and relative strength

Every company, the sector's own index and S&P 500 all start level on the left edge of the window, so only the distance between the lines counts — the highest line has risen the most since then, and the chart at the top of this page is drawn the same way. It opens on one year; the buttons beside it stretch that to three or five.

05 · compare level, then change

Revenue Scale & Growth Durability

CRH plc has the highest Revenue among the 14 Building Materials companies compared here, at $38,632 million. Amrize AG is next at $12,189 million. James Hardie Industries plc has the highest Revenue growth at 24.7%, so level and change sit with different companies. 8 of 14 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Jun 2026.

What the numbers say: CRH plc is the scale leader at $38,632 million, 216.9% ahead of Amrize AG. James Hardie Industries plc's growth is 24.7% from a $4,836 million base, with 19 reported observations in the 20-quarter window. Treat the growth leader as an acceleration candidate, not as equally proven scale.

LeaderCRH plc · $38,632 million
Gap216.9% versus #2 · Amrize AG
Persistence8/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage8/14 companies · 233 observations

Investor read: CRH plc is the scale benchmark; James Hardie Industries plc is the acceleration watch. Promote the challenger only if growth persists and converts into margin and returns.

This conclusion weakens if: CRH plc's growth falls below James Hardie Industries plc's for two consecutive comparable reports while operating margin also compresses.

Revenue is compared on a common reported-currency basis. Growth is year-on-year, so seasonality does not masquerade as progress.
Revenue · company comparison
8/14 level · 8/14 change

On every company-comparison chart on this page: solid lines show level, dotted lines show change when “Both” is selected, and a missing report breaks the line rather than being invented.

All-company data · latest reported quarter

In every all-company table on this page, each figure is the company’s latest single reported quarter. The rankings above them use trailing-twelve-month or current-market values, so a company can legitimately show a different number in each.

CompanyRevenueRevenue growthReported
CRH plc CRH$10.8B5.6%Jun 2026
CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. CX$4.0B11%Jun 2026
Amrize AG AMRZ$3.5B8.6%Jun 2026
Vulcan Materials Company VMC$2.2B2.6%Jun 2026
Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. MLM$1.9B21%Jun 2026
James Hardie Industries plc JHX$1.4B44%Mar 2026
Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. CPAC$556M11%Jun 2026
Eagle Materials Inc. EXP$479M1.9%Jun 2026
Knife River Corporation KNF$410M16%Mar 2026
Titan America SA TTAM$398M1.5%Jun 2026
Tecnoglass Inc. TGLS$249M12%Mar 2026
United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. USLM$88M-3.3%Jun 2026
Smith-Midland Corporation SMID$22M-4.4%Mar 2026
Suncrete, Inc. RMIX$-14M-567%Mar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

Revenue · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 14 companies with a series here. The remaining 2 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Amrize AG · AMRZ

$2.9B
$2.2B
$3.2B
$3.4B
$2.8B
$2.1B
$3.2B
$3.7B
$2.8B
$2.2B
$3.5B

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

$507M
$525M
$525M
$503M
$554M
$534M
$480M
$442M
$517M
$508M
$477M
$457M
$518M
$527M
$499M
$484M
$574M
$560M
$556M

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. · CX

$3.7B
$3.6B
$3.7B
$4.0B
$4.0B
$3.9B
$4.0B
$4.5B
$4.4B
$4.0B
$3.9B
$4.4B
$4.1B
$3.8B
$3.6B
$4.1B
$4.2B
$4.2B
$4.0B

CRH plc · CRH

$8.0B
$8.0B
$7.5B
$7.5B
$8.9B
$8.9B
$6.4B
$9.7B
$10.1B
$8.7B
$6.5B
$9.7B
$10.5B
$8.9B
$6.8B
$10.2B
$11.1B
$9.4B
$7.4B
$10.8B

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

$510M
$463M
$413M
$561M
$605M
$511M
$470M
$602M
$622M
$559M
$477M
$609M
$624M
$558M
$470M
$635M
$639M
$556M
$479M

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

$903M
$900M
$968M
$1.0B
$998M
$861M
$918M
$954M
$999M
$978M
$1.0B
$992M
$961M
$953M
$972M
$900M
$1.3B
$1.2B
$1.4B

Knife River Corporation · KNF

$310M
$712M
$975M
$538M
$308M
$785M
$1.1B
$647M
$330M
$807M
$1.1B
$657M
$353M
$834M
$1.2B
$755M
$410M

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

$1.6B
$1.5B
$1.2B
$1.6B
$1.8B
$1.5B
$1.4B
$1.8B
$2.0B
$682M
$1.3B
$1.8B
$1.6B
$1.4B
$1.2B
$1.6B
$1.8B
$1.5B
$1.4B
$1.9B

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

$132M
$132M
$135M
$169M
$202M
$211M
$203M
$225M
$211M
$195M
$193M
$220M
$238M
$240M
$222M
$256M
$260M
$245M
$249M

Titan America SA · TTAM

$399M
$400M
$433M
$411M
$390M
$392M
$429M
$437M
$406M
$398M

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

$52M
$46M
$51M
$60M
$66M
$58M
$67M
$74M
$75M
$66M
$72M
$77M
$89M
$80M
$91M
$92M
$102M
$88M
$88M

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

$1.5B
$1.6B
$1.5B
$2.0B
$2.1B
$1.7B
$1.6B
$2.1B
$2.2B
$1.8B
$1.5B
$2.0B
$2.0B
$1.9B
$1.6B
$2.1B
$2.3B
$1.9B
$1.8B
$2.2B

Revenue growth · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 14 companies with a series here. The remaining 2 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Amrize AG · AMRZ

-2.2%
-3.6%
-0.8%
6.7%
-0.4%
4.4%
8.6%

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

14%
9.3%
1.7%
-8.6%
-12%
-6.7%
-4.9%
-0.6%
3.4%
0.2%
3.7%
4.6%
5.9%
11%
6.3%
11%

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. · CX

5.4%
7.1%
8.3%
8.4%
11%
10%
4.1%
-2.3%
-2.8%
-7.1%
-6.1%
-8.3%
-5.3%
4.7%
11%
11%

CRH plc · CRH

14%
11%
11%
-14%
29%
14%
-2.0%
1.7%
-0.6%
3.8%
2.1%
3.4%
5.7%
5.3%
6.2%
9.1%
5.6%

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

18%
19%
10%
14%
7.3%
2.8%
9.4%
1.5%
1.2%
0.3%
-0.2%
-1.5%
4.3%
2.4%
-0.4%
1.9%

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

19%
11%
-4.3%
-5.2%
-4.7%
0.1%
14%
9.5%
4.0%
-3.8%
-2.6%
-3.3%
-9.3%
34%
30%
44%

Knife River Corporation · KNF

-0.7%
10%
12%
20%
7.1%
2.8%
1.4%
1.6%
7.0%
3.4%
9.0%
15%
16%

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

19%
16%
-1.3%
10.0%
11%
10%
-54%
-7.6%
-3.1%
-18%
107%
-7.1%
-8.8%
12%
8.6%
17%
21%

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

39%
53%
60%
50%
33%
4.5%
-7.6%
-4.9%
-2.2%
13%
23%
15%
16%
9.2%
2.1%
12%

Titan America SA · TTAM

-2.3%
-2.0%
-0.9%
6.3%
4.1%
1.5%

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

22%
27%
26%
31%
23%
14%
14%
7.5%
4.1%
19%
21%
26%
19%
15%
10%
-3.3%

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

44%
38%
7.9%
7.0%
8.1%
4.7%
5.9%
-6.3%
-4.7%
-8.3%
1.1%
5.8%
4.4%
14%
3.2%
7.4%
2.6%
06 · compare level, then change

Operating Economics & Margin Trend

James Hardie Industries plc has the highest OPM among the 14 Building Materials companies compared here, at 58.6%. United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. is next at 40.7%. Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. has the highest Margin change at +5.9 percentage points, so level and change sit with different companies. Its OPM series carries 19 reported observations across the 20-quarter window.

What the numbers say: James Hardie Industries plc leads opm at 58.6%; Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. leads margin change at +5.9 percentage points.

LeaderJames Hardie Industries plc · 58.6%
Gap44% versus #2 · United States Lime & Minerals, Inc.
Persistence2/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage13/14 companies · 231 observations

Investor read: James Hardie Industries plc sets the level benchmark; use the change leader as an inflection watch only after another comparable report confirms it.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current margin change signal.

Operating margin compares operating profit with revenue. Improvement is measured in percentage points, not percentage growth.
Margin changefastest expanders
4CRH plc CRH+0.3 pp
5Amrize AG AMRZ−0.4 pp
Operating margin · company comparison
13/14 level · 13/14 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyOPMMargin changeReported
James Hardie Industries plc JHX59%−9.8 ppMar 2026
United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. USLM41%−3.0 ppJun 2026
Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. CPAC25%+5.9 ppJun 2026
Vulcan Materials Company VMC21%−1.3 ppJun 2026
Amrize AG AMRZ21%−0.4 ppJun 2026
CRH plc CRH19%+0.3 ppJun 2026
Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. MLM19%−6.6 ppJun 2026
Tecnoglass Inc. TGLS18%−8.7 ppMar 2026
Eagle Materials Inc. EXP18%−0.7 ppJun 2026
Titan America SA TTAM13%−0.7 ppJun 2026
CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. CX10%+3.4 ppJun 2026
Smith-Midland Corporation SMID8.0%−11.3 ppMar 2026
Knife River Corporation KNF-21%+2.4 ppMar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

OPM · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 13 companies with a series here. The remaining 1 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Amrize AG · AMRZ

15%
3.0%
24%
24%
18%
0.1%
21%
21%
17%
-3.3%
21%

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

17%
21%
18%
17%
16%
16%
18%
18%
18%
16%
20%
18%
23%
19%
19%
19%
21%
7.1%
25%

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. · CX

27%
8.0%
10%
11%
8.9%
-2.6%
11%
14%
11%
7.0%
10%
14%
9.8%
10%
6.8%
10%
11%
-2.8%
10%

CRH plc · CRH

14%
14%
9.2%
9.2%
14%
14%
0.0%
17%
18%
9.0%
0.4%
19%
19%
12%
0.3%
19%
19%
15%
-0.5%
19%

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

28%
28%
21%
25%
30%
29%
26%
27%
31%
30%
22%
29%
30%
28%
18%
26%
28%
25%
18%

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

49%
49%
50%
46%
48%
48%
52%
54%
54%
59%
73%
56%
50%
54%
68%
53%
43%
57%
59%

Knife River Corporation · KNF

-14%
8.5%
15%
6.6%
-15%
12%
19%
5.8%
-16%
15%
19%
6.7%
-23%
11%
18%
8.6%
-21%

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

23%
14%
4.9%
29%
22%
18%
15%
25%
28%
54%
114%
23%
25%
24%
15%
26%
27%
22%
12%
19%

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

23%
25%
25%
27%
35%
36%
36%
33%
29%
26%
21%
23%
28%
28%
27%
24%
25%
18%
18%

Titan America SA · TTAM

14%
12%
20%
16%
13%
13%
16%
20%
15%
13%

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

27%
21%
21%
21%
29%
21%
30%
31%
32%
29%
36%
39%
43%
39%
44%
39%
45%
41%
41%

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

17%
13%
9.5%
16%
15%
11%
11%
21%
19%
20%
11%
23%
17%
22%
14%
22%
24%
20%
15%
21%

Margin change · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 13 companies with a series here. The remaining 1 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Amrize AG · AMRZ

+3.4 pp
−2.9 pp
−3.0 pp
−2.2 pp
−1.0 pp
−3.4 pp
−0.4 pp

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

+4.4 pp
−0.3 pp
−4.4 pp
+0.3 pp
+0.7 pp
+1.5 pp
−0.2 pp
+1.8 pp
−0.2 pp
+4.8 pp
+2.9 pp
−0.7 pp
+1.1 pp
−1.4 pp
−11.7 pp
+5.9 pp

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. · CX

−1.6 pp
−18.4 pp
−10.6 pp
+0.7 pp
+2.3 pp
+2.2 pp
+9.6 pp
−0.8 pp
+0.7 pp
−1.3 pp
+3.4 pp
−3.4 pp
−4.2 pp
+0.9 pp
−13.2 pp
+3.4 pp

CRH plc · CRH

+1.4 pp
−0.7 pp
−0.7 pp
−9.2 pp
+7.4 pp
+4.0 pp
−4.7 pp
+0.4 pp
+2.3 pp
+1.0 pp
+2.9 pp
−0.1 pp
+0.1 pp
+0.1 pp
+3.0 pp
−0.8 pp
+0.3 pp

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

−0.7 pp
+1.5 pp
+1.1 pp
+4.4 pp
+2.7 pp
+1.5 pp
+1.0 pp
−4.3 pp
+1.2 pp
−1.3 pp
−1.6 pp
−3.1 pp
−2.5 pp
−1.8 pp
−3.5 pp
−0.7 pp

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

−5.7 pp
−0.9 pp
−0.8 pp
+1.5 pp
+8.1 pp
+6.3 pp
+10.4 pp
+21.9 pp
+2.6 pp
−4.6 pp
−4.4 pp
−5.0 pp
−3.4 pp
−6.6 pp
+2.8 pp
−9.8 pp

Knife River Corporation · KNF

−0.1 pp
+3.4 pp
+4.6 pp
−0.8 pp
−1.8 pp
+2.6 pp
−0.4 pp
+0.9 pp
−7.1 pp
−3.9 pp
−1.0 pp
+1.9 pp
+2.4 pp

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

+6.9 pp
−0.5 pp
+3.8 pp
+9.6 pp
−3.8 pp
+6.0 pp
+36.5 pp
+99.1 pp
−2.8 pp
−3.7 pp
−30.3 pp
−98.2 pp
+3.1 pp
+2.7 pp
−1.8 pp
−3.5 pp
−6.6 pp

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

+3.3 pp
+12.1 pp
+11.4 pp
+11.2 pp
+6.2 pp
−5.8 pp
−10.4 pp
−15.1 pp
−9.8 pp
−0.6 pp
+2.0 pp
+5.4 pp
+0.7 pp
−3.3 pp
−9.7 pp
−8.7 pp

Titan America SA · TTAM

−1.1 pp
+1.6 pp
−4.0 pp
+3.4 pp
+1.9 pp
−0.7 pp

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

−7.2 pp
+1.6 pp
+0.2 pp
+8.4 pp
+9.9 pp
+3.1 pp
+7.8 pp
+6.2 pp
+8.3 pp
+10.8 pp
+9.9 pp
+7.8 pp
−0.1 pp
+2.7 pp
+2.2 pp
−3.0 pp

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

−5.4 pp
−2.7 pp
−2.1 pp
+1.9 pp
+5.6 pp
+4.6 pp
+9.1 pp
−0.2 pp
+1.2 pp
−2.4 pp
+1.4 pp
+2.7 pp
−0.1 pp
+6.9 pp
−1.8 pp
+1.2 pp
−1.3 pp
07 · compare level, then change

Profit Scale & Acceleration

CRH plc has the highest Net profit among the 14 Building Materials companies compared here, at $3,887 million. James Hardie Industries plc is next at $2,704 million. James Hardie Industries plc has the highest Profit growth at 34.5%, so level and change sit with different companies. 8 of 14 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Jun 2026.

What the numbers say: CRH plc leads with $3,887 million of TTM profit, 43.8% above James Hardie Industries plc. James Hardie Industries plc shows 34.5% growth from a $2,704 million profit base. Compare the size of the base and persistence before ranking acceleration above profit scale.

LeaderCRH plc · $3,887 million
Gap43.8% versus #2 · James Hardie Industries plc
Persistence6/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage8/14 companies · 233 observations

Investor read: CRH plc sets the level benchmark; use the change leader as an inflection watch only after another comparable report confirms it.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current profit growth signal.

Net profit is the residual after operating costs, interest and tax. Growth off a loss or near-zero base is excluded from the fastest-grower rank.
Net profitlargest
1CRH plc CRH$3.9B
3Amrize AG AMRZ$1.2B
Profit growthfastest growers
2CRH plc CRH22%
5Amrize AG AMRZ4.2%
Net profit · company comparison
8/14 level · 7/14 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyNet profitProfit growthReported
CRH plc CRH$1.5B13%Jun 2026
James Hardie Industries plc JHX$867M33%Mar 2026
Amrize AG AMRZ$478M15%Jun 2026
Vulcan Materials Company VMC$323M0.0%Jun 2026
Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. MLM$256M-12%Jun 2026
CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. CX$231M86%Jun 2026
Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. CPAC$82M55%Jun 2026
Eagle Materials Inc. EXP$60M-9.1%Jun 2026
Titan America SA TTAM$33M0.0%Jun 2026
Tecnoglass Inc. TGLS$32M-24%Mar 2026
United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. USLM$31M-8.8%Jun 2026
Smith-Midland Corporation SMID$1M-67%Mar 2026
Suncrete, Inc. RMIX$-17M-950%Mar 2026
Knife River Corporation KNF$-79M39%Mar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

Net profit · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 14 companies with a series here. The remaining 2 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Amrize AG · AMRZ

$140M
$-44M
$474M
$553M
$291M
$-94M
$417M
$545M
$298M
$-105M
$478M

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

$42M
$52M
$46M
$48M
$44M
$39M
$43M
$43M
$46M
$36M
$49M
$37M
$63M
$50M
$53M
$48M
$72M
$-18M
$82M

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. · CX

$-338M
$249M
$196M
$265M
$275M
$-174M
$220M
$294M
$124M
$-449M
$236M
$222M
$216M
$243M
$124M
$329M
$240M
$-295M
$231M

CRH plc · CRH

$936M
$936M
$1.1B
$1.1B
$892M
$892M
$-31M
$1.2B
$1.3B
$573M
$114M
$1.3B
$1.4B
$562M
$-98M
$1.3B
$1.5B
$1.0B
$-180M
$1.5B

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

$102M
$102M
$74M
$105M
$139M
$117M
$100M
$121M
$151M
$129M
$77M
$134M
$144M
$120M
$66M
$123M
$137M
$103M
$60M

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

$398M
$397M
$471M
$417M
$425M
$367M
$437M
$448M
$479M
$500M
$713M
$481M
$414M
$462M
$653M
$498M
$606M
$733M
$867M

Knife River Corporation · KNF

$-40M
$39M
$100M
$28M
$-41M
$57M
$147M
$21M
$-48M
$78M
$148M
$23M
$-69M
$51M
$143M
$32M
$-79M

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

$255M
$156M
$24M
$353M
$291M
$187M
$135M
$348M
$430M
$288M
$1.0B
$294M
$297M
$247M
$104M
$292M
$361M
$233M
$79M
$256M

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

$-9M
$89M
$21M
$33M
$47M
$55M
$48M
$53M
$46M
$36M
$30M
$35M
$50M
$47M
$42M
$44M
$47M
$26M
$32M

Titan America SA · TTAM

$45M
$30M
$60M
$40M
$37M
$33M
$51M
$57M
$44M
$33M

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

$11M
$8M
$9M
$10M
$16M
$11M
$17M
$20M
$21M
$17M
$22M
$26M
$33M
$27M
$34M
$31M
$39M
$31M
$31M

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

$177M
$138M
$94M
$201M
$178M
$122M
$123M
$312M
$280M
$230M
$105M
$310M
$210M
$296M
$130M
$323M
$376M
$253M
$167M
$323M

Profit growth · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 14 companies with a series here. The remaining 2 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Amrize AG · AMRZ

108%
-12%
-1.5%
2.4%
15%

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

71%
4.8%
-25%
-6.5%
-10%
4.6%
-7.7%
14%
-14%
37%
39%
8.2%
30%
14%
-136%
55%

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. · CX

-2.9%
-170%
12%
11%
-55%
7.3%
-24%
74%
-47%
48%
11%
-221%
86%

CRH plc · CRH

241%
-4.7%
-4.7%
-103%
15%
48%
-36%
8.0%
5.4%
-1.9%
-186%
1.8%
9.4%
85%
13%

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

11%
36%
15%
35%
15%
8.6%
10%
-23%
11%
-4.6%
-7.0%
-14%
-8.2%
-4.9%
-14%
-9.1%

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

6.4%
6.8%
-7.6%
-7.2%
7.4%
13%
36%
63%
7.4%
-14%
-7.6%
-8.4%
3.5%
46%
59%
33%

Knife River Corporation · KNF

46%
47%
-25%
37%
0.7%
9.5%
-35%
-3.4%
39%

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

56%
14%
20%
463%
-1.4%
48%
54%
675%
-16%
-31%
-14%
-90%
-0.7%
22%
-5.7%
-24%
-12%

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

65%
-38%
129%
61%
-2.1%
-35%
-38%
-34%
8.7%
31%
40%
26%
-6.0%
-45%
-24%

Titan America SA · TTAM

-18%
10%
-15%
43%
19%
0.0%

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

-9.1%
45%
38%
89%
100%
31%
55%
29%
30%
57%
59%
55%
19%
18%
15%
-8.8%

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

2.0%
0.6%
-12%
31%
55%
57%
89%
-15%
-0.6%
-25%
29%
24%
4.2%
79%
-15%
28%
0.0%
08 · compare level, then change

Return On Capital Employed

James Hardie Industries plc has the highest ROCE among the 14 Building Materials companies compared here, at 9.7%. Amrize AG is next at 9.4%. Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. has the highest ROCE change at +2.2 percentage points, so level and change sit with different companies. 13 of 14 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Mar 2026.

What the numbers say: James Hardie Industries plc leads ROCE at 9.7%, 0.3 percentage points above Amrize AG. Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. has the strongest latest improvement at +2.2 percentage points. Read the leader beside the density of its reported history: a sparse high return is a candidate; a repeated high return is evidence of durability.

LeaderJames Hardie Industries plc · 9.7%
Gap3.2% versus #2 · Amrize AG
Persistence0/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage13/14 companies · 238 observations

Investor read: James Hardie Industries plc sets the level benchmark; use the change leader as an inflection watch only after another comparable report confirms it.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current roce change signal.

ROCE asks how much operating return the business earns on the capital employed. Direction matters, but a single exceptional year should not be mistaken for durability.
ROCE changefastest improvers
5Amrize AG AMRZ−0.3 pp
Return on capital · company comparison
13/14 level · 13/14 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyROCEROCE changeReported
James Hardie Industries plc JHX9.7%−5.9 ppMar 2026
Amrize AG AMRZ9.4%−0.3 ppJun 2026
United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. USLM6.2%−0.5 ppJun 2026
Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. CPAC5.8%+2.2 ppJun 2026
Tecnoglass Inc. TGLS5.1%−2.5 ppMar 2026
CRH plc CRH4.4%−0.3 ppJun 2026
Eagle Materials Inc. EXP4.2%−1.4 ppJun 2026
Titan America SA TTAM3.6%−5.2 ppJun 2026
Vulcan Materials Company VMC3.0%−0.2 ppJun 2026
CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. CX2.9%+1.0 ppJun 2026
Smith-Midland Corporation SMID2.6%−5.8 ppMar 2026
Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. MLM2.0%−0.6 ppJun 2026
Knife River Corporation KNF-2.5%+0.5 ppMar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

ROCE · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 13 companies with a series here. The remaining 1 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Amrize AG · AMRZ

0.0%
0.0%
0.0%
2.1%
9.7%
10%
10%
9.7%
9.5%
9.1%
8.8%
9.4%

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

3.1%
4.1%
3.9%
3.8%
3.6%
3.6%
3.6%
3.2%
3.6%
3.3%
3.6%
3.1%
4.4%
4.0%
3.8%
3.6%
4.8%
1.7%
5.9%
5.8%

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. · CX

3.6%
1.1%
1.5%
1.7%
1.3%
-0.4%
1.6%
2.2%
2.3%
1.1%
1.4%
2.5%
2.5%
1.6%
1.0%
1.9%
2.4%
-0.6%
1.9%
2.9%

CRH plc · CRH

3.1%
3.1%
1.9%
1.9%
3.3%
3.3%
0.0%
4.5%
4.7%
2.1%
0.1%
4.9%
5.0%
2.7%
0.0%
4.7%
4.8%
3.2%
-0.1%
4.4%

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

5.6%
5.2%
3.5%
5.3%
7.2%
6.1%
4.9%
6.3%
7.4%
6.5%
3.9%
6.4%
6.8%
5.8%
3.0%
5.6%
6.0%
4.3%
2.6%
4.2%

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

13%
13%
15%
14%
14%
12%
13%
14%
15%
15%
19%
14%
12%
13%
16%
9.4%
6.5%
8.4%
9.7%

Knife River Corporation · KNF

0.0%
0.0%
7.9%
2.0%
-4.8%
8.3%
10%
1.8%
-2.6%
5.1%
8.9%
1.7%
-3.0%
3.2%
7.6%
2.0%
-2.5%

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

3.1%
1.8%
0.5%
3.9%
3.1%
1.9%
1.4%
3.4%
4.2%
2.7%
10%
2.8%
2.8%
2.2%
1.1%
2.6%
3.1%
1.9%
0.9%
2.0%

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

7.1%
7.5%
7.6%
9.9%
15%
16%
14%
13%
10%
8.1%
6.2%
7.4%
9.3%
9.1%
7.6%
7.7%
8.0%
5.4%
5.1%

Titan America SA · TTAM

0.0%
0.0%
0.0%
5.3%
6.1%
4.3%
6.9%
8.8%
6.1%
4.0%
3.1%
3.6%

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

5.1%
3.4%
3.7%
4.1%
5.9%
3.7%
5.8%
6.4%
6.4%
4.9%
6.3%
7.0%
8.4%
6.5%
7.9%
6.7%
8.2%
6.1%
5.7%
6.2%

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

2.2%
1.8%
1.2%
2.6%
2.3%
1.5%
1.4%
3.4%
3.1%
2.7%
1.3%
3.4%
2.5%
2.7%
1.6%
3.2%
3.7%
2.4%
1.7%
3.0%

ROCE change · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 13 companies with a series here. The remaining 1 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Amrize AG · AMRZ

0.0 pp
+2.1 pp
+9.7 pp
+8.1 pp
−0.2 pp
−1.1 pp
−1.2 pp
−0.3 pp

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

+0.5 pp
−0.5 pp
−0.3 pp
−0.6 pp
0.0 pp
−0.3 pp
0.0 pp
−0.1 pp
+0.8 pp
+0.7 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.5 pp
+0.4 pp
−2.3 pp
+2.1 pp
+2.2 pp

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. · CX

−2.3 pp
−1.5 pp
+0.1 pp
+0.5 pp
+1.0 pp
+1.5 pp
−0.2 pp
+0.3 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.5 pp
−0.4 pp
−0.6 pp
−0.1 pp
−2.2 pp
+0.9 pp
+1.0 pp

CRH plc · CRH

+0.2 pp
+0.2 pp
−1.9 pp
+2.6 pp
+1.4 pp
−1.2 pp
+0.1 pp
+0.4 pp
+0.3 pp
+0.6 pp
−0.1 pp
−0.2 pp
−0.2 pp
+0.5 pp
−0.1 pp
−0.3 pp

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

+1.6 pp
+0.9 pp
+1.4 pp
+1.0 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.4 pp
−1.0 pp
+0.1 pp
−0.6 pp
−0.7 pp
−0.9 pp
−0.8 pp
−0.8 pp
−1.5 pp
−0.4 pp
−1.4 pp

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

+1.4 pp
−1.1 pp
−1.5 pp
+0.8 pp
+0.9 pp
+2.9 pp
+5.7 pp
−0.4 pp
−3.1 pp
−2.4 pp
−3.1 pp
−4.6 pp
−5.4 pp
−4.1 pp
−5.9 pp

Knife River Corporation · KNF

+7.9 pp
+2.0 pp
+2.5 pp
−0.2 pp
+2.2 pp
−3.2 pp
−1.5 pp
−0.1 pp
−0.4 pp
−1.9 pp
−1.3 pp
+0.3 pp
+0.5 pp

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

0.0 pp
+0.1 pp
+0.9 pp
−0.5 pp
+1.1 pp
+0.8 pp
+8.6 pp
−0.6 pp
−1.4 pp
−0.5 pp
−8.9 pp
−0.2 pp
+0.3 pp
−0.3 pp
−0.2 pp
−0.6 pp

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

+8.3 pp
+8.5 pp
+6.6 pp
+3.3 pp
−5.1 pp
−7.9 pp
−8.0 pp
−5.8 pp
−1.0 pp
+1.0 pp
+1.4 pp
+0.3 pp
−1.3 pp
−3.7 pp
−2.5 pp

Titan America SA · TTAM

0.0 pp
+5.3 pp
+6.1 pp
−1.0 pp
0.0 pp
−0.3 pp
−3.8 pp
−5.2 pp

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

+0.8 pp
+0.3 pp
+2.1 pp
+2.3 pp
+0.5 pp
+1.2 pp
+0.5 pp
+0.6 pp
+2.0 pp
+1.6 pp
+1.6 pp
−0.3 pp
−0.2 pp
−0.4 pp
−2.2 pp
−0.5 pp

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

+0.1 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.2 pp
+0.8 pp
+0.8 pp
+1.2 pp
−0.1 pp
0.0 pp
−0.6 pp
0.0 pp
+0.3 pp
−0.2 pp
+1.2 pp
−0.3 pp
+0.1 pp
−0.2 pp
09 · compare level, then change

Valuation Against Growth & Quality

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. has the lowest PEG among the 14 Building Materials companies compared here, at 0.65×. Tecnoglass Inc. is next at 0.86×. Tecnoglass Inc. has the lowest P/E at 13.2×, so level and change sit with different companies. 7 of 14 companies report a comparable reading, the latest through Jun 2026.

What the numbers say: Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. has the lowest comparable PEG at 0.65×, 24.4% below Tecnoglass Inc.. Only 7 of 14 companies have earnings and growth steady enough for the ratio to mean anything, so no broad “cheapest stock” conclusion is defensible unless the current multiple, own-history position and growth durability agree.

LeaderMartin Marietta Materials, Inc. · 0.65×
Gap24.4% versus #2 · Tecnoglass Inc.
Persistence0/8 recent comparable periods
Coverage7/14 companies · 51 observations

Investor read: Treat valuation as permission to investigate, never as a standalone reason to buy.

This conclusion weakens if: The next two comparable reports reverse the current p/e signal.

PEG is shown only when earnings are positive and three-year EPS growth is between 5% and 60%. It is recomputed consistently as the trailing P/E divided by that growth rate — reported earnings, never an expected-earnings multiple. On Indian companies it is shown only where the two data feeds agreed. Where any of that fails the ratio is left out rather than printed: a P/E divided by a loss, or by growth measured off a tiny base, is a number that looks precise and means nothing.
Valuation · company comparison
7/14 level · 14/14 change
All-company data · latest reported quarter
CompanyPEGP/EReported
United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. USLM3.622.4Jun 2026
James Hardie Industries plc JHX2.999.7Mar 2026
Knife River Corporation KNF2.831.8Mar 2026
Eagle Materials Inc. EXP2.617.8Jun 2026
Titan America SA TTAM2.219.4Jun 2026
Smith-Midland Corporation SMID2.216.4Mar 2026
Vulcan Materials Company VMC1.934.8Jun 2026
CRH plc CRH1.018.9Jun 2026
Tecnoglass Inc. TGLS0.913.2Mar 2026
Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. MLM0.714.2Jun 2026
Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. CPAC0.516.3Jun 2026
Amrize AG AMRZ24.1Jun 2026
CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. CX779.2Jun 2026
Suncrete, Inc. RMIX28.3Mar 2026
Full 20-quarter history · every available company

PEG · reported quarter history

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

1.9
1.3
0.4
0.5
0.3
0.5

CRH plc · CRH

0.8
0.7
2.0
1.2
2.4
1.0

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

0.3
0.4
0.4
0.6
2.8
2.6

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

1.6
2.9

Knife River Corporation · KNF

0.4
2.5
2.8

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

0.5
1.3
0.7
0.7

Smith-Midland Corporation · SMID

2.2

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

0.7
2.8
0.8
0.9

Titan America SA · TTAM

2.2

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

0.4
0.4
0.7
0.7
0.8
0.4
0.5
0.9
1.1
3.6

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

1.8
0.8
0.8
1.4
1.1
1.9
1.7
1.9

P/E · reported quarter history

Showing the 12 largest of 14 companies with a series here. The remaining 2 are complete in the plain-text rendition and the trace payload — nothing is dropped from the data, only from this grid.

Amrize AG · AMRZ

23.6
23.0
26.1
24.1

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. · CPAC

13.1
13.8
13.0
8.1
8.5
9.6
9.7
9.2
9.6
9.7
11.1
10.9
9.7
8.5
8.9
8.4
9.3
19.5
16.3
16.3

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. · CX

1,493.8
403.6
50.6
9.8
209.8
28.2
18.6
23.2
189.0
26.5
18.9
18.9
31.4
52.7
779.2

CRH plc · CRH

17.9
15.9
9.6
6.9
6.3
7.8
13.8
14.1
12.0
16.0
18.9
15.5
18.6
19.1
18.6
19.2
23.9
23.7
19.5
18.9

Eagle Materials Inc. · EXP

16.0
18.9
14.0
11.4
9.8
11.5
11.8
13.9
12.0
14.1
20.0
15.4
20.3
17.6
16.1
14.9
17.2
15.7
14.4
17.8

James Hardie Industries plc · JHX

36.4
36.0
29.3
19.4
16.9
16.5
18.8
23.6
23.9
32.0
34.9
27.2
39.8
30.5
24.0
34.9
40.0
76.9
99.7

Knife River Corporation · KNF

18.5
15.4
20.5
26.2
20.2
25.6
28.6
28.5
30.4
29.5
25.5
31.8

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. · MLM

29.3
39.3
36.6
23.8
24.5
24.4
22.9
29.9
23.2
26.5
18.1
16.4
16.8
15.9
27.5
30.5
33.2
33.2
14.0
14.2

Tecnoglass Inc. · TGLS

22.6
18.3
14.9
6.8
8.3
9.4
10.9
12.2
7.8
11.8
14.8
16.0
21.4
23.1
19.4
19.9
17.4
14.8
13.2

Titan America SA · TTAM

13.9
13.7
15.1
16.3
14.8
19.4

United States Lime & Minerals, Inc. · USLM

18.7
19.7
17.0
15.9
13.7
17.6
16.1
18.8
16.8
17.7
21.3
24.1
28.3
35.0
21.0
22.9
28.9
25.6
28.8
22.4

Vulcan Materials Company · VMC

34.9
41.4
40.6
31.9
35.3
40.6
37.6
41.1
32.3
32.5
39.5
36.0
39.2
37.6
33.0
36.4
36.5
35.2
32.3
34.8
10 · before the conclusion, check the blind spots

What can make this comparison misleading?

This Building Materials comparison names 4 specific ways its own evidence can mislead, all listed below. All 14 companies here report on comparable dates, so no rank carries a stale marker. A high growth rate can still be a low-base artefact.

Keep these limits visible

  • A high growth rate can be a low-base artefact. The page keeps level and change separate for that reason.
  • A high ROCE can be temporary or flattered by a small capital base. Read it beside margin, cash conversion and reinvestment.
  • The 4-Factor Sector Score ranks research priority, not portfolio action. Management quality, catalysts and risks need equally fresh evidence before capital is deployed.
  • An “all companies” line chart preserves completeness, but rank changes should be checked against reporting dates before drawing a conclusion.
11 · evidence and freshness

How was this comparison built?

This comparison is built from the reported filings of 14 Building Materials companies, normalized to a common $ scale and a shared quarter axis of up to 20 quarters each. Fundamentals run through Jun 2026 and market data through 2026-09-16. A second data feed fills gaps only after identity and scale reconciliation, and missing observations are never interpolated.

FundamentalsThrough Jun 2026 · up to 20 quarters per company
Market dataThrough 2026-09-16 · weekly price and relative-strength history
Derived metricsGrowth, changes and PEG are calculated only when their inputs are comparable.
Score confidenceMissing and stale evidence reduces confidence and pulls the 0–100 research-priority score toward neutral.
12 · questions investors ask, short speakable answers

Building Materials company comparison FAQs

These 22 answers restate the Building Materials comparison above in question form. Every one is computed from the same 14 companies and the same reported filings as the rankings and charts, current through Jun 2026. Price and relative-strength answers run through 2026-09-16. Nothing here is estimated, and none of it is a recommendation.

Is the Building Materials sector outperforming S&P 500?

Building Materials has underperformed S&P 500 by 14.5% over 52 weeks and 20.3% over 13 weeks. 2 of 14 covered companies beat the S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength, while 4 of 14 beat the sector itself.

Which Building Materials company is largest by revenue?

CRH plc leads with revenue of $38,632 million, based on 8 of 14 comparable companies through Jun 2026.

Which Building Materials company is growing fastest?

James Hardie Industries plc has the fastest current revenue growth at 24.7%, across 8 of 14 comparable companies.

Which Building Materials company has the strongest 4-Factor Sector Score?

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. ranks first at 66.1/100 with 51.8% evidence confidence. The score prioritizes research; it is not a buy recommendation.

Which Building Materials company has the lowest comparable PEG?

Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. has the lowest comparable PEG at 0.65, among 7 of 14 companies whose earnings and growth are steady enough for the ratio to mean anything.

How much history does this Building Materials comparison include?

The page compares up to 20 reported quarters per company for fundamentals, returns and valuation, ending Jun 2026. Missing observations remain blank rather than being estimated.

How is the 4-Factor Sector Score calculated?

The four visible contributions add directly: growth and earnings up to 35 points, capital efficiency up to 25, valuation up to 20, and relative strength up to 20. Missing or stale evidence moves only the affected contribution toward neutral.

Which Building Materials company is the biggest?

CRH plc is the largest, with trailing-twelve-month revenue of $38,632 million, ahead of Amrize AG at $12,189 million. That covers 8 of 14 companies with comparable reporting through Jun 2026.

Which Building Materials company has the best profit margins?

James Hardie Industries plc has the highest operating margin at 58.6%, from 13 of 14 comparable companies. Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. shows the biggest recent improvement, at +5.9 percentage points. A high margin matters most when it is holding or rising, not when it is peaking.

Which Building Materials company makes the most profit?

CRH plc earns the most, at $3,887 million of trailing-twelve-month net profit, from 8 of 14 comparable companies. James Hardie Industries plc has the fastest profit growth at 34.5%, though growth off a small or recovering profit base overstates how much has actually changed.

Which Building Materials company earns the highest return on capital?

James Hardie Industries plc leads on return on capital employed at 9.7%, across 13 of 14 companies. Read it beside the length of its reported history: a high return that repeats for years is evidence of a durable business, while a single high reading can be a small capital base or one good year.

Which Building Materials stock is the cheapest?

On PEG — where a LOWER number is cheaper — Martin Marietta Materials, Inc. screens cheapest at 0.65×. Only 7 of 14 companies have earnings and growth steady enough for the ratio to mean anything, so this is not a sector-wide "cheapest stock" verdict. Cheap on a multiple is a reason to investigate, never a reason to buy on its own.

Is the Building Materials sector beating the market?

Building Materials has underperformed S&P 500 by 14.5% over the last 52 weeks and 20.3% over 13 weeks, measured on an equal-weight index of its current members. Inside the sector, 2 of 14 covered companies are beating the market on their own. Sector strength does not transfer evenly to every stock in it.

Which Building Materials stock has the strongest price momentum?

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. has the strongest relative strength against S&P 500. Relative strength answers last, after growth, quality and valuation: price can move well before the fundamentals confirm it, and sometimes without them confirming at all.

Which Building Materials company scores highest for research priority?

Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. scores 66.1 out of 100 with 51.8% evidence confidence, from 23.8 points on growth and earnings, 14.3 on capital efficiency, 11 on valuation and 17 on relative strength. This ranks what deserves work next. It is not a buy recommendation, and management quality, catalysts and risk still need separate research.

How many Building Materials companies does this comparison cover, and over what period?

It compares 14 listed companies over up to 20 reported quarters of fundamentals, ending Jun 2026, plus weekly price and relative-strength history. Membership is the full sector list — nothing is dropped for having thin data.

What is the total market cap of the Building Materials sector?

The 14 Building Materials companies on this page carry $194,764 million of combined market value. CRH plc is the largest at $57,680 million, about 30% of the sector's total on its own. Market value moves with price, so this reading is dated 2026-09-16.

What is the Building Materials sector's P/E ratio?

The median price-to-earnings ratio across the 14 Building Materials companies on this page is 22.4×, measured on the 14 that report a comparable figure. A sector-level history for this multiple is not held here, so this is a cross-section of today, not a comparison with the sector’s own past. Figures are as of 2026-09-16.

How is the Building Materials sector performing?

2 of the 14 covered Building Materials companies are beating S&P 500 on Mansfield relative strength. The sector itself is 14.5% behind S&P 500 over 52 weeks on an equal-weight index of its current members. Readings are as of 2026-09-16.

How many Building Materials stocks are listed in the US?

This comparison covers 14 listed Building Materials companies in the US, each above the size floor the site applies. The full ranked list is on this page, with reported fundamentals through Jun 2026. Membership is the full industry list — nothing is dropped for having thin data.

Why are some values on this page blank?

A blank means that company did not report a comparable figure for that period, so nothing is shown. Missing observations are never interpolated, carried forward, or replaced with a similar-looking accounting line, and a company with missing evidence has its research score pulled toward neutral rather than being scored as bad.

Is this investment advice?

No. Every figure here is a deterministic calculation from reported company filings and market data, published for research. It contains no recommendation to buy or sell any security, does not account for your circumstances, and is not a substitute for advice from a licensed adviser.

Not SEBI Registered !! Not Investment advice !!

Chat with this pageChat with pageChatChatGPTClaudePerplexityGoogle AI