Sector Alpha Week of 2026-09-11
Not SEBI Registered !! Not Investment advice !!
Five-year price · 20 complete calendar quarters · BTC-relative

Layer 2 Crypto Coins

Is Layer 2 outperforming Bitcoin, and is leadership broad?

Bottom line

POL (ex-MATIC) ranks first for research priority in Layer 2 crypto at 78.7/100, and its native activity evidence clears the coverage gate. The theme's 13-week excess versus Bitcoin is -9.1% on 28% breadth, which is what decides whether that lead is isolated or broad. 10 of the 34 assets here carry enough native evidence to move past a tape-led label.

These Layer 2 coins are part of the cryptocurrency universe this site tracks daily — 894 of the top 1,000 crypto currency assets by market cap, priced from exchange closes and matched to protocol fees and revenue where a protocol publishes them.

The theme itself · before any single company

How has Layer 2 moved against Bitcoin?

The line below covers up to 5 years and opens on the 5Y view; the buttons cut it shorter. Over the most recent two of them this theme is 73% behind Bitcoin. Protocol revenue across its protocols fell 21% on average over the last four reported quarters.

ASLEEP · 1y −10.8%·Price down, no fundamental support3 of 25 coins ahead of Bitcoin by 5% or more over three months

RS — · 8/25 >200d (+0) · 3/25 lead (−3) · EPS —

5010020050020262025202420232022 53315 TRAILING 12-MONTH PROTOCOL REVENUE · 100 AT THE START0100159Jun 22Dec 22Jun 23Dec 23Jun 24Dec 24Jun 25Dec 25Jun 26Jun 2022 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 1 reportingSep 2022 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 85, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 1 reportingDec 2022 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 47, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 1 reportingMar 2023 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 60, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 1 reportingJun 2023 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 78, against 100 at the start · down 22.3% on a year ago · 1 reportingSep 2023 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 127, against 100 at the start · up 50.4% on a year ago · 1 reportingDec 2023 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 131, against 100 at the start · up 200.0% on a year ago · 2 reportingMar 2024 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 159, against 100 at the start · up 200.0% on a year ago · 2 reportingJun 2024 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 151, against 100 at the start · up 183.9% on a year ago · 2 reportingSep 2024 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 123, against 100 at the start · up 50.9% on a year ago · 2 reportingDec 2024 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 111, against 100 at the start · down 24.8% on a year ago · 2 reportingMar 2025 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 85, against 100 at the start · down 55.0% on a year ago · 2 reportingJun 2025 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 125, against 100 at the start · down 43.3% on a year ago · 1 reportingSep 2025 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 135, against 100 at the start · down 29.8% on a year ago · 1 reportingDec 2025 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 149, against 100 at the start · down 20.7% on a year ago · 1 reportingMar 2026 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 125, against 100 at the start · down 20.7% on a year ago · 1 reportingJun 2026 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 56, against 100 at the start · down 11.7% on a year ago · 2 reportingNot reported yet — earnings trail price by a quarter or two56 · Jun 26No earnings on file this far back — the price series reaches further than the filings do
5010020050020262025202420232022 53315 TRAILING 12-MONTH PROTOCOL REVENUE · 100 AT THE START0100159Jun 22Jun 23Jun 24Jun 25Jun 26Jun 2022 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 100, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 1 reportingSep 2022 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 85, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 1 reportingDec 2022 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 47, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 1 reportingMar 2023 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 60, against 100 at the start · no comparable year yet · 1 reportingJun 2023 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 78, against 100 at the start · down 22.3% on a year ago · 1 reportingSep 2023 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 127, against 100 at the start · up 50.4% on a year ago · 1 reportingDec 2023 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 131, against 100 at the start · up 200.0% on a year ago · 2 reportingMar 2024 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 159, against 100 at the start · up 200.0% on a year ago · 2 reportingJun 2024 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 151, against 100 at the start · up 183.9% on a year ago · 2 reportingSep 2024 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 123, against 100 at the start · up 50.9% on a year ago · 2 reportingDec 2024 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 111, against 100 at the start · down 24.8% on a year ago · 2 reportingMar 2025 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 85, against 100 at the start · down 55.0% on a year ago · 2 reportingJun 2025 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 125, against 100 at the start · down 43.3% on a year ago · 1 reportingSep 2025 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 135, against 100 at the start · down 29.8% on a year ago · 1 reportingDec 2025 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 149, against 100 at the start · down 20.7% on a year ago · 1 reportingMar 2026 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 125, against 100 at the start · down 20.7% on a year ago · 1 reportingJun 2026 · trailing 12-month protocol revenue at 56, against 100 at the start · down 11.7% on a year ago · 2 reportingNot reported yet — earnings trail price by a quarter or two56No earnings on file this far back — the price series reaches further than the filings do
Layer 2, equal-weighted, based at 200 Bitcoin, same base, same start trailing 12-month protocol revenue rising falling

Both lines start at 200 in the same week, so the distance between them is the whole story: the theme line is an equal-weighted index of its 25 coins. The bars underneath are trailing 12-month protocol revenue, one bar per reported quarter, each member rebased to 100 at the start and the theme taking the median — so a price line pulling away from flat bars is a re-rating, not earnings. A bar turns red when that figure is lower than the quarter before. Rules are fixed and applied identically everywhere on this site: ahead by 5% or more over three months, or behind by 20% or more over a year while protocol revenue grew 20% or more. Hover any point to read both values and the gap. This is a description of what the numbers did, not advice.

BTC LED market context

Layer 2 vs Bitcoin — Relative Strength & Breadth

Layer 2 crypto has underperformed Bitcoin by 51.7% over 52 weeks on an equal-weight index of current members. Over 13 weeks the figure is -9.1%. 7 of 25 covered assets are above their own 200-day average. Prom leads Bitcoin-relative strength at +367%. Price readings are as of 2026-09-11.

-9.1%13w vs BTC
-52%52w vs BTC
7/25Above 200-DMA
PROMRS leader · +367%
Assets
34
canonical functional membership
Activity-covered
10/34
enough native evidence
Top score
78.7/100
POL (ex-MATIC)
Calendar quarters
20
complete; missing stays missing
Global asset selection · top 20 shown
Showing 20 of 34 assets
00 · exact additive research priority

4-Factor Crypto Evidence Score

A within-theme research-priority score for the 34 assets in Layer 2, out of 100. The four displayed point contributions add exactly to the total, and the market regime changes the action label, never the arithmetic. POL (ex-MATIC) is highest at 78.7/100 on 93% evidence. It ranks research attention, not portfolio action.

Market leadership · 35Network & economic traction · 30Value capture · 20Liquidity & downside risk · 15
POL (ex-MATIC) leads the current research queue at 78.7/100 with 93% evidence.
10/34 assets have enough native activity evidence to move beyond a tape-led label.

14 of the 48 Layer 2 coins are not rated this week: 10 have no price within 7 days, 4 report no traded volume. They are listed in full below the ranking.

Missing native metrics are not scored as zero and are not silently reweighted. They pull only the affected factor toward neutral and lower its visible evidence percentage. An asset with nothing measurable at all is not scored at 50 either — it is listed as not rated.

1. POL (ex-MATIC) · POL

78.7/100 · Priority research · 93% evidence

Exact sum: 25.2 + 26.6 + 16.6 + 10.3 = 78.7

Decision use: Tape and usage agree. Advance to token-accrual, catalyst and custody-risk diligence.

25.2/35Market leadership

RS-BTC 8.2 pp · RS-sector 13.1 pp · 200-DMA —

80% evidence

26.6/30Network & economic traction

Fees 204.4% · revenue 239.4% · users 18.7%

100% evidence

16.6/20Value capture

Fee yield 2.95% · revenue yield 2.94%

100% evidence

10.3/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $6,202,123 · vol 105.1%

100% evidence

2. Prom · PROM

70.4/100 · Tape-led · on-chain proof incomplete · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 34.9 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 10.5 = 70.4

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

34.9/35Market leadership

RS-BTC 367 pp · RS-sector 77 pp · 200-DMA above

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

10.5/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $41,429,688 · vol 203.2%

100% evidence

3. COTI · COTI

69.2/100 · Tape-led · on-chain proof incomplete · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 34.2 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 10.0 = 69.2

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

34.2/35Market leadership

RS-BTC 58.1 pp · RS-sector 25.2 pp · 200-DMA above

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

10.0/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $20,084,462 · vol 110%

100% evidence

4. Celo · CELO

65.1/100 · Illiquid · research only · 90% evidence

Exact sum: 23.4 + 19.5 + 13.0 + 9.2 = 65.1

Decision use: Tape and usage agree. Advance to token-accrual, catalyst and custody-risk diligence.

23.4/35Market leadership

RS-BTC 1.8 pp · RS-sector 5.9 pp · 200-DMA above

100% evidence

19.5/30Network & economic traction

Fees 40.5% · revenue — · users -7.5%

80% evidence

13.0/20Value capture

Fee yield 1.74% · revenue yield 1.69%

81% evidence

9.2/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $2,318,667 · vol 66.5%

100% evidence

5. Stacks · STX

58.6/100 · Illiquid · research only · 43% evidence

Exact sum: 28.3 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 5.3 = 58.6

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

28.3/35Market leadership

RS-BTC 16.9 pp · RS-sector 87.9 pp · 200-DMA —

80% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

5.3/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $1,957,261 · vol 132.6%

100% evidence

6. Linea · LINEA

55.0/100 · Mixed · 100% evidence

Exact sum: 11.2 + 13.7 + 17.6 + 12.5 = 55.0

Decision use: Evidence is mixed. Keep normal research priority and wait for two pillars to agree.

11.2/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -20.4 pp · RS-sector 2 pp · 200-DMA below

100% evidence

13.7/30Network & economic traction

Fees -34.8% · revenue -33.1% · users -76.8%

100% evidence

17.6/20Value capture

Fee yield 5.26% · revenue yield 5.22%

100% evidence

12.5/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $10,904,822 · vol 71.6%

100% evidence

7. Capx AI · CAPX

52.7/100 · Illiquid · research only · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 24.5 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 3.2 = 52.7

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

24.5/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -0.6 pp · RS-sector 15.4 pp · 200-DMA above

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

3.2/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $261,833 · vol 198.7%

100% evidence

8. Sophon · SOPH

51.2/100 · Illiquid · research only · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 20.9 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 5.3 = 51.2

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

20.9/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -1.4 pp · RS-sector 0 pp · 200-DMA above

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

5.3/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $171 · vol 66.4%

100% evidence

9. Lisk · LSK

49.7/100 · Illiquid · research only · 100% evidence

Exact sum: 31.4 + 3.4 + 6.6 + 8.3 = 49.7

Decision use: Price leads usage. Wait for fees, users or TVL to confirm the move.

31.4/35Market leadership

RS-BTC 32.1 pp · RS-sector 58.8 pp · 200-DMA above

100% evidence

3.4/30Network & economic traction

Fees -89.7% · revenue -83.9% · users -94.2%

100% evidence

6.6/20Value capture

Fee yield 0.19% · revenue yield 0.17%

100% evidence

8.3/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $2,637,430 · vol 109.2%

100% evidence

10. Aevo · AEVO

49.3/100 · Illiquid · research only · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 13.0 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 11.3 = 49.3

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

13.0/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -9.8 pp · RS-sector -5.4 pp · 200-DMA below

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

11.3/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $3,624,541 · vol 69.2%

100% evidence

11. Merlin Chain · MERL

48.8/100 · Illiquid · research only · 55% evidence

Exact sum: 17.0 + 14.0 + 10.0 + 7.8 = 48.8

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

17.0/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -6.9 pp · RS-sector 9.7 pp · 200-DMA below

100% evidence

14.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

17% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

7.8/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $2,453,115 · vol 111.9%

100% evidence

12. Hermez Network · HEZ

47.0/100 · Illiquid · research only · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 15.4 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 6.6 = 47.0

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

15.4/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -10.8 pp · RS-sector -10.7 pp · 200-DMA above

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

6.6/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $1,010 · vol 19.4%

100% evidence

13. Status · SNT

45.6/100 · Illiquid · research only · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 14.5 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 6.1 = 45.6

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

14.5/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -22.1 pp · RS-sector 28.8 pp · 200-DMA below

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

6.1/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $2,255,071 · vol 116.7%

100% evidence

14. Aztec · AZTEC

45.1/100 · Illiquid · research only · 43% evidence

Exact sum: 11.0 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 9.1 = 45.1

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

11.0/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -34.1 pp · RS-sector 0.2 pp · 200-DMA below

80% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

9.1/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $3,131,878 · vol 81.5%

100% evidence

15. Metal DAO · MTL

43.6/100 · Illiquid · research only · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 12.8 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 5.8 = 43.6

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

12.8/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -19.9 pp · RS-sector 12.2 pp · 200-DMA below

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

5.8/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $555,646 · vol 63.1%

100% evidence

16. Nervos Network · CKB

42.6/100 · Illiquid · research only · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 10.1 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 7.5 = 42.6

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

10.1/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -27.3 pp · RS-sector 11.5 pp · 200-DMA below

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

7.5/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $2,170,404 · vol 70.8%

100% evidence

17. Orderly · ORDER

41.9/100 · Illiquid · research only · 55% evidence

Exact sum: 8.6 + 14.6 + 10.0 + 8.7 = 41.9

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

8.6/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -33.1 pp · RS-sector 7.7 pp · 200-DMA below

100% evidence

14.6/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

17% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

8.7/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $2,650,406 · vol 70.8%

100% evidence

18. AltLayer · ALT

41.4/100 · Illiquid · research only · 43% evidence

Exact sum: 9.8 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 6.6 = 41.4

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

9.8/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -25.4 pp · RS-sector -10.6 pp · 200-DMA —

80% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

6.6/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $500,174 · vol 59.4%

100% evidence

19. PHALA · PHA

40.7/100 · Tape-led · on-chain proof incomplete · 50% evidence

Exact sum: 5.4 + 15.0 + 10.0 + 10.3 = 40.7

Decision use: Treat this as a tape-led lead. Require native activity confirmation before upgrading research priority.

5.4/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -47.3 pp · RS-sector 0 pp · 200-DMA below

100% evidence

15.0/30Network & economic traction

Fees — · revenue — · users —

0% evidence

10.0/20Value capture

Fee yield — · revenue yield —

0% evidence

10.3/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $8,355,827 · vol 70.8%

100% evidence

20. Optimism · OP

40.6/100 · Lagging · 100% evidence

Exact sum: 7.0 + 10.5 + 10.9 + 12.2 = 40.6

Decision use: Evidence is mixed. Keep normal research priority and wait for two pillars to agree.

7.0/35Market leadership

RS-BTC -30.6 pp · RS-sector -6.5 pp · 200-DMA below

100% evidence

10.5/30Network & economic traction

Fees -74.8% · revenue -73.3% · users -84.4%

100% evidence

10.9/20Value capture

Fee yield 0.81% · revenue yield 0.78%

100% evidence

12.2/15Liquidity & downside risk

30d median volume $52,640,869 · vol 93.4%

100% evidence

Showing 20 of 34 ranked assets
01 · complete calendar-quarter evidence

Which projects are generating the most network fees?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Trailing 12-month fees at $23.2M, 634% ahead of Linea. 2 of 10 assets with comparable change data are growing. Coverage is 10 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter. Where a project publishes nothing, the cell stays blank rather than being read as zero.

LeaderPOL (ex-MATIC) · $23.2M
Gap634% versus #2
Persistence2 assets have positive comparable growth
Coverage10/34 assets

Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture.

This conclusion weakens if: fee growth turns negative across two complete calendar quarters or fee coverage falls below the stated threshold.

Trailing 12-month fees is the sum of the latest four complete calendar quarters. Growth compares that sum with the prior four-quarter sum.
Trailing 12-month feestop five
1POL (ex-MATIC) POL$23.2M
2Linea LINEA$3.2M
3Optimism OP$1.9M
4Celo CELO$684.1K
5ZKsync ZK$677.7K
Fee growthtop five
1POL (ex-MATIC) POL+204%
2Celo CELO+41%
3Linea LINEA-35%
4ZKsync ZK-56%
5Mantle MNT-72%
Network fees · asset comparison
10/34 level · 10/34 change
Latest comparable data · top 20 shown first
AssetTrailing 12-month feesFee growth
polygon-ecosystem-token$8.2M+204%
prometeus
coti
celo$298.0K+41%
blockstack
linea$118.0K-35%
capx-ai$224.3K
sophon
lisk$1.5K-90%
aevo-exchange
merlin-chain
hermez-network-token
status
aztec
metal
nervos-network
orderly-network
altlayer
pha
optimism$149.2K-75%
Showing 20 of 34 assets
02 · complete calendar-quarter evidence

Which projects convert activity into protocol revenue?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Trailing 12-month revenue at $23.1M, 637% ahead of Linea. 1 of 6 assets with comparable change data is growing. Coverage is 8 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter. Where a project publishes nothing, the cell stays blank rather than being read as zero.

LeaderPOL (ex-MATIC) · $23.1M
Gap637% versus #2
Persistence1 assets have positive comparable growth
Coverage8/34 assets

Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture.

This conclusion weakens if: revenue growth turns negative or the revenue-to-fees take rate falls for two complete calendar quarters.

Trailing 12-month revenue is the sum of the latest four complete calendar quarters. Growth compares that sum with the prior four-quarter sum.
Trailing 12-month revenuetop five
1POL (ex-MATIC) POL$23.1M
2Linea LINEA$3.1M
3Optimism OP$1.8M
4Celo CELO$663.4K
5ZKsync ZK$635.4K
Revenue growthtop five
1POL (ex-MATIC) POL+239%
2Linea LINEA-33%
3ZKsync ZK-48%
4Optimism OP-73%
5Lisk LSK-84%
Protocol revenue · asset comparison
8/34 level · 6/34 change
Latest comparable data · top 20 shown first
AssetTrailing 12-month revenueRevenue growth
polygon-ecosystem-token$8.2M+239%
prometeus
coti
celo$294.1K
blockstack
linea$115.7K-33%
capx-ai$201.9K
sophon
lisk$853-84%
aevo-exchange
merlin-chain
hermez-network-token
status
aztec
metal
nervos-network
orderly-network
altlayer
pha
optimism$140.2K-73%
Showing 20 of 34 assets
03 · complete calendar-quarter evidence

Where is capital actually committed on-chain?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Quarter-end TVL at $4B, 136% ahead of Optimism. 0 of 15 assets with comparable change data are growing. Coverage is 19 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter. Where a project publishes nothing, the cell stays blank rather than being read as zero.

LeaderPOL (ex-MATIC) · $4B
Gap136% versus #2
Persistence0 assets have positive comparable growth
Coverage19/34 assets

Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture.

This conclusion weakens if: TVL rises while fees and users fall; that pattern can be incentive-funded mercenary liquidity.

Quarter-end TVL uses protocol TVL first for protocol assets and exact-ID chain TVL for chain assets or where protocol TVL is unavailable. A blank is unavailable, not zero. Growth compares with the same complete quarter one year earlier.
Quarter-end TVLtop five
1POL (ex-MATIC) POL$4.0B
2Optimism OP$1.7B
3Mantle MNT$1.3B
4Merlin Chain MERL$358.9M
5Linea LINEA$318.5M
TVL growthtop five
1Linea LINEA-7.1%
2Mantle MNT-11%
3POL (ex-MATIC) POL-20%
4Celo CELO-29%
5Orderly ORDER-36%
Total value locked · asset comparison
19/34 level · 15/34 change
Latest comparable data · top 20 shown first
AssetQuarter-end TVLTVL growth
polygon-ecosystem-token$4.0B-20%
prometeus
coti
celo$259.7M-29%
blockstack
linea$318.5M-7.1%
capx-ai$2.2M
sophon
lisk$31.1M-76%
aevo-exchange
merlin-chain$358.9M-48%
hermez-network-token
status
aztec
metal
nervos-network
orderly-network$208.3K-36%
altlayer
pha
optimism$1.7B-47%
Showing 20 of 34 assets
04 · complete calendar-quarter evidence

Which chains are gaining real users?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Average daily active addresses at 624,400 addresses, 33% ahead of Celo. 1 of 10 assets with comparable change data is growing. Coverage is 11 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter. Where a project publishes nothing, the cell stays blank rather than being read as zero.

LeaderPOL (ex-MATIC) · 624,400
Gap33% versus #2
Persistence1 assets have positive comparable growth
Coverage11/34 assets

Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture.

This conclusion weakens if: address growth reverses for two complete quarters or activity rises without corresponding fees.

Average daily active addresses uses verified chain activity only. Host-chain users are never assigned to an application token. A blank means the source does not cover that asset, not zero users.
Average daily active addressestop five
1POL (ex-MATIC) POL624,400
2Celo CELO467,973
3Optimism OP17,646
4ZKsync ZK7,103
5MegaETH MEGA5,189
User growthtop five
1POL (ex-MATIC) POL+19%
2Celo CELO-7.5%
3ZKsync ZK-39%
4Linea LINEA-77%
5Optimism OP-84%
Active users · asset comparison
11/34 level · 10/34 change
Latest comparable data · top 20 shown first
AssetAverage daily active addressesUser growth
polygon-ecosystem-token624,400+19%
prometeus
coti
celo467,973-7.5%
blockstack
linea4,899-77%
capx-ai
sophon
lisk382-94%
aevo-exchange
merlin-chain
hermez-network-token
status
aztec
metal
nervos-network
orderly-network
altlayer
pha
optimism17,646-84%
Showing 20 of 34 assets
06 · complete calendar-quarter evidence

Which chains are processing the most transactions?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Trailing 12-month transactions at 2,276,969,823 transactions, 269% ahead of Optimism. 3 of 10 assets with comparable change data are growing, fastest at Optimism. Coverage is 10 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter.

LeaderPOL (ex-MATIC) · 2,276,969,823
Gap269% versus #2
Persistence3 assets have positive comparable growth
Coverage10/34 assets

Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture.

This conclusion weakens if: transaction growth turns negative while users and fees also deteriorate.

Trailing 12-month transactions is the sum of the latest four complete calendar quarters. Growth compares that sum with the prior four-quarter sum.
Trailing 12-month transactionstop five
1POL (ex-MATIC) POL2,276,969,823
2Optimism OP616,494,669
3Celo CELO496,427,817
4Taiko TAIKO79,010,414
5Linea LINEA42,194,039
Transaction growthtop five
1Optimism OP+103%
2POL (ex-MATIC) POL+96%
3Celo CELO+11%
4Linea LINEA-57%
5Metis METIS-61%
Transactions · asset comparison
10/34 level · 10/34 change
Latest comparable data · top 20 shown first
AssetTrailing 12-month transactionsTransaction growth
polygon-ecosystem-token743,480,044+96%
prometeus
coti
celo110,721,706+11%
blockstack
linea2,275,290-57%
capx-ai
sophon
lisk555,864-72%
aevo-exchange
merlin-chain
hermez-network-token
status
aztec
metal
nervos-network
orderly-network
altlayer
pha
optimism146,577,945+103%
Showing 20 of 34 assets
06 · let price answer last

Which assets lead on price and relative strength?

Prom leads the Layer 2 tape on Bitcoin-relative strength at +367% over 90 days. 7 of 25 covered assets are above their own 200-day average. Price shows what happened; BTC-relative strength shows whether the asset beat crypto’s opportunity-cost benchmark. Both lines run through 2026-09-11.

Complete set · no silent drops

Which assets are in Layer 2?

34 of the 48 coins assigned to Layer 2 are rated and ranked below, and the other 14 are listed under it with the reason each one is not rated — tape-only names that publish no protocol activity included. Each asset has exactly one canonical functional theme, chosen by a specific-to-general first match on its categories.

RankAssetPrice90dRS-BTC200-DMA30d volMedian volumePrice qualityActivity sourceScoreEvidence
1POL (ex-MATIC) POL$0.0974+28%+8.2%105%$6.2Musablechain + protocol78.793%
2Prom PROM$5.20+387%+367%Above203%$41.4Musabletape only70.450%
3COTI COTI$0.0178+78%+58%Above110%$20.1Musabletape only69.250%
4Celo CELO$0.0749+22%+1.8%Above67%$2.3Musablechain + protocol65.190%
5Stacks STX$0.2527+37%+17%133%$2.0Musableprotocol58.643%
6Linea LINEA$0.0025-0.6%-20%Below72%$10.9Musablechain55.0100%
7Capx AI CAPX$0.1841+19%-0.6%Above199%$261.8Kusableprotocol52.750%
8Sophon SOPH$0.0009+18%-1.4%Above66%$171usabletape only51.250%
9Lisk LSK$0.1407+52%+32%Above109%$2.6Musablechain + protocol49.7100%
10Aevo AEVO$0.0219+10.0%-9.8%Below69%$3.6Musabletape only49.350%
11Merlin Chain MERL$0.0231+13%-6.9%Below112%$2.5Musableprotocol48.855%
12Hermez Network HEZ$3.32+9.0%-11%Above19%$1.0Kusabletape only47.050%
13Status SNT$0.0074-2.3%-22%Below117%$2.3Musabletape only45.650%
14Aztec AZTEC$0.0141-14%-34%Below81%$3.1Musabletape only45.143%
15Metal DAO MTL$0.2547-0.1%-20%Below63%$555.6Kusabletape only43.650%
16Nervos Network CKB$0.0011-7.5%-27%Below71%$2.2Musabletape only42.650%
17Orderly ORDER$0.0348-13%-33%Below71%$2.7Musableprotocol41.955%
18AltLayer ALT$0.0063-5.6%-25%59%$500.2Kusabletape only41.443%
19PHALA PHA$0.0256-28%-47%Below71%$8.4Musabletape only40.750%
20Optimism OP$0.0955-11%-31%Below93%$52.6Musablechain40.6100%
Showing 20 of 34 assets

Not rated — and why

14 of the 48 Layer 2 coins are not rated this week: 10 have no price within 7 days, 4 report no traded volume. Each one stays on this page with its reason instead of being scored at the midpoint of a range nothing measured.

CoinMarket capReasonDetail
ADI ADI$723.8MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
Arbitrum ARB$506.1MNo traded volume reportedNo traded volume is reported on most of the last 30 days, so it has no liquidity reading.
Starknet STRK$206.6MNo traded volume reportedNo traded volume is reported on most of the last 30 days, so it has no liquidity reading.
Derive DRV$109.2MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
SOON SOON$59.0MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
Zora ZORA$32.3MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
Saakuru SKR$26.1MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
CYBER CYBER$24.4MNo traded volume reportedNo traded volume is reported on most of the last 30 days, so it has no liquidity reading.
Tokamak Network TON$22.3MNo traded volume reportedNo traded volume is reported on most of the last 30 days, so it has no liquidity reading.
Blast BLAST$20.2MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
Corn CORN$18.6MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
Citrea CTR$16.8MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
DeGate DG$16.4MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
BOB (Build on Bitcoin) BOB$15.3MNo price this weekNo traded price in the 95 days to 2026-09-11.
Methodology · boundaries make the answer useful

What can make this comparison misleading?

This Layer 2 comparison names 5 ways its own evidence can mislead, all listed below. The largest is that crypto network activity is not company earnings: protocol revenue does not automatically accrue to token holders. Coverage is also uneven — 10 of 34 assets carry enough native evidence to rank on more than price.

  • Crypto network activity is not company earnings. Protocol revenue does not automatically accrue to token holders.
  • Market-cap values are a dated universe snapshot, not point-in-time historical supply data.
  • Current category labels are applied to historical prices; this creates survivorship and taxonomy hindsight.
  • Funding rates, open interest, liquidations, exchange flows, unlock schedules, historical circulating supply and developer activity are not held and are not inferred.
  • Equal weighting is used for sector history because true historical market-cap weights are unavailable.
Price and technicalsThrough 2026-09-11. Five-year weekly observations benchmarked to Bitcoin.
Protocol activityThrough 2026-09-11. Fees, revenue, protocol TVL and DEX volume.
Chain activityUsers and transactions through 2026-09-11; separately sourced chain TVL through unavailable.
Market capSnapshot dated 2026-07-04; no historical supply series is implied.
Questions the page should answer directly

Crypto analysis FAQs

These 22 answers cover the questions this page can settle from data it holds — what the category is, how the score is built, what the coverage gaps are, and what would change the read. Every answer below is also present in the page’s FAQ schema and in its plain-text rendition. None of them is a recommendation.

What is Layer 2 crypto?

Layer 2 crypto refers to cryptocurrency projects grouped by what they actually do rather than by market fashion. This page tracks 34 such coins by market cap, price and Bitcoin-relative strength, with protocol fees and revenue where a project publishes them. Readings are as of 2026-09-11.

What is the total market cap of Layer 2 crypto coins?

The 34 Layer 2 coins on this page have a combined market cap of about $3.8B as of 2026-07-04. Individual figures are in the table. Market-cap metadata is a dated snapshot, separately from the price series.

Are Layer 2 crypto coins outperforming Bitcoin?

Layer 2 has returned -51.7% versus Bitcoin over 52 weeks and -9.1% over 13 weeks on an equal-weight current-member index. 7/25 covered assets are above their 200-day averages as of 2026-09-11.

Which Layer 2 asset has the strongest research score?

POL (ex-MATIC) ranks first at 78.7/100: 25.2 + 26.6 + 16.6 + 10.3 = 78.7. It is labelled “Priority research” with 93% overall evidence and 100% native-economics evidence.

Why are some Layer 2 coins not rated?

14 of the 48 coins are not rated this week: 10 have no price within 7 days, 4 report no traded volume. They stay listed with the reason beside each one rather than being scored at a neutral midpoint, because a missing reading is not a middling reading.

How is the Layer 2 4-factor score calculated?

The exact sum is Market leadership /35 + Network and economic traction /30 + Value capture /20 + Liquidity and downside risk /15. Missing data pulls only the affected factor toward neutral and lowers evidence; it is never silently reweighted.

Why can a Layer 2 asset be labelled tape-led?

Tape-led means price and relative-strength evidence exists but less than half of the native traction and value-capture evidence is available. Such assets remain visible but rank below fully evidenced assets.

Does protocol revenue accrue to the token?

Not necessarily. Protocol fees and revenue measure network economics; token-holder value depends on the protocol’s burn, buyback, staking, distribution and governance rules. This page never assumes accrual merely because revenue exists.

Does crypto have a P/E or PEG ratio?

No comparable company-style P/E or PEG is used. Where coverage permits, the page shows network fee yield and protocol-revenue yield against a dated market-cap snapshot, with an explicit token-accrual caveat.

How much history is shown for Layer 2?

The page shows five years of weekly price and relative-strength history and 20 complete calendar quarters of on-chain activity where available. Missing periods remain gaps.

Why do the crypto data dates differ?

Prices and technical metrics run through 2026-09-11; protocol activity through 2026-09-11; chain users and transactions through 2026-09-11; chain TVL through the latest available chain-TVL date; market capitalisation is a separate snapshot dated 2026-07-04.

Are stablecoins and wrapped tokens included in Layer 2?

No. Pegged, wrapped, liquid-staking receipt and tokenized-asset instruments are excluded because they do not have independent price discovery.

Can one token appear in multiple raw crypto categories?

Yes, but pages on this site assign each asset to exactly one functional theme using a specific-to-general first-match taxonomy. Layer 2 therefore has one canonical membership list.

What would invalidate the current Layer 2 theme read?

Two of the three weakening conditions are already in place as of 2026-09-11: the 13-week return versus Bitcoin is -9.1% (below zero) and 7 of 25 covered assets are above the 200-day average (below one-third). The read depends on native protocol activity remaining supportive — a contraction there would complete the invalidation.

Does this page include funding rates, open interest or token unlocks?

No. Those datasets are not held in the current research store, so the page names them as unavailable rather than inferring them from price.

Which projects are generating the most network fees?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Trailing 12-month fees at $23.2M, 634% ahead of Linea. 2 of 10 assets with comparable change data are growing. Coverage is 10 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter. Where a project publishes nothing, the cell stays blank rather than being read as zero. Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture. This conclusion weakens if fee growth turns negative across two complete calendar quarters or fee coverage falls below the stated threshold.

Which projects convert activity into protocol revenue?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Trailing 12-month revenue at $23.1M, 637% ahead of Linea. 1 of 6 assets with comparable change data is growing. Coverage is 8 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter. Where a project publishes nothing, the cell stays blank rather than being read as zero. Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture. This conclusion weakens if revenue growth turns negative or the revenue-to-fees take rate falls for two complete calendar quarters.

Where is capital actually committed on-chain?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Quarter-end TVL at $4B, 136% ahead of Optimism. 0 of 15 assets with comparable change data are growing. Coverage is 19 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter. Where a project publishes nothing, the cell stays blank rather than being read as zero. Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture. This conclusion weakens if TVL rises while fees and users fall; that pattern can be incentive-funded mercenary liquidity.

Which chains are gaining real users?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Average daily active addresses at 624,400 addresses, 33% ahead of Celo. 1 of 10 assets with comparable change data is growing. Coverage is 11 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter. Where a project publishes nothing, the cell stays blank rather than being read as zero. Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture. This conclusion weakens if address growth reverses for two complete quarters or activity rises without corresponding fees.

Which chains are processing the most transactions?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads Layer 2 crypto on Trailing 12-month transactions at 2,276,969,823 transactions, 269% ahead of Optimism. 3 of 10 assets with comparable change data are growing, fastest at Optimism. Coverage is 10 of the 34 ranked assets in this theme, through the Q2 2026 calendar quarter. Investor read: Use this as a network-economics research lead, not token-holder earnings. Verify whether the measured activity accrues to the token before treating scale as value capture. This conclusion weakens if transaction growth turns negative while users and fees also deteriorate.

Which Layer 2 project has the largest fee base?

POL (ex-MATIC) leads covered trailing-12-month fees at $23.2M. Coverage is 10/34; this is network activity, not automatically token-holder income.

Which are the biggest Layer 2 crypto coins by market cap?

Mantle is the largest Layer 2 crypto coin by market capitalisation at $1.5B, ahead of POL (ex-MATIC) at $785.9M and Stacks at $317.5M. The 34 Layer 2 coins on this page carry $3.8B between them, with a market-cap figure on file for 34 of them. Market-cap metadata is dated 2026-07-04.

Not SEBI Registered !! Not Investment advice !!

Chat with this pageChat with pageChatChatGPTClaudePerplexityGoogle AI